The Porterhouse (Bray) restaurant

Strand Road, Bray, Wicklow

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

60 reviews
3 stars - based on 60 reviews

The Porterhouse (Bray)

Submit a review
The Porterhouse (Bray)

Jesboni
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th April 2011 (visited 8 April 2011)

I went to the porterhouse with my boyfriend and his daugher it was my idea as i had been before and liked it . Howvever this time we werent too pleased, I had the bacon buger and chunky chips and the burger itself was far to big and the chips were hard in the middle, my boyfriend had like a sunday roast meat and veg and he was not over keane. It isnt cheap either , not sure id return again , pity tho as liked this place for sometime and always had lunch here when out in bray, just seems the food is not as nice or good quality as it used to be.

The Porterhouse (Bray)

neilgannon
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st April 2011 (visited 6 April 2011)

A very nice pub, great spot to stop off if you walk from Greystones in to Bray. Staff are pleasant and helpful and the food is good if a little pricey.

The Porterhouse (Bray)

kelliemc
Wicklow
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th October 2010 (visited 18 September 2010)

the food here is delicious

The Porterhouse (Bray)

Seapoint
Wicklow
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th August 2010 (visited 14 August 2010)

What a disappointment! I have eaten here many times over the last few years, and have never had a bad experience, but this evening, I have to say, I was truly put off with the service received and lack of attention to overall customer service. Myself, my wife, our au pair and our 3 children dropped in at 6pm for a bite to eat. We sat indoors, in the back part of the restaurant. We had 3 square tables placed together - I was seated at the end table - my table was filthy. I had to ask twice for it to be cleaned. Eventually, a waitress 'mopped' it down with a filthy and very greasy cloth, resulting in a wet and greasy table, which dried into a film of dirt. Not impressed. Our food was very good, and well priced, as is the norm in the Porterhouse, and subsequent service received (albeit from a different server), was good. Towards the end of our meal, I needed to use the gents, and was not impressed with the lack of cleanliness in there. Porterhouse, sort yourselves out - I realise it is the height of the tourist season, but cleanliness is number one. Every empty/vacant table should be cleaned and polished immediately after the last guests have left. Clean up your act please - the Porterhouse is a great establishment - hope the socks are pulled up a bit, going forward.

The Porterhouse (Bray)

mrpicky
Wicklow
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th June 2010 (visited 8 June 2010)

not bad at all -great range of bottled beers and their stouts win awards and medals over the multinational owned ones terrible chips great cheap oysters -sadly served without the great pile of free rocket that hey did until recently rest of the food menu badly designed and mediocre execution awful quality prawns -the shiny rubbery ones that taste of latex

Restaurant response:
even more sadness -they have stopped doing oysters for the summer ! the "flight of 3 different beers option" for the same price as one pint is a cool but underadvertised and used touch

The Porterhouse (Bray)

ThePoacher
Wicklow
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th May 2010 (visited 28 April 2010)

The Porter House is a local spot for me. Its a place where you can go to get tasty , good value for money bar food. If you like grills, especially huge burgers this is the pace to go. Great for a feed after a night out. The highlight are the wings but some of the new gourmet pizzas hit the spot. Good Value also and always one you can rely on for a good bit of grub......

The Porterhouse (Bray)

yvonne hedderman
Kildare
60 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th March 2010 (visited 27 March 2010)

Lovely place to go on a sunny afternoon, but places outside in the sun are generally snapped up very quickly so you can be unlucky. the food is lovely though and they've a great selection of drinks also.

The Porterhouse (Bray)

Toulouse
Kildare
54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd March 2010 (visited 21 March 2010)

We stopped here for lunch after a stroll down the beachfront. Plenty of room outside on a lovely sunny day. After about 10 minutes a waitress finally arrived to take our order which she didn't write down. After she left I commented to my partner that I knew she would forget something and about 5 minutes later she arrived back and asked if we would like to order some drinks. We pointed out that we had already ordered 2 cokes from her 5 minutes before and away she went again. To start we had the suicide wings between us. Wings were slightly on the overdone side but that is preferable to them being soggy. The sauce was strange, not overly spicy, sickly sweet and tasted like there was a healthy dose tomato ketchup in there. The wings weren't separated either making them messy and difficult to eat. The portion was massive and we didn't finish them. Then a different waitress arrived with our burgers and another portion of chicken wings. Who was to blame, kitchen or our former waitress? I'm not sure but they had to be taken away. My Classic burger was good, the beef was well flavoured and the chips were nice. My partner's burger with mushroom was equally good but a bit dry. All in all it was average, I can't say I'll be in a hurry to return.

