La Boheme restaurant

2 George Street, Waterford City, Waterford

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
French

Price Range:

€€€€

28 reviews
4 stars - based on 28 reviews

La Boheme

Submit a review
La Boheme

Kate2010
Waterford
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th March 2010 (visited 25 March 2010)

I recently celebrated my birthday in La Boheme Restaurant with a group of my friends. I was a bit nervous about my foody Dublin friends who eat out in all the top-class restaurants every weekend but La Boheme Restaurant FAR surpassed my expectations. Having a vegetarian and coeliac in my party made things even more difficult but I needn't have worried for La Boheme catered to everyones needs flawlessly. From the moment we stepped in the door the service, the food, the ambiance and surprise, surprise the LIVE jazz made the whole experience unforgettable. Wish I could do it all over again. I recommend this place to anyone wishing to celebrate a special event or just looking for an evening meal. (The price was nice on my pocket too!!)

La Boheme

joella
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th February 2010 (visited 30 January 2010)

Went to see family and enjoyed a lovely evening here with same.Its a place to come for a treat , Dublin prices but food is French standard so that makes it worthwhile.Atmopshere right down to the lovely powder rooms and extensive winw -drinks list ..brillant

La Boheme

koby
Waterford
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th January 2010 (visited 22 January 2010)

We went for the 35euro menu. We were given a creamy spinach puree for our mis bouche - just ok. I had the 'trilogy' for starter - which consisted of cauliflower puree, a slice of serrano-type ham, and a fillet of wood pigeon. The wood pigeon was divine, really, I've never tasted pigeon before - it was so delicious. The other items (cauliflower dish and ham) I wasn't really keen on. My friend's crab brulee starter was very tasty. For mains I had the confit of duck - it was probably the best duck I've ever had. It just fell off the bone and the sauce and red cabbage were delicious. My friend had the pheasant which he really liked. The veggies that came on the side were scrumptious. For desert my coconut bun with vanilla ice-cream was quite nice. My friend's creme brulee was very good. The place itself is lovely and service is excellent. Yes it is pricier than a lot of places, but it's great for a special treat.

La Boheme

wannabe
Wexford
32 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th December 2009 (visited 27 November 2009)

Ate here on a Friday evening with some friends, from the minute you walk in you are looked after the staff were very efficient without being obtrusive, the food was delicious, we all had the goats cheese and fig starter, two had steak and I had guinea fowl which was served with a delicious sauce. The dessert of pineapple was light and wonderfully presented. Most of the tables were full and although we booked early we were not hurried for another sittin, the €35 menu is very good value I felt. If I had to pick a fault it would be the draughts although as it is a cellar in an old house it's perhaps not unexpected.

La Boheme

ziggy15
Waterford
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd December 2009 (visited 12 September 2009)

I ate here for a special occasion and was really looking forward to it as I normally love everything French. However I was very disappointed with La Boheme given all the previous good reviews. The service was shockingly poor - we had one vegetarian who ordered especially a vegetarian starter and main, and then the waiter 'plonked' down a meaty amuse-bouche in front of us all without even saying what was in it! The food was only average and not authentically French. The surroundings are really very nice but the whole experience is spoiled by poor service, average food and high prices for the a la carte. I would not recommend this restaurant - especially to any vegetarians or food allergy sufferers.

La Boheme

fooddude57
Galway
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th October 2009 (visited 10 September 2009)

What a pretty restaurant. Service was great, crispy pork belly was crisp, lobster was amazing, a really good wine list especially the spanish section. Brave move for a french restaurant as they usually concentrate on a french list. I love that it's in a cellar. Super night. worth the money.

La Boheme

eileenoh
Cork
32 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th October 2009 (visited 3 October 2009)

I was in La Boheme for the first time last Saturday and I have to say I can't wait to go back. The restaurant is perfect for a special occasion or a romantic dinner for 2. The food is exceptional with very pleasant and efficient staff. It's definitely one of the best restaurants in the country.

La Boheme

littl_miss_sunshine
Wicklow
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd July 2009 (visited 1 July 2009)

My Mum and I dined there last night and I can easily say that it is the best french food that I have tasted outside of France, in fact it was even better than many authentic French restaurants. The prices are quite steep although there is an early bird option for 28 euro however we were too late to avail of this. Instead we opted for the three course menu for 35 euro menu which also included a mise en bouche. We both had the trio of fish to start which comprised of a crab brulee, and a variety of smoked salmon. I then had duck with pesto, tomatoes & parmesan while my Mum had hake with fennel and leeks. The piece of fish was huge and the duck was delicious, as were the accompanying veg. For dessert we shared a creme brulee which was amazing and chose a selection of cheeses from the cheese cart...divine! Ditto to the last reviewers re: the wine. It was lovely. Will definately return when I visit this part of the country again.

La Boheme

HomerJay
Waterford
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd July 2009 (visited 25 June 2009)

What else can I say but AMAZING! I really had a super evening here, we went for the mid summer menu for €35 which is excellent value for the selection they have. I had the seafood "trilogy" for starter and the hake for mains which were both flawless. We plan on returning for the early bird menu next week to try that out

La Boheme

stonethrower
Tipperary
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd November 2008 (visited 23 November 2008)

Three of us dined there last thursday 20/11/08. Very, atmospheric, friendlyhelpful and efficient staff. We each availed of the 4 course menu for €35. When we saw that the mise en bouche was considered one of the four courses we felt alittle cheated. However, the other three courses more than made up for it. Each of us considered the food exceptional!!! For me the goats cheese s on a bed of grapesand figs was sublime. Over all a delightful experience and we look forward to going back. Try the house red Monte Alina...really stunning. Worth every mile of the 50 mile round trip we made to the venue.

La Boheme

LaraMarie
Wicklow
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st October 2008 (visited 17 October 2008)

Ate here last weekend as they currently have offer €35 for 4 course meal and I had heard restaurant was very good. Evening started well, waiter friendly and we ordered nice wine. Both hubby & I enjoyed starter, my main course (pork) was disappointing and I complained. From there the evening went downhill. An alternative was offered reluctantly and the waiter cooled off with the service. Tried to charge me full €35 even though I only had starter and declined dessert. Maitre D was quite rude about the whole thing and needless to say we won't return. My husband enjoyed his meal and I'm sure once you don't complain about anything you will be alright. I've eaten in most top class restaurants in Dublin and La Boheme has some way to go.

La Boheme

pipercadet
Waterford
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th September 2008 (visited 18 July 2008)

Very nice, romantic (location very nice), excellent service, food excellent. A bit pricey though, but not bad for "high end"

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4789 ]