The Yard Restaurant

3 Lower George Street, Wexford Town, Wexford

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€€

53 reviews
4 stars - based on 53 reviews

The Yard Restaurant

Submit a review
The Yard Restaurant

Sproket
Wicklow
41 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th October 2012 (visited 8 October 2012)

I was here on a Monday night with my Vegetarian friend, who first off was very pleased as there was more than one choice for her on each course. We loved the restaurant which was full of atmosphere with great friendly service. I had a starter of scallops and pork belly, it did have one tiny downside and this was that the puree was not warm and there was too much but that aside it was a very good dish. My main was lamb chops which I thought might not be enough, I got that wrong however with a very healthy portion of delicious lamb served with lyonnaise potatoes and pesto. The veggie, had a cheese feast with a goats cheese salad to start and a halloumi dish for main both of which she loved. We had very good wine from a well chosen wine list which has good variation in terms of price. The early bird menu was good value, the Al a Carte was a good bit higher but on tasting the food it was worth it. I would recommend to anyone visiting Wexford and would consider a return the next time I am in Wexford.

The Yard Restaurant

anoilc
Dublin
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 01st August 2012 (visited 1 August 2012)

One of the best meals I've had in ages. Great early bird menu, I had the chicken salad and the cod. Both excellent. My wife had the chicken main course, still talking about it. Both kids had pasta and loved it, one also had the organic vegetable soup which I tried, it was top class. Service was extremely friendly and efficient, can't wait to go back.

The Yard Restaurant

Carrickimines
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th June 2012 (visited 24 April 2012)

We arrived without a booking, but the waitress who gtreeted us said she could squeeze us in. And we were glad she did. Food was amazing, service was amazing. Happy to recommend it to anyone and more importantly, it's be a must on our next visit to the sunny south east.

The Yard Restaurant

Fully Loaded
Kilkenny
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th May 2012 (visited 12 May 2012)

LOVE this place. Went on sat night after reading reviews on menu pages. Was staying in the Ferrcarrig for the weekend but wanted to get out of the hotel for a night. It is brilliant. Casual enough inside but the food was amazing. I will definitely be recommending it to anyone I know visiting wexford. I had the duck and mango salad to start … gorgeous, but big enough to be a main course. (I wasn’t complaining!). Then out landed my main course, could have done with more time before this landed, Surf and Turf. It was just too much food. I shared as much as I could and still couldn’t finish it, I’ve been to Argentina where steaks are served big, and this was well up there! But I did keep thinking I should bring my dad here, he would love it. We stayed for ages, had two bottles (between two of us)! And the atmosphere was great. I did get a fright at one stage, about 15 girls walked in with a ‘bride to be’ sash leading the parade, but they didn’t take over the restaurant or take from the general mood, thankfully. Looking forward to my next night in wexford to go back.

The Yard Restaurant

trayloua
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th November 2011 (visited 11 November 2011)

From the front of the restaurant it looks like a small cafe but at night time you enter through the court yard on Georges Street (left turn after the front door) and everything changes... there was a set menu of €25 pp for a 4 course meal but you can order from the main menu if you wish. I ordered Mushroom Risotto for starters and my mother ordered Soup of the day which was Pumpkin and Coriander both were gorgeous and big portions. Mains mum had the Steak which came with home made steak chips and side salad, I had Linguine (gorgeous but wrong thing to order on my part having had Risotto already very filling). A portion of stir friend vegetables also came with our meals. For dessert we had Iced Raspberry and white chocolate parfait this was devine (even full I still managed to eat every bit) The staff were fantastic polite and a credit to the restaurant. I will be recommending it to friends who are visiting Whites Hotel next weekend and to anyone else who will listen... a must do for dinner when in Wexford Town!

The Yard Restaurant

Michaelholden
Dublin
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th September 2011 (visited 3 September 2011)

Passing through Wexford town over the weekend, we had heard about the Yard restaurant from friends so I rang ahead and made a booking. Luckily I did as we were told a table would not be available without booking in advance. There was a set price of €25 for a four course meal which had plenty of variety in each course. Portion sizes were very good and we were all very pleased with how the food was presented and also that it tasted delicious. The house wine was very reasonably priced too and again was to our liking. If you are planning to stay in Wexford or indeed will be passing through the town soon, book ahead for the Yard restaurant and you will not be disappointed, highly recommend.

The Yard Restaurant

aholden
Dublin
49 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th September 2011 (visited 2 September 2011)

We were in Wexford town for the weekend and heard from friends that we should visit the Yard restaurant which was situated very close to where we were staying. The restaurant was very busy when we arrived on Friday evening at 8 o'clock and as we had not made a reservation we had to wait for about 45 mins. We put in the time in a local bar having a pint or two. On return our table was ready and we were seated very comfortably and had enough space for our party. There was a four course meal for €25 which was delicious from starter to coffee, all of which was served by very friendly staff. Portion size was very good. We chose the house red which was also reasonably priced. If we return to this area I would certainly eat at this restaurant again, highly recommended.

