Crazy Crab Cafe Bistro restaurant

Kilmore Quay, Kilmore, Wexford

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Seafood

Price Range:


5 reviews
4 stars - based on 5 reviews

Crazy Crab Cafe Bistro

Submit a review
Crazy Crab Cafe Bistro

PJB
Dublin
90 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:75%

Reviewed 22nd August 2013 (visited 5 July 2013)

Lovely fish restaurant in Kilmore Quay. I scored low on the atmosphere as it was very early evening and we were the only customers. 2 dinners of haddock and chips and 1 dinner of cod & chips. The fish and chips were really good and tasty. The batter on the fish was lovely and light and crisp and the chips were cooked perfectly. Just right after a day walking around in the sea air. This is a little gem of a restaurant and the service was excellent. Lovely friendly staff. I will return.

Crazy Crab Cafe Bistro

orlajc1
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st August 2013 (visited 27 July 2013)

My husband is from wexford so on our anniversary on advice from his family, he booked the Crazy Crab...I'm so glad he listened to them!!! We arrived and were seated by two very friendly waitresses. The menu is a seafood lovers heaven. We ordered the seafood platter which serves 2. When is arrived it was fantastic, longoustines in the shell, dublin bay prawns, scallops, crabmeat, crab claws, smoked salmon and mackerel....served with brown bread and a green salad!! It was fabulous, the best platter I've had in a long time. The staff were lovely too, attentive and so friendly. Its worth a drive to Kilmore quay just to eat here!

Crazy Crab Cafe Bistro

chickenllicken
Wicklow
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd September 2012 (visited 18 August 2012)

I read a lot of good reviews about this restaurant so we decided to give it a try. It doesnt look much from the outside or indeed the inside, its quite basic but if you are lucky enough to get a window seat you have lovely sea views. The food is not overly expensive and the menu reads good, My husband had mackerel which was nicely cooked, I wasn't very hungry so I decided to have the starter of langoustine they looked and tasted lovely but I had to send them back as the digestive tract had not been removed and it was impossible to eat them without getting sandy grit in every mouthful. It wasn't very busy when we were there but the waiting staff didn't seem to know what they were doing, taking orders from people who just walked in the door and leaving others already seated unattended. A little more attention to detail is needed, in my humble opinion.

Crazy Crab Cafe Bistro

dolci
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th March 2012 (visited 18 March 2012)

We found Crazy Crab by chance when visiting in Co. Wexford this weekend. Initially the outside of the restaurant didn't appeal to us as we thought it looked like a chipper, however when we had a quick glance on the menu we decided to go in, and what a good decision that was! Interior looked fresh and trendy, staff was friendly and the restaurant has amazing views of the sea. We both had a starter and a main, all dishes were extremely generous and you could tell only the freshest ingredients were used. We liked the finishing touches such as the homemade salsa that came with the fish cakes and the homemade chips. The bill came to just under €40 which was excellent value for money. It's such a pity we don't live locally otherwise we would return here regularly!

Crazy Crab Cafe Bistro

dubscribe
Wexford
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 26th August 2011 (visited 21 June 2011)

This Café & Bistro comes highly recommended not just by me, but they received a fantastic review from the Sunday Independent food critic. The Crazy Crab is the only place in Kilmore Quay where you can dine outside (weather permitting of course) and enjoy uninterrupted sea views. The new owners opened last summer (2010). Previously it was the Poisson D’Or Bistro. The new bistro’s menu, atmosphere and genuine customer service is a definite winner, the staff are so nice, it’s lovely. I live locally and am delighted with this new(ish) addition to our community. I’ve dined there three times and had coffee, just chilling, numerous times. Each time I dined, I was accompanied by a guest, and we all agreed that the quality of the food was superb and offered tremendous value for money If you like fish, you can’t get fresher than dining in Kilmore Quay. And these days, with money being so tight, it is fantastic to have quality food at affordable prices. It’s a small restaurant, and in the summer, if you want to bag a table outside, you need to be quick. The Crazy Crab caters for moochers, like myself sometimes, who just have a coffee and enjoy the good weather, but of course they also offer a limited but delicious full menu it you want a meal. In particular, I would highly recommend their seafood platter - it is divine!!!

Copyright © 2018 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5309 ]