The Hungry Monk restaurant

Church Road, Greystones, Greystones, Wicklow

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€€

100 reviews
4 stars - based on 100 reviews

The Hungry Monk

Submit a review
The Hungry Monk

Ys

26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th May 2013 (visited 11 May 2013)

four of us visited on saturday night the food was delicious, the only fault was not enough gluten free/vegetarian options and no where on the menu did it state you could ask for them. bit pricy, but fab decor and monk theme throughout, will be back !

The Hungry Monk

tiger1

10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2013 (visited 31 March 2013)

Visited here on Easter Sunday with my family and have to say that we could not fault anything. Three of us has the Roast Beef and we all agreed it was as good as we have eaten anywhere and the Yorkshire Puddings were amazing. I was too full for dessert but my sons Chocolate Fondant looked and tasted great. Can't wait to return.

The Hungry Monk

nomnom11
Wicklow
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2013 (visited 7 March 2013)

Ate downstairs in the new area. Place was quite busy and waiters and waitresses very friendly. Had duck in orange sauce, was really not impressed, sauce tasted like marmalade, and duck was not cooked well, this was not just my opinion but everyone at the table had a taste and agreed. the rest of the food was alright, not great, but for the price we paid it was not up to scratch. would not be in a rush to return.

The Hungry Monk

fitzyirl
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st March 2013 (visited 30 March 2013)

This was my fourth visit in the past year and a half. Each time we visited the restaurant upstairs. Everything was very good again. On the pricey side but each visit has been worth it.

The Hungry Monk

jaxs
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd March 2013 (visited 8 February 2013)

I have been going to the Hungry Monk for the last three years and for the first two years it was my favourite place to go. The atmosphere in the place is great. I always go for the fillet steak and it used to be amazing. Unfortunately, it now seems to be hit and miss. I went three times over the last six months because I always love the place and I wanted to give it the benefit of the doubt. But the last three times, at least one of us got pretty bag fillet steak, really chewy and stringy. The last time I went with my husband and parents and three of us had fillet steak. My mothers was really bad, all full of fat and my father who is a typical Irish fella and wouldn't complain about anything said it was pretty bad. Mine was really chewy and I had to cut out a fair bit of fat. It's a pity as I love the place but I won't be going back again. What disappointed me the most was that I said it to the manager and he wasn't bothered at all and offered no apology all. He actually seemed put out that I said it even though I was really nice about it and almost apologetic. The bill came to €200 which is the last time I'll be paying that for bad quality fillet steak. I don't know who their supplier is but they would want to review it as well as their treatment of customers feedback. It's a pity as I was a regular customer and loved going there.

The Hungry Monk

coliewob

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th January 2013 (visited 7 December 2012)

I want to give a higher rating but I just can't. Am I being too harsh, perhaps, but this is a review site. I'd also like to state that I 'would' recommend The Hungry Monk to eat and I will most definitely go back. However, the new extension has made this restaurant loose its charm. I thought the old wine bar/bistro was the best and most romantic/cosy wine bar in south Dublin and Wicklow, but they've ruined it I'm afraid to say. The food was great as ever. It never lets me down. The service is generally good, but with the extension, it seems that they have increased the size and not the staff to cope. One thing (as small as it is) that annoyed me the last time I was there was when my spring rolls were served to me, they were served like this: 'Here 'r your springer’s!". I know it's something so small, but it just bugged me. That girl isn't there for a few months now. Overall, I'd say go, try it and enjoy it. The wine is fantastic and chosen well. The chief is clearly professional and if they could sort the service and the atmosphere I would of given it 5 stars!

The Hungry Monk

bosker
Wicklow
32 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th December 2012 (visited 12 October 2012)

Dined here on a Friday evening with a group of friends in the original downstairs wine bar. The atmosphere is great and the service very good. The menu is relatively small but everyone enjoyed their food choices and the prices are good value. The new extension did not appear to share the same cosy atmosphere and I would not opt to eat in there if I had a choice in future. I would return and I would recommend.

