Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

2 Main Street, Dunboyne, Meath

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Cheap Eats

Price Range:


15 reviews
4 stars - based on 15 reviews

Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

Submit a review
Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

peterfbyrne1

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 14th December 2016 (visited 13 December 2016)

As a party of two we thoroughly enjoyed an excellent meal here. We ordered one meal from the 'special' menu which was incredible value at only €16. The other meal was from the 'a la carte' menu and it was also good value. The atmosphere rating given above is artificial because the restaurant was empty at the time we dined but we were greeted warmly and I sense there would be a good atmosphere even on busier days.

Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

DerekNeary
Meath
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th April 2014 (visited 13 April 2014)

Lovely food and friendly service. I had kung Po beef and asked for extra heat and they obliged.

Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

molough
Dublin
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:32%

Reviewed 06th March 2011 (visited 4 March 2011)

Visited on a Friday evening. Very good value for money; 3 courses for 16 euro. I had spare ribs for starter: very tasty, plenty of meat. Wife had chicken & sweetcorn soup. We both had prawns with a choice of sauces + rice or chips for the main course. The third course consisted of tea, coffee or ice cream. Service was friendly without being intrusive. We were staying at The Dunboyne Castle Hotel which is located within easy walking distance.

Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

trailblazzer
Wexford
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd November 2010 (visited 17 November 2010)

I cant praise this place enough! Its perfect. Staff are extremely friendly, professional and polite. The menu is a typical Chinese resturaunt style menu, but the prices are much cheaper than other chinese resturaunts I've been too. Food is mouthwatering too. Special offer of 3 course meal for €16 is great and the food on this is delicious too! I highly recommend the ribs to start MELT IN YOUR MOUTH! Wine list is a little short, but what they have is delicious. Will be back many times!

Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

Nicole1981
Meath
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd November 2010 (visited 26 September 2010)

Great value €16 for a 3 course meal, very tasty. Not the cosiest restaurant but the food makes up for it. Staff helpful and the food comes out very quick. Would recommned the take away as well, my favorite in Dunboyne for sure.

Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

mooneyc1
Meath
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th August 2010 (visited 10 August 2010)

Best value around for Early bird,only €12 for 3 courses on a Sunday. Although it doesn't be too busy during the weekend days it still has a nice athmospere and very helpful and friendly staff. The Early bird menu is small enough but they are happy to accomodate any particular alterations to certain dishes, the food is tasty and portions are generous, especailly their beef or chicken curries. I sampled most of the starters and they are all really good. The main menu is more in line with prices of any other chinese but has a large selection. Take away is also usually pretty consistent, nothing to write home about but you get good value for money.

Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

Mikia
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th August 2010 (visited 17 July 2010)

Amazing food. Great "Tasting Menu" were you get to try out about 5 best dishes of the house, starters and main. Amazing wine selection. The staff is very friendly. I went there with himself for our anniversary as we were staying in the Dunboyne Castle Hotel & Spa near by. We couldn't have chosen any better. The atmosphere was perfect. The staff knew exactly when to come over and chat and when to leave us alone and have some romantic time. We were approached by the owner who made sure everything was going perfect. She's a lovely, humorous woman. If you are ever in the locality you have to visit this place.

Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

gourmande
Meath
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th February 2010 (visited 30 January 2010)

This is a cheap restaurant with wonderful friendly staff but the food is average. If you are not expecting much you won't be disappointed, tasty but average and small portion sizes when taking the set menu at 16 euro. Wine list not great either. Would not recommend it if looking for a good eating experience but atmosphere is good if with a group.

Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

Oskar
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th January 2010 (visited 10 January 2010)

Warm and friendly restaurant with nice atmosphere. Very family friendly with good food. Staff were friendly and service was really good. We had delicious food followed up with lovely coffee and the kids were well looked after. Fairly good value for what we got. They also have karaoke on certain nights we believe (not sure when).

Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

Dine-a-sorus
Dublin
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th January 2009 (visited 19 January 2009)

I recently went here as I have for years used their take away in Finglas. I was not diappointed by the food or service, one of the friendliest restaurant staffs anywhere in Ireland! However, compared to the take-away prices, you seem to pay quite a lot for the privilege of sitting down. Compared to other chinese restaurants in Dublin and surrounds, it is on a par price wise, although being charged almost €5 for a pint glass of milk almost knocked me over whent he bill came. The food is the main attraction here. If you want great chinese food and want it done in any particular way, they are very accomodating, if it is not on the menu, they will try to create it for you.

Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

MFK
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd December 2008 (visited 3 December 2008)

We go to this restaurant quite regularly so the date isn't accurate. Great for lunch or dinner. Lovely food which they are very happy to adapt for special dietary requirements. Staff are brilliant - friendly and chatty without being in your face. Very family friendly (without turning into a creche!). Great for any occasion. Great value and quality. Would recommend Ho Wun without hesitation (both the restaurant and take out).

Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

gettingthere7
Dublin
44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th April 2011 (visited 8 April 2011)

Thiswas 2nd time here,first visit was a few years ago. Restaurant was fairly empty,as we had early meal,we were staying close by in Dunboyne castle. Service was very attentive ,courteous,and pleasant. Food was lovely and piping hot,i had chicken curry,partner had kung po.wealso had chicken balls in batter.for starters we had spring rolls,soup, and dessert was choc biscuit dessert,and ice cream.16e for three course meal,all evening,all staff wished us a nice evening as door was held open ,nice to be served in ireland by pleasant staff

Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

SBarcoe

4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th February 2008 (visited 1 August 2007)

I love this Chinese restaurant. The food is fantastic and the service & staff are lovely. Take away is superb as well

Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

munchers

9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd January 2008 (visited 2 November 2007)

love this place food very tasty.nice decor and staff friendly.

Ho Wun Chinese Takeaway & Restaurant

Affinity
Meath
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th December 2007 (visited 2 December 2007)

Ho Wun have an excellent value set meal for €16 per person which includes starter, main course and desert. Their spare ribs are very good as is the soup. The value meal main courses are clever. Pick your meat; beef, chicken, pork or duck and then pick your sauce. While the vaue meal portions are a little on the small side, it's hard to fault it. Eating off the a la carte menue ensures that you get large portions of good food. The wine menue is very limited, but very good value. Staff can sometimes be a little over familiar which could scare some people away.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4505 ]