House Restaurant

Cliff House Hotel, Middle Road, Ardmore, Ardmore, Waterford

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Fine Dining

Price Range:

€€€€€

30 reviews
4 stars - based on 30 reviews

House Restaurant

Submit a review
House Restaurant

tastychef22
Kildare
66 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 31st October 2016 (visited 29 October 2016)

5 star food at its best both breakfast & dinner

House Restaurant

possum_pie
Wicklow
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th July 2016 (visited 25 July 2016)

the service now there is very friendly and excellent, the choice on the menu in the bar restaurant seems to be almost identical as the one from last year so has a lot of room for improvement, still had a very nice meal and the dessert was delicious, a bit pricy but this was a special occasion

House Restaurant

hammish04
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th July 2014 (visited 10 July 2014)

What can I say. Food is stunning; service - nothing is to much trouble; beautiful view from the Bar and the Restaurant. The price matches the standards, so it is good value in the end. The atmosphere is just a wee bit stiff, but whole hotel is nice and quiet (only has 39 rooms).Great treat.

House Restaurant

Phishy
Dublin
32 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th January 2013 (visited 19 January 2013)

I should start with the (many) positives! Dining in the hotel bar was a wonderful experience: fantastic food, excellent value for money, fabulous, attentive waitress and a relaxing, welcoming environment. 10/10. So when you know you have dinner awaiting you in the restaurant the following evening, you enter with high expectations. These were initially met, with what I can only describe as giggle-inducing food, it was so outrageously tasty! The amous-bouche selection was divine, and ordering the signature-dish salmon starter is a must! From here, however, the dining experience took a nose-dive. If a restaurant insists on keeping my bottle of wine away from my table, I should not have to get up and request that glasses which were empty for almost fifteen minutes be topped up. Grrr. As for the waiting around...I have no problem waiting 20-30 minutes for a starter and again for a main in a restaurant such as this. Also, having browsed through their cook book, Let's Go Disco, I genuinely appreciated the craftsmanship that these dishes require. I do however, have a problem with waiting 20 minutes for my empty dinner plate to be cleared. It didn't help that we had a late sitting and tiredness was creeping in. By 11.15, ten minutes after the plates had been cleared and nobody had returned with dessert menus, it was getting a bit tedious. We eventually requested dessert menus and if we could take the order to our room, and our request was willingly fulfilled. It was just such a shame that by 11.45 we were too tired and frankly fed-up with the waiting to really appreciate the food. I would be disappointed with service like this in any restaurant, but when you pride and sell yourself of being an award-winning restaurant of such a high standard (and charge accordingly), there really is no justification for it. I will definitely be returning to the bar...I'll have to think twice about the restaurant.

House Restaurant

foodlover88
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th January 2013 (visited 13 January 2013)

If I could give this a 6 star rating I would without hesitation as this is a wonderful Hotel, although the michelin star restaurant was closed the night we stayed at the hotel the bar restaurant was open. Everything about the hotel we loved... massively helped by those gorgeous views. My only little thing was that the lunch menu and the dinner menu later that night had a lot of repitition and therefore narrowed our choices even further at night as we sampled during the day. Fantastic place...great staff.

House Restaurant

Diarmuidmurphy
Cork
71 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th September 2012 (visited 25 July 2012)

My wife and I dined here during the summer as we stayed for a night. This is a must dine experience for anyone. All courses were excellent nad highly recomended. Fantastic wine list and outstanding staff A Diners Must

House Restaurant

Countrybumpkin

26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th June 2012 (visited 3 June 2012)

Enjoyed a lovely weekend at The Cliff House, made extra special by the wonderful food. It really is superb - every course delightful and surprising, from breakfast through to the extraordinary evening meals. Every morsel was full of flavour and each course was really well balanced. The service is delightful, and the wines excellent. Can't wait to visit again!

