Il Colosseo Italian Restaurant

Northgate Street, Athlone, Westmeath

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Italian

Price Range:


20 reviews
4 stars - based on 20 reviews

Il Colosseo Italian Restaurant

Submit a review
Il Colosseo Italian Restaurant

brendaclogher
Roscommon
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th October 2014 (visited 15 September 2014)

I love this restaurant, most items on menu 12 e early bird except the steak and the massive Italian pizza - I was unable to finish it, waitress placed it in a take away box discretely, you can bring your own wine, 3 e corkage. Desserts are to die for, and as we had 2 tired kids with us dad took them out on terrace so as not disturb other diners. Service always polite and excellent, I will go back again and again.

Il Colosseo Italian Restaurant

Gronkjaers left boot
Meath
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st July 2013 (visited 21 July 2013)

As per the previous review, don't be put off by the exterior. The restaurant is situated above a pub but the interior is beautiful, there is an open kitchen (looking very clean and chefs professional) and a nice terrace. They have a special on most of the days during the week where you pay only €10 for a main course. This even includes some dishes that are normally priced twice as much. You can also bring your own wine for a corkage fee of €3. We opted for a fried brie as a starter to share and 2 pasta dishes for mains. 1. Rigatoni with prawns and porcini mushrooms in a creamy tomato sauce - this dish was delicious and the prawns were so tender and fresh and so were the mushrooms, pasta was cooked al dente. 2. Rigatoni with chicken and vegetables in a creamy tomato sauce in a closed focaccia bread- this was also a delicious and an interesting dish. The staff was professional and nice. We would definitely come back if we visit Athlone again.

Il Colosseo Italian Restaurant

maccers
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st August 2011 (visited 29 July 2011)

Don't be put off by the exterior of this restaurant as from the street it certainly doesn't look anything special. We were staying in the Radisson in Athlone and this restaurant is right across the road, we chose it because we were starving and it was convenient. We were met by a friendly waitress and shown to our table, the restaurant was very quiet for a Friday night.The menu was extensive & all items reasonably priced. I ordered the lasagne and my partner ordered a chicken pasta dish with garlic bread. The food was top notch, lasagne was delicious and we both cleaned our plates. If you like Italian food then this place will definitely please you. If I was ever in Athlone again I'd be making my way back here.

Il Colosseo Italian Restaurant

onion2
Westmeath
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th May 2011 (visited 9 April 2011)

Went here early in the evening so we were the first customers in. The food was very tasty and a huge selection to choose from- a very difficult choice. Will definitely go back during the week to try their set menu- 3 courses and glass of wine for 20 euro and they don't scrimp on the portions for this deal

Il Colosseo Italian Restaurant

insanechicken
Galway
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st October 2010 (visited 14 July 2010)

We went to this restaurant on a warm summer evening having been there many moons ago with a friend and had a good meal. We ordered from the set menu which was a main and a glass of wine with either a starter or a dessert. I don't drink so i enquired if i could have a soft drink instead of the wine and the waitress impatiently told me no only wine. I replied that's fine you can bring me the wine - i won't drink it but you can bring it. She either questioned it with management or thought better of it but she brought my coke telling me it would be ok. After this bumpy start I had a delicious dish of Tikka Fettucine. A really tasty spicy twist on a classic. My boyfriend declared his pizza a winner also. As part of the set menu i was brought the dessert menu and found nothing to my taste as most contained alcholol or coffee, neither of which appeal to me. I asked if i could simply have some ice cream and was again told no and again she returned with what i had requested. The restaurant was well staffed and not that busy so i can't explain service with that but i wholeheartedly recommend going to this restaurant and eating well. just hope for a sifferent server!

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5410 ]