Chez Hans restaurant

Cashel Co Tipperary, Cashel, Tipperary

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
French

Price Range:

€€€€

25 reviews
4 stars - based on 25 reviews

Chez Hans

Submit a review
Chez Hans

MonsterMob
Tipperary
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th October 2008 (visited 29 August 2008)

My favourite restaurant in the country! The setting of the restaurant in the old church is beautiful and the food that is served is equally so! Have never come out of the restaurant and have felt it wasn't worth every penny. Am quite confused about the negative comments here especially about the bar been untidy, this is an excellent restaurant and serves delicious food.

Chez Hans

chris2
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th October 2008 (visited 3 October 2008)

Very disappointed they could not make a black Russian for me. They took a long time to remove plates between courses but went to take my desert before it was finished. They did not take my orders correctly. I felt the food is overpriced for what they are offering. One cup of coffee is very mean

Chez Hans

senan
Tipperary
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st September 2008 (visited 29 August 2008)

I enjoy reading restaurant reviews but rarely am I compelled to add a review myself - until now. I feel that a couple of the reviews of Chez Hans are grossly misrepresentative and would hate for anyone to overlook this jewel in Munster cuisine because of them. I have been going to Chez Hans regularly with my family for some time now - and have never had anything less than an excellent time while there - yes Chez Hans is a bit pricey - but yes, it has been around for nigh on 30 years, has a considerable repeat business and has a menu and winelist that never fails to please. Their sole is expensive, but, and call me conservative but their steak never fails to please - premium Tipperary beef. PEople - are you not reading the papers - prices are going up and if a restaurant insists on sourcing top quality, local ingredients - this is going to be reflected - and I might add, their Early Bird is excellent value for money - so take it from us - Chez Hans is well worth a visit - and then another ! Rant over.

Chez Hans

Dublin14
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th August 2008 (visited 22 August 2008)

This was our first visit to Chez Hans and our expectations were very high based on local recommendations.The ambiance and service were average, and the food was good.However, in terms of value for money, we felt that the restaurant was overpriced, particularly the starters. There are a number of restaurants in the locality which offer better value for money.My wife and I will not be returning.

Chez Hans

bph
Tipperary
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th August 2008 (visited 1 August 2008)

Meet and greet was amateur and nervous. The bar area was dirty and untidy. we found our (own) way to a bar table, and waited for our drinks to arrive. I would have appreciated if someone would have wiped the spilled drink off the table first! We were handed our menu's--- do you like laminated plastic? Cheap menu's, expensive food--- was this an attempt at satire? Did I just not get it??? The food on the menu, however, looked great. We moved to the dining area, which was nice, nice art/paintings etc. The atmosphere, was very stuffy though. It was like the overly bright lighting, and inaudible music was causing nerves to choke and stifling any good positive atmosphere. (I have to add the staff/management did little to improve the situation) Our table was adequate, even if the salt cellers and the rest of the dinnerware did not match (Not in style or themed way, but in a white/blue/crystal/grubby steak knife kind of way, nothing matched-- which is fine for the local diner, but not your €75/head) The food was good. Not excellent, good - you will find better out there for far less (I can think of some excellent venues in south wexford offering far superior at 1/2 the price). Presentation for all was very disappointing. The desserts were terrible. All in all, we were served by about 7-8 different staff, some stank of cigarettes, which is not good enough. All in all, I felt robbed. Obviously we will not be going back. I cannot recommend Chez Hans based on the higher standards set by others. What a huge disappointment... I just wonder how have they managed to stay in business for so long???? Lesson learned--HIGH PRICES DO NOT GUARANTEE QUALITY OR SATISFACTION. You got your meal, pay your bill and go.

Chez Hans

colmf
Tipperary
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th February 2009 (visited 7 February 2009)

I ate here last year and was really pleased. My second visit was not as pleasing. It is still good but I think the food standard has slipped. To be honest I didn't think the quality of the food was that much better than the day time cafe even though it was around twice the price. Sure it was presented better but we were all a little disappointed especially at the high price. It is still very good just not quite that 5 star experience from last year. Maybe it was an off day and I would go again. Best way I can describe the visit was not quite living up to expectations. Also a large table with a loud group didn't help the atmosphere.

Chez Hans

niamhbyrne

7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th February 2008 (visited 13 October 2007)

Expensive, but well worth it, excellent food and wonderful atmosphere, renovated old church, perfect for special occasions

Chez Hans

slickpickle
Tipperary
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd February 2008 (visited 11 January 2008)

Excellent experience across the board. The fish is fresh and cooked perfectly. The fowl is wild caught (careful to find the bullet). The desserts are so good, their best seller is the sampler. Fantastic wine list.

Chez Hans

ILOVEMYFOD

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th December 2007 (visited 25 September 2007)

Most amazing place. Set in a old church, the food is amazing. This place has alway been a family fav. Its is where we go for special occasions (Birthday etc). We have never had a bad meal in over 20 years. A must and well worth the high price tag, but save it for a treat

Chez Hans

noreenob

8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th December 2007 (visited 8 September 2007)

It is pricey but you get what you pay for. Absolutely fab. You must go.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.8138 ]