The Porterhouse (Bray)

Mr. Creosote
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd February 2010 (visited 19 December 2009)

Spent part of my stag weekend at the Porterhouse in Bray, where we went for a feed after spending the afternoon in the mountains. Our group shared a spread of chicken wings, garlic bread, garlic bread & mozzerella and pizzas. The chicken wings stood out and were "finger-lickin good". The helpings were generous and would do for two, even three people. The pizzas were also very good. Fans of The Porterhouse in Templebar should definitely take a trip to Bray seafront to check out where it all started.

The Porterhouse (Bray)

Ouija Board
Wicklow
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th January 2010 (visited 21 January 2010)

Had been househunting in Bray and went to have something from the snacks menu. Although it was advertised that food was served all day the kitchen did not open until 4 pm... Only soup and sandwiches served before that. The 3 of us decided to share some garlic pizza bread with crumbed blue cheese, chunky chips and chicken wings. It was accompanied with 3 pints from their own pot. Altogether it was a nice experience, the pizza bread was above average, plenty of chicken wings and decent enough chips. Porterhouse sports a nice environment and has put obvious effort into maintaining its profile over the years. The toilets are well kept and clean. Staff about average, could have checked up on us to make sure everything was ok. I do think I'll be paying another visit next in Bray, hopefully as a house owner.

The Porterhouse (Bray)

little
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th August 2009 (visited 15 August 2009)

Dropped in here after a walk near Bray - was pretty hungry so got chicken wings to start. These were enough to share between two and tasted pretty good. However we got no cutlery and worse, no napkins which I had to hunt for myself around the bar. We then got a burger each. These were about average - nothing special - and again no cutlery, so this time I went and found some. The chips were good though. The waitress also initially told my boyfriend that they did not have the beer he wanted but subsequently discovered that they did! Overall this place is fine for a quick cheap bite to eat but probably won't go back.

The Porterhouse (Bray)

gary_x_thompson
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th August 2009 (visited 2 August 2009)

Dropped into the Porterhouse in Bray for a quick bite to east after a walk in the Wicklow Mountains. We were hungry and they provided some tasty food, so we left very happy! Even though the weather was a bit damp we sat outside as there are large umbrellas to keep the rain drops away. I had one of the nicest burgers I have had out in while - the Smokey Burger - it was definitely home made and came with some really tasty smoked cheese and smoked bacon. Steak sandwich was generous, but maybe could have done with a bit more bread as it was a little bit 'open' than expected. Most importantly the chips were bang on. This was all streets ahead of some of the so-called 'gourmet' burgers and 'hand cut' chips you get in some pubs.

The Porterhouse (Bray)

johnwicklow
Wicklow
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th May 2009 (visited 22 May 2009)

The Porter House is a really nice pub that offers great food, good sized portions and reasonable prices. The only slight draw back is that the service can be a little slow especially on a busy summers day when the beer garden is full. I had the chicken wings which are amazing certainly up there with the other well known chicken wing establishments! They also do a good childs menu, my 4 year old niece got a bowl spagetti bolognaise which was very tasty and a scope of ice cream for under €5 and the portion was perfect for her, nothing worse than having to pay for an adult portion which they can't finish! All in all a great place thats familly friendly.

The Porterhouse (Bray)

GinoG
Dublin
35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th January 2011 (visited 8 January 2010)

Typical: My partner and I used to love coming here for the spicy chicken wings, so we gave it another go on Friday for a quick bite to eat. Still has the best Garlic Pizza Bread With Mozzarella & Crumbed Blue Cheese, but the chicken wings were AWFUL! They were really grizzly and full of bones, hardly any meat on them, and then a dribble of sauce over the top. Totally opposite to the meating wings we used to get, in a bowl full of gorgeous spicy sauce. Dont think I will be going back, unless the original wings are back on the menu. Such a pity!

The Porterhouse (Bray)

Kate
Dublin
54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th April 2009 (visited 18 April 2009)

Nice food at a reasonable price. Great atmosphere, both inside and out. Definitely recommended.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4800 ]