The Yard Restaurant

dubscribe
Wexford
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 26th August 2011 (visited 16 August 2011)

I recently enjoyed lunch at The Yard, with a friend who was visiting from Dublin. We were fortunate; the weather was good, so we sat outside under the shade of a tree. The first thing that impressed me was the size of the tables. There was plenty of elbow room which in turn allowed us privacy despite the fact that all the other tables were occupied. Don’t be under any illusion, it is a small courtyard. My friend ordered the soup of the day, which was homemade mushroom soup. He professed not to be hungry, but he finished his soup and the accompanying bread. I thoroughly enjoyed The Yard’s “Warm Cajun Chicken Caesar” salad. What impressed me most was that there was loads of the delicious sauce. I hate a miserable scattering of sauce over a Caesar salad, and usually I have to request more. I had hoped to indulge in their dessert menu, which is yummy. However, the salad, which is very generous with chicken, completely filled me. Instead I indulged in a second glass of their very palatable house white wine. I wasn’t paying the bill, but re-checking their prices on their website, it was definite a great value for money lunch.

The Yard Restaurant

davsheen
Dublin
73 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th August 2011 (visited 13 August 2011)

Visited this popular and lively Wexford evening dining spot on a busy Saturday in August. There are generally two sittings so we opted for the 8.30pm slot. Very nice table and interior, good lively atmosphere prob not a venue for peace and quiet or first date! We had two main courses and two desserts. All the options on the menu are very reasonably priced and the service was extremely friendly throughout. My girlfriend had a really nice dish of monkfish wrapped in ham on a bed of risotto. I didn’t score as well with the Slaney rump of lamp on a bed of Garlic Roasties and ratatouille. The Ratatouille was stone cold, and the potatoes were basic enough. Lamb and the sauce were very tasty. Accompanying chips and veg were delicious. For desserts we had a strawberry sundae and a chocolate cake with cola flavour. Both very nice except the cake was massive and the strawberry dessert very small so a bit disproportionate. Other than that nice restaurant just a few glitches with the food. Good mix of couples and groups as diners as well and enjoys a central location.

The Yard Restaurant

the organiser
Dublin
31 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th May 2011 (visited 20 May 2011)

Went here with my girlfriend for the earlybird menu. We had the wild mushroom Risotto and the Bruschetta for starters, then we both had the chicken for mains. All dishes were excellant. The main thing about this restaurant is that the staff were very nice & the service was great. Along with a classy decor and genuine antiques littered throughout, it would be hard not to enjoy the atmosphere. We will not only be recommending The Yard to our friends, we will also definitely be returning. Thumbs up!

The Yard Restaurant

robespierre1798
Wexford
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th April 2011 (visited 2 April 2011)

Good meal, good atmosphere and reasonable prices. Overall how there are a few small things they could look at. The starter of scallops and pork belly in a fusion dressing didn't need the pork. The idea of saltiness with sweet scallops and a citrus dressing is a good one it just needs a bit of tweaking. The main of lamp cutlets was a very generous portion but the mashed potato while well made was far too salty. My partner enjoyed her steak (the pepper sauce didn't arrive) and also enjoyed her starter. The restaurant was buzzing and the service was friendly and flexible. It is one of the best places to eat out in Wexford.

The Yard Restaurant

marmel
Waterford
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th March 2011 (visited 24 March 2011)

This is one of the best restaurants I ever ate in! The atmosphere was cosy and romantic and we were asked where we wanted to sit. We chose the thursday special 4 course meal for €25 per person. Really good price considering that the portions are really big. Had I known, I would have chosen not to eat a starter. All courses were aboslutely georgeous, cooked to perfection. The staff were really nice and paid attention to every detail. I highly recommend this place! There's absolutely nothing negative to say about this restaurant. I will come back and eat here again as soon as I can!!!!

The Yard Restaurant

brubber
Kildare
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th November 2010 (visited 10 November 2010)

What a lovely restaurant, really top notch food and the service was excellent; setting was very romantic with the lovely lights. Booked a table for the early menu so when we arrived the restaurant was very quite and lacked a bit of atmosphere but soon livened up. All round excellent restaurants that we took a chance on, not knowing anything about it, so were really pleased. Great early bird, looking forward to trying their Ala Carte. I will be back.

The Yard Restaurant

anitram
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd November 2010 (visited 30 October 2010)

What an exceptional meal for my birthday celebrations. I chose both chef specials:Thai Fish Cakes to start which were served with Asian Slaw (absolutely amazing) - I want the receipe! My main was the Tempura of John Dory served with Basil Ratouille and Butternut Squash mash. My companion had the Scallops with Black Pudding and for main, the Surf and Turf (beware of portion size here, absolutely massive). In hindsight, he wouldn't have ordered a starter. No complaints at all. The place was buzzing as it was still Opera Festival time - however we couldn't fault the service. It was prompt and efficient. For smokers, there's a really nice beer garden, which on a fine day I'd say is a place to hide away in with a nice bottle or 2! My first dinner in Wexford, and to top it all, I found this place on Menupages!

The Yard Restaurant

enniscorthy
Wexford
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th September 2010 (visited 26 August 2010)

absolutely brilliant great value excellent food and service great location

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4646 ]