Bates Restaurant

Main Street, Rathdrum, Rathdrum, Wicklow

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

58 reviews
5 stars - based on 58 reviews

Bates Restaurant

Submit a review
Bates Restaurant

Tomail33
Wicklow
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd June 2010 (visited 22 June 2010)

Myself and a friend went to Bates yesterday evening and it was really good. We had the set menu, starter and main, there was plenty of choice. the breads were lovely, too nice as we probably filled up on them. We had the char grilled chicken salad and goats cheese starters. Both were simple and tasty. For main we both had the lamb shanks. The mash was so yummy, but while the shanks were lovely they were a bit strong in taste for us. The veg was really fresh and so sweet. We will definitely be back again - get location too!

Bates Restaurant

hogbog
Meath
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th June 2010 (visited 9 June 2010)

Such divine food. I saw this listed on MenuPages.ie and wondered if the food would live up to the reviews and I've got to say YES that it did. Really exquisite food and just an all round really nice place to eat. I'll be back, soon.

Bates Restaurant

Halpin's Bridge Cafe
Wicklow
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th May 2010 (visited 6 May 2010)

After hearing excellent reports about Bates we went along on a very special occasion (got engaged) to try it out and have to say that it was one of the nicest dining experiences either of us had in a long time. The food was excellent value off a fixed menu, and the ordinary menu seemed quite good value as well. service was extremely good and friendly without being intrusive and we both felt we had a very good meal, both presentation and value. just slightly marked down (but still worth 5 * on overall value as we thought the wine was a bit pricey, but having said that, it was not compulsory to order wine so we could have kept the price down if we wanted although that would not have looked good when handing over a big sparkler ! We both left very happy and will look forward to repeating the experience and have already recommended Bates to friends.

Bates Restaurant

Siobhanio
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th April 2010 (visited 27 March 2010)

After hearing brilliant things about this restaurant, we decided to make a special detour to it for dinner and made a reservation. When we arrived, the Maitre D' asked that we come back in half an hour as they had a large table just in. We arrived back to be shown to a nice table at the lower end of the dining room beside the large table. With so much seafood on the menu, it seemed a shame not to indulge so a good selection was ordered. Prawns on toast for mise, scallops for himself and our guests went for the charcuterie plate and the foie gras respectively. All were very good, and decent sized portions. Perhaps too much so, as it was rather daunting to think there was a main course to follow. Himself went for the rib eye and we all ordered the seafood platters. As a passing comment leaving the table, the waiter remarked that he hoped we were hungry. Odd we thought until the platters arrived. Served on huge oval plates, there was brill, monkfish, salmon, sea bass scallops and crevettes. All in full main course size. No sauce accompanied the dish, on the plate or on side and all the fish was chargrilled and a bit dry. The platters could have richly served two people, even three, but served only to curb my appetite at the size. As the fish was blackened by the grill, it gave a rather acrid taste to the fish and the monkfish was cold. I donated my crevettes to my guest and in her attempt to peel them, most of the flesh came with the shell as they were severely under done. This was mentioned to the waitress. Afterwards we opted for coffees and the bill. The coffee arrived, but not the bill. After waiting a respectable twenty five minutes after finishing the coffee, all four of us traipsed to the top of the restaurant to collect the bill. The Maitre D' handed to himself while my friend mentioned the crevettes, to be told in no uncertain terms that the chef had tested them and they were perfectly cooked. It left a sour taste, worse even than chargrilled scallops.

Bates Restaurant

cquinn
Wicklow
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th April 2010 (visited 22 January 2010)

Best restaurant by a mile in wicklow vicinity. I dont need to go into much detail as to be honest this restaurant is excellent. Great atmosphere. Nice quaint setting. Good service. Great food and great value.

Bates Restaurant

scorpybanner
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th April 2010 (visited 4 April 2010)

I cannot speak highly enough about this truly wonderful restaurant! Had Easter Sunday lunch here with my parents and grandmother. My mother is a coeliac and my grandmother is a fairly plain eater. Nothing was too much trouble for the brilliant waiting staff here and they knew exactly straight away what my mother could or couldn't have. We had 4 filling brocolli soups to start, I had pork belly, my Granny had salmon, my Mother had seabass and Dad had lovely chicken. The mash potato was absolutely to die for, melt in the mouth. Desserts were fab too, I had the vanilla creme brulee and they flame torch the sugar in front of you at the table which was nice touch. My mother had their homemade sorbet, lots of different flavours and they were truly yummy, the waitress recommended them and she was not wrong. 4 beautiful three course lunches followee by 4 cappuchinos fir just under €100. Will deffo be back to bates....

Bates Restaurant

Mange-tout
Meath
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th January 2010 (visited 3 January 2010)

We came quite a distance to eat in Bates on a Sunday evening after reading good reviews and it was worth the drive. Although with the snow outside the restaurant felt chilly inside we liked the atmosphere and seating. The fab breads and jug of water brought immediately were welcome and the menu was good value with nice choices - we enjoyed seafood chowder and mussels to start followed by pork belly and the duck confit, good size portions but worth having dessert, the apple and cinnamon slice was yum. The only fault was the cold latte served. Definitely a spot worth detouring for and the food and price were excellent.

