Cistin Eile restaurant

80 South Main Street, Wexford Town, Wexford

View on Map

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:

€€

10 reviews
5 stars - based on 10 reviews

Cistin Eile

Submit a review
Cistin Eile

addictedtoyew85568500
Wexford
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 22nd December 2015 (visited 21 December 2015)

Excellent restaurant with unique food. The staff are excellent and very attentive, especially the gentleman who appears to be the manager with the light grey hair who creates a nice atmosphere. Superb food. Quite pricey for lunch, example salad without sides might be E10 and the portions are not large, but you are paying for quality. None of the tables are on top of one another either. Very busy around 1-2 so I would recommend booking if 2+, especially on a Saturday. Would recommend for a treat definitely.

Cistin Eile

genieswish
Wexford
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th June 2014 (visited 25 June 2014)

I have wanted to try this restaurant for so long now after hearing so many rave reviews. And cistin eile did more than meet my expectations. I cant remember the last time i was served such exquisite food. the love that went into each dish creation was obvious.if u do nothing else in wexford, go to Cistin Eile, you will not be disappointed!

Cistin Eile

Dulcie
Wexford
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th September 2013 (visited 27 September 2013)

Our second visit to Cistin Eile and the food just continues to delight us. Starters were fishcake with pickled vegetables and goats cheese salad. Both dishes were presented perfectly and tasted out of this world. Mains were slow cooked topside of beef and duck with a game pie, again both dishes were just perfect - what flavours! Just about found room for desserts. Individual trifle and apple pie and both were lovely. Topped this off with a bottle of a crisp fresh Pinot Grigio - heaven! Fabulous restaurant, super efficient staff. Recommended - top class.

Cistin Eile

resident
Wexford
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th September 2013 (visited 18 September 2013)

Just back from lunch. €11 for fork-tender beef in Guinness on mash n veg main. Delicious food with great depth of flavour, friendly service, pleasant atmosphere, great value - all eight members of our group left full and happy - recommended!

Cistin Eile

Maire b
Wexford
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th September 2013 (visited 14 September 2013)

We live in Wexford and love going out for a meal . Cistin Eile is one of our favourite restaurants . The food is always top quality and the service excellent . We had the Fish Fritters to start . Melt in the mouth !! I had the Pork belly and my husband had the 10hr Beef . I loved every mouthful . You could have eaten the beef with a spoon it was so tender and really moist . The range of desserts were lovely and not your ordinary run of the mill selection . The home made bread was lovely too . All for €25 for the Early Bird . Service was fast and friendly . We have family visiting from England later and we cant wait to bring them there as they love their food .

Cistin Eile

travelvicks
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd April 2013 (visited 30 March 2013)

I live in Dublin but travel to Wexford for my holidays often and myself and my husband always make an effort to go to cistin eile when there ( even though we holiday about 30/40mins away). The place isn't posh looking - But once inside its very cosy and comfortable. The food is amazing. The menu isn't huge yet you still feel spoilt for choice. Every dish is well presented and I have not had a bad meal there yet ( have visited about 6 times). My favourite is the corned beef sandwich which literally melts in your mouth. Served with gorgeous cabbage salad. Huge portion- enough as a main meal. I ordered a glass of wine which was very generous in size - if i had one tiny negative it would be that we werent offered a wine list and when i asked for white wine i wasnt asked what kind of white but the wine was nice! I recently also tried the bacon crouquettes which were absolutely delicious- A definite starter size portion. Desserts are different each day- I had an orange and ginger rice pudding last visit which was so good I nearly asked for seconds. Very unusual flavours but delicious. I have been there with small kids too - they don't have high chairs but you can fit a pram beside some tables but best to book ahead. There is no kids menu but for my 4 year old they suggested grilled chicken breast and plain steamed vegetable and boiled potato which I was delighted about- nice change from nuggets and chips which is normally all that's on offer for kids. This is currently my favourite restaurant in ireland!

Cistin Eile

johnmooremenu
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd February 2013 (visited 23 June 2012)

My favourite restaurant outside of Dublin for great food at great value. The pudding or corned beef are both amazing. I have been loads of times and never been disappointed on my own, as a couple and with family/kids.

Cistin Eile

Cousie
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th February 2013 (visited 10 November 2012)

We had a group booking for 20 people and i can only say they looked after our party superbly. The service was excellent and the food was fantastic. Simple food with a twist cooked superbly. This restaurant is excellent value for money and a must for anyone visiting wexford town.

Cistin Eile

hecoba
Donegal
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th October 2012 (visited 26 September 2012)

This restaurant is very good, There is just the a la carte menu but a very carefully selected choice. We both went for fish for starters and main courses. The presentation was really good and the flavor and texture likewise. Each main course comes with it;s own carefully chosen selection of vegetables. Most of the food is locally sourced and organic. The room is a bit utilitarian but don't let that put you off. I was very impressed when the waitress did not charge for a glass of wine as my husband did not have dessert. this has rarely happened before. This is a good find. Try it

Cistin Eile

djmist
Wexford
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th January 2012 (visited 14 October 2011)

My wife and I received a voucher for a Wedding present to the value of €50. The menu on the night consisted of 3 courses for €50 so that worked out nicely, we only had to pay for our drinks. We both had the Wexford pudding starter which was fantastic, Black and white pudding served with salad, apple sauce and a mustard dressing. For Main, I had fish, which was also cooked to perfection. My wife had 10 hour cooked beef which was melt in the mouth. I had an apple pie for desert, which had a little too much cinnamon for me. The staff were also lovely, and even ran to the off license to get me a beer after they had run out. The place is a little pokey, we were sitting in a kind of hallway but this is not enough to put me off the place. Over all, the food is fantastic and great value for money however the desert menu is a little limited. I would heartily recommend this restaurant and plan to return in the near future.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4573 ]