House Restaurant

toffees
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th June 2012 (visited 13 April 2012)

I was nervous eating here, being a very fussy vegetarian, and used to being disappointed by "fine dining" experience (goats cheese and risotto anyone?) I was more than blown away by the utterly amazing feast that was put before me. It was an explosion of taste and textures. You do have to abandon your preconceptions of how your food should look and be served. My starter of carrot served in a zillion different ways sounded strange on the menu, but was outstanding. My partner was equally blown away by his (non veggie) set menu and the excellent wines selected to accompany each course by the sommelier - who really knew his stuff. Top marks to the excellent staff who do top notch service in a very relaxed way - and to a kitchen not afraid to adapt their menu to suit a fussy veggie. One word - if you haven't been - go! I can't wait to return.

House Restaurant

crabapple
Kildare
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd May 2012 (visited 23 March 2012)

Five start dining and I can't wait to go back. The food here is phenomenal and the service makes the experience even better. The desserts were definitely the favourite course with a rhubarb dish and caramel and apple one. We had the wine and beer to match each course and the sommelier picked perfectly. Yes it's expensive but worth every penny.

House Restaurant

Silja
Wicklow
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th October 2011 (visited 8 October 2011)

We opted for the Tasting Menu and it will be a meal that will be remembered for a long time to come. It combined delicious food, a comprehensive wine list, food as art and even as a performance. The tastes, textures, edible flowers and even the waiters' description of the courses added to the drama. The menu included savoury tasters presented like macaroons accompanied by a shot of carrot and cheese; a selection of snacks which were presented like tapas and included separate portions of scallop, potato, quail egg and foie gras as you've never seen them before; an adventurous salmon course with a fresh, zesty,smoky arrangement;a halibut course with soft, velvety textures; a beef course with the added theatre of beef tea; a first dessert which surprises everyone in the room and a chocolate dessert to finish. Interesting sorbets are also added along the way to cleanse the palette. A truly memorable meal

House Restaurant

MiniCooper
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd July 2011 (visited 19 July 2011)

Top marks for food. Starting with smoked salmon and selecting lamb for my main course the food was excellent. The restaurant is small and the window tables [those with a choice view] have an added advantage of Ardmore bay. Those inside are a little cramped. Heavy drinking is probably not within most peoples’ budget in these days of restrain. I still had an excellent bottle of Italian wine for less than €40. The service was very professional, and at the beginning I was amused by the many people who kept asking me if I was enjoying my meal. After two hours I wondered if this was a five star trick question treatment, still I kept answering positively. Deserts and coffees were works of art as well as complementing an excellent experience. The meal was one that should mark an occasion and hence I had no problem if a little expensive.

House Restaurant

Melendez
Dublin
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th June 2011 (visited 18 June 2011)

I had lunch in the bar. Both the food and service were top quality - top restaurant quality as opposed to top bar quality. The charcuterie platter was especially good but everything was that bit better than you might hope for, and exceptional value for what was on offer. The setting, looking out over the sea, moves an already excellent meal up a level.

House Restaurant

EEC
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th May 2011 (visited 29 April 2011)

We went here in quite a large group for a family occasion and i was blown away by the service, the food and as another reviewer said the "theatre that is the food". I was expecting something lovely as had heard great things and was more than impressed. The seaweed brioche was just out of the oven, the butter melting on it All the choices and composition of each dish expained by the really warm and attentive staff. Apart from beautiful and interesting presentation the tastes were perfect. For 65 euro (a set menu) it was very good value for food of this calibre so I cannot fault it, I just can't wait to go back.

House Restaurant

figg16

24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th May 2011 (visited 29 April 2011)

This has the most wonderful setting and the location is spectacular. I was expecting the staff to be a bit pretentious but they were first class and very attentive.The food was interesting, duck for main course was sublime, i think it is worth going to for the setting and service. However, the teathre which is the food fails to reach the same height on the palate.

House Restaurant

yecats
Waterford
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th December 2010 (visited 25 November 2010)

Two friends and I came here for a "threesome" . This was dinner where the starter was done by Paul Flynn, the Tannery Dungarvan ,mains by the Cliff house and the desserts by Chop House, Lismore. This was a fantastic fine dining experience. Food was superb ,service efficient without being overpowering and the three chefs came to talk to all diners after the meal.An Amuse bouche and sorbet were also part of the meal. There were no condiments on the table as they were not needed,flavours to die for All for 55€. Definetly somehwere to revisit.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.7359 ]