Bates Restaurant

Freddy_Frog
Wicklow
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th December 2009 (visited 13 December 2009)

on a trip back from Kilkenny we decided to take scenic route & stop off at Bates. I’ve wanted to eat here for a long time since it gets great reviews. The alley down to Bates is beautiful done with cut stone. The restaurant is on your right & their cafe on your left. ON entering there was a warm fire burning away. Seated on the lower tier (the other side of the fire so didn’t get to benefit from its flames throughout lunch). The set lunch is quite extensive with about 6 options in each course. A lovely tasty selection of breads arrived with a tomato pate & tapenade. A much better option & taste to butter. I had the chicken with parmesan & green leaves for starter. The chicken was succulent & juicy yet nicely char grilled. My fellow diner had the potato & leek soup which was very hot (a good thing in my opinion for soup, nothing worse than lukewarm soup or beverages). Both very good. Mains he had pork belly & I had steak. Both excellent, I could not find fault. If I had to pick something I would say the chips could have been thinner making them crisper rather than the very thick potato wedges. We had a side of mushrooms, which included 3-4 varieties of mushrooms, were gorgeous. Definitely worth ordering. I was too full for desert so settled on hot chocolate. I asked for it piping hot but it came cold this was the only down point of the meal. But the chocolate itself was very good quality. He had tiramisu which of course I tasted – heaven. Creamy light & rich all at the same time. Service was top notch, very attentive yet not hovering over us. Portions were large which I personally look to see as it helps see value for what you are paying. There were 2 extended family function sitting around us which included up to 8 children so it was a bit manic & noisy. But cannot hold the restaurant accountable for that. Make a trip to Rathdrum – Bates along is worth the travel. Best meal I had in a long time.

Bates Restaurant

40withKids!
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th November 2009 (visited 4 October 2009)

I have to give this place five stars in its class. I went with our extended family, including lots of kids, for an early Sunday evening meal. The atmosphere is warm and cosy, the staff are friendly, the menu has something for everyone (including the little ones) and is good value. Often good places need local competition to keep up their standards but Bate's is the only eatery of its type for miles in any direction and is as good now as the first time I went. I definitely recommend it.

Bates Restaurant

cazzar
Galway
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th October 2009 (visited 24 September 2009)

Food overall is delicious and portions generous. On my last visit I had the fillet steak for main course and meringue with raspberry for dessert. Steak was cooked perfectly and so tender. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Restaurant is comfortable and cosy. Prices are very reasonable for this award winning restaurant. Looking forward to my next visit.

Bates Restaurant

sandm
Wicklow
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th September 2009 (visited 15 September 2009)

Fabulous food and friendly and effcient service. We had our 1 year old son with us and staff were very helpful. The value for money is amazing and you'd expect to pay much more for the quality of the food. Will defintely be back.

Bates Restaurant

MsMoneypenny
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd September 2009 (visited 23 August 2009)

Having read Paublo Touili recommendation for dining in the Wicklow area in the previous days Irish Independent I and my parents set out on a wet Sunday from Dublin. Upon arrival we requested a table for three and the maitre d asked under what name our booking was under. Alas we had not made a booking however we were accommodated. I could not believe the wonderful two course meal we had excellent value and the food, presentation, and service were top class. Upon leaving I took their business card as we fully intend to return again. It is advisable to make a reservation especially for Sunday lunch as the restaurant was very busy and it would appear to be a very popular location for Sunday lunch.

Bates Restaurant

badabing
Dublin
112 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd September 2009 (visited 2 September 2009)

Top marks all round for Bates and their staff on my visit. We dropped in for lunch (booking advised) and were pleasantly surprised, We had their homemade soup to start with delicious bread. For mains a delicious piece of hake perfectly cooked and presented and roasted chicken. Hot chocolate pudding and ice creams to finish off a very nice meal indeed. Usually with restaurants this good the portion size suffers and what you get is small, but thank God not here.Unfortunately it is a bit out of the way from Dublin, but the food and the service certainly brightened up another rainy Autumn's day.

Bates Restaurant

WAGGGS

51 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th July 2010 (visited 10 July 2010)

My friends and I ate off the set lunch menu but I did think it was a little expensive at €24.50 for 3 courses. My smoked trout starter was delicious. My main course of veal escallopes were a little dry and should have included parma ham but arrived with spinach instead without any explanation. Fortunately I like spinach so I didn't complain. The meal ended on a high note with a lovely rich Tiramisu. Overall, on my second visit to Bates I wasn't disappointed and would be quite happy to return in future.

Bates Restaurant

binioc01
Wicklow
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st August 2009 (visited 2 August 2009)

A group of eight of us went for Sunday lunch to this restaurant and loved it. Great atmosphere, service was excellent and food great. Really nice place to go and set menu was good value I thought

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4956 ]