The Hungry Monk

bridgetb
Wicklow
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th September 2012 (visited 7 September 2012)

we booked a table for our 5th anniversary and was looking forward to seeing the new bistro, its so nice to be able to say a time and not be made go to the 7 or 9 seatings now that they have extended. We booked into the new Bistro area which is lovely, nice and big and not cold with doors opening like the old bistro. We were seated quickly a the new entrance which is lovely and to out table (only feedback on the low hanging lamps is to remove them quickly before any men seriously injure themselves seen two men bang their heads, positoned way too low over the table). We order our meal within five minutes of arrival. we were waiting about 20 minutes for before they realised that our order was not put through or given to out table so seen them running off. This also happened to the table beside us so service will need to be improved us as too long a wait for people. Both our starters and mains were really tasty and can't fault it. Dessert also yummy and at 80.00 it was reasonable price. Will be returning again soon. really happy to see that they are doing so well and would advise booking ahead of you want a weekend night

The Hungry Monk

niceglassofwine
Wicklow
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th June 2012 (visited 2 June 2012)

My partner and I went to the new extension of the Hungry monk on a cold wet bank hol sunday thinking it would be dead so we hadn't booked - how wrong were we the place was pumping we didnt think we would get a seat but the staff were very welcoming and accomodating made a few adjustments and got us seated! And may I just say a massive congratulations to the Hungry monk on the new extension - the church door opening with the gegorian chant - is amazing. My boyfriend and I shared an antipasti platter to start which came beautifully presented on a board with all the trimmings - dips, grilled bread and a selection of meat. Took us quite a while to get through the platter but we made it! That hummus yum yum yum!! Also they have added some really nice wines by the glass to the menu but we went for a nice bottle of chianti (well priced too may I add!) My boyfriend went for the beef burger with what felt like a million toppings - egg / smoked applewood cheese / mushrooms / bacon / onion!! Ah stop it was massssssive!! I opted for a fresh pasta tortellini which is the best pasta ive had in a long time - defo going back for that! Certainly best pasta in greystones area! We were too full for dessert but looking at the menu theres a few nice little gems id like to try - rhubarb cheesecake sounded particularly nice! Finished the meal off with two espressos before we went back out into the rain (grudgingly!!) I would just like to add though how welcome we were made feel fantastic staff who really knew alot about the food and wine very helpful! And the guy who owns the place is really friendly! Great atmosphere the place was jammers!! Keep up the good work and we will defo be back!

The Hungry Monk

bridgetb
Wicklow
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th May 2012 (visited 4 May 2012)

really like the bistro downstairs, food is tasty, its a bit small heard they are extending which would be great as if you are stuck at a table beside the door can be cold with people coming and going. Lovely curry and deserts are yum. Service good but something can be a bit snobby if you are not a regular drinking lots of posh wine. worth a visit if in greystones but you need to book

The Hungry Monk

Jay Tee
Wicklow
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th March 2012 (visited 26 February 2012)

Myself and my partner love it here! We have never had a bad meal, We always eat downstairs in the Bistro and usually order garlic Mushrooms (even if they are not on the menu or specials board, the chef has made them for me, they must be on the restaurant Menu). we usually opt for the Steak which comes with Onions and Chips, with pepper sauce on the side. The Steak is always tender and juicy. I have been here on work nights out / birthdays / girls nights out / special occasions... it has always been great food!

The Hungry Monk

snolan
Wicklow
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th February 2012 (visited 18 February 2012)

Great experience at the Hungry Monk, the service is great, the food is delicious and the wine list is fantastic. The one downside for me was that all the desserts were brought to the table were served fully cold, I would have preferred sticky toffee pudding and apple tart both with ice-cream to be served warm :(

The Hungry Monk

nolanwe
Kildare
53 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st January 2012 (visited 27 January 2012)

Ate there with a party of four on Friday last. Staff were very friendly and at times entertaining. Good varied menu with plenty of 'game' options which I particularly like. Interesting wine list with prices to suit all. The food was very good and priced just about right. Overall a very enjoyable meal and we will be back.

The Hungry Monk

gizzy

36 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd December 2011 (visited 22 December 2011)

I ate at this restaurant last night having heard very positive things. Unfortunately, I was let down on a few points. The menu is extremely limited for coeliacs and I found our waiter wasn't the most accommodating person when I mentioned my dietary requirements. I had the chicken satay for stater which was great. Really tasty and it was a good sized portion. I opted for a steak for my mains which was mediocre at best. The meat was very fatty and chewy. The chips which came with it were oily and soggy. I was assured by my dining companion that the food is normally much better but I don't think I would return.

The Hungry Monk

nomnom11
Wicklow
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th November 2011 (visited 17 November 2011)

Ate here last week with boyfriend, food was lovely. had the chicken satay for starter, which was really good, and steak for mains. Steak was cooked nicely, but was a bit fatty. boyfriend had steak too. shared the chocolate fondant for desert, which was really nice. The only downside was the maitre d on the night, very loud for the whole evening greeting and talking to people as they arrived, but overall good. would go again.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5267 ]