The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge restaurant

The Brooklodge Hotel, Macreddin Village, Aughrim, Wicklow

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:

€€€

27 reviews
4 stars - based on 27 reviews

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

Submit a review
The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

gallaron
Dublin
59 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th February 2009 (visited 7 February 2009)

We like to go to Brooklodge every couple of years for a few nights away and in the past the Strawberry Tree was one of the highlights. This time around we were a bit disappointed. The dining room itself is one of the nicest I've ever been in and the glass/reflective ceiling is still interesting. The meal was part of the rate but otherwise would have been extremely disappointed paying €65 for the set meal as thats very expensive. Service was ok if a little abrupt. My wife wasn't drinking so I got a beer from the bar instead of wine which are quite expensive with nothing below €30. Food was ok but its a sign that a week later I struggle to remember what it was. Partridge to start was interesting but the beef I had was a bit tough and quite chewy which I didn't expect. As part of a stay in the hotel the restaurant can be a good experience but wouldn't be going there otherwise.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

Geri141

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th November 2008 (visited 26 November 2008)

This was my first and l was very disappointed with the whole experience. Food was ok but not great, the service was terrible - you had about 2 minutes between each course!! I wont be back

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

DollswhoDine
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd November 2008 (visited 27 October 2008)

I was here twice in October - never having eaten there before. I was hugely disappointed on my first visit - although the soup and the vegetables were tasty. My second impressions were more favourable - as indeed they needed to be with a set price of €65 (set menu only, no A la Carte). I started with scallops, resisted the soup this time (knowing that I wouldn't be able to do the main course justice given the portion size) in favour of the sorbet, which was a little bland. The monkfish main course was good, and the vegetables starred again. I passed on pudding, but my friends shared a chocolate plate (€2 extra). The service was efficient - if not friendly. The wine list is expensive - nothing below €30. All in all, a very pleasant evening, but I can think of a number of other places where I would prefer to spend €65 and would come away happier.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

bartholomew
Dublin
66 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th August 2008 (visited 17 August 2008)

Ate here a while back, but was blown away by the amazing organic food and value for 5 courses. If the restaurant is quiet when you go in, don't get put in a corner, service can be quite a bit slow!

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

jwjnolan
Dublin
65 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 03rd August 2008 (visited 30 July 2008)

This has to be one of the best restaurants I've eaten in.The service was excellent and professional with a wine expert to help you choose your vino.The food is five star from starters to dessert in a comfortable relaxed atmosphere in this stylish spa hotel.The meal is fixed at 65 euro regardless ex drinks.The food was to perfection and plenty of it.Definitely worth a try and stay over!

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

Winnie-the-pooh
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th June 2008 (visited 3 June 2008)

Oh wow what amazing food they serve here. The maitre d' could be a bit friendlier. He is good at his job, he's extremely efficient and ensures everything runs smoothly. Who knows maybe the guy was having a bad day, he was polite and courteous. I just think friendliness is also part ot the job. We had starters, main course and desert. Every mouthful was an absolute pleasure. Portion size was perfect,not too much and not too little. Service was good, didn't feel rushed and no long delays for food. When it got to dessert only a tasting was manageable! I should have ordered something lighter, so be warned the chocolate deserts are very rich. The person I dined with thoroughly enjoyed the experience and he isn't a real foodie as I would consider myself. All the food is organic so it tastes like it should. The wine is also organic and the maitre d recommended a nice wine not overly priced (€30).There's a huge variety to choose from.I am not a connoisseur of wine, much to the amusement of the maitre d' and it did manage to make him smile (not in a condescending way) as I didn't make a secret of the fact. He was helpful and not at all patronizing. I just can't say enough about how good the food experience was. I hope we didn't irritate other customers close by with the uhs and ahs we were making regarding the food as we tasted our own food and each others It's not cheap €160 for 2 with wine, but worth every penny. Can't wait to go back.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

sj77
Wicklow
51 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st March 2008 (visited 9 February 2008)

We booked a late table - 9pm. Unfortunately this made service poor as they seemed to be in the middle of service for other diners. We had to call the waiter in order to get our order taken! When we eventually got fed the food was fabulous - amuse bouche, lovely breads, starter and soup/sorbet, lovely side veg and gorgeous desserts. You won't walk away hungry! Good value for e65.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

McTavish
Dublin
58 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th March 2008 (visited 9 March 2008)

We dined here on two consecutive nights, it is the only certified organic restaurant in Ireland and the food is divine. If you are in to organic food then you must visit this restaurant. We sampled Seared Wild Pigeon, Roast Celeriac, Apple Mash, Thyme Jus, Seared Wild Scallops, Kolhrabi, Wild Mango Salsa, Wild Game Broth, Rocket, Sun Dried Tomato, and Feta Salad. For mains Roast Duck, Curly Kale, Kumquat Sauce.Braised Wild Venison Shank, Red Cabbage, Rosemary Jus, Saffron Poached Wild Pollock, Mange Tout, Sugar Snaps, Wild Anchovy, Watercress Sauce. There is also a lovely selection of desserts. At a set price of 65euro this has to be one of the finest dining experiences we have had and I think very good value, the food could not be faulted in any way. Try it for yourself.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

yummmm
Wicklow
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th December 2007 (visited 25 November 2007)

One of the best meals we have had in a long time! My husband and I enjoyed a night at Brooklodge hotel and had a fantastic meal in the Strawberry Tree. The service was excellent and the food divine. My only (very very minor) complaint would be that we got far too much food, but it was too nice to leave on the plate, so I felt very full afterwards!! Each course was fantastic and we definitely got value for money.

The Strawberry Tree-Brooklodge

elle4

8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th September 2007 (visited 25 August 2007)

The food here is truly amazing, cannot be faulted in any way. The service is quite formal but every need was met with professionalism. Everything’s organic including beautiful wine. To really get the feeling of the whole place, it’s better to stay for a night. Quite pricey but worth it.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4547 ]