Franzini's restaurant

Frenchs Lane, Trim, Meath

View on Map

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

67 reviews
4 stars - based on 67 reviews

Franzini's

Submit a review
Franzini's

louise5754
Wicklow
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th October 2011 (visited 19 September 2011)

Had dinner here while away for a few days in Trim.For starter I had nachos which were nice home made tortillas the only problem I had was about an inch of cheese on the chilli beef.Heart attack!Boyfirend had the caeser salad which he loved.Mains I had a pizza with ham and mushroom but again it was overloaded with cheese with very little ham&mushroom.Boyfriend had the chicken burger which was huge and took him ages to eat but got there in the end!A nice meal overall at a nice price.

Franzini's

tall paul
Meath
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th September 2011 (visited 3 August 2011)

i had a lovely meal here! service was great an food was delish. cocktails were yummy!!

Franzini's

femily79
Meath
47 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th September 2011 (visited 11 July 2011)

I was really disappointed with the whole night. Food was very mediocre, Wine list is good though with some nice wines at good prices. Food was just tasteless,I founded wings very boring, would have liked some kind of blue cheese dip on side or something else. Main course was bland too. Shame not much options in Trim but we enjoyed the vino thoroughly and service was polite too.

Franzini's

pinky456
Meath
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd September 2011 (visited 1 July 2011)

Eat here regularly, alway a good atmosphere, and very busy at weekends, the 2 courses for €20 is great value.My faves are the wan tons of duck and the constantines ceasar salad. Or the fillet steak is good, odd time can be a bit more cooked than I like tho! Apart from that its always good, and a chocolate fondant to finish if you have room is worth a taste!

Franzini's

bantam
Meath
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th August 2011 (visited 27 August 2011)

I paid a return visit, not having been there for a few years so I felt like a first-timer. My overall impression is of a busy, lively restaurant with a fine selection of dishes. It's well-placed to pick up passing trade due to its proximity to Trim Castle with its high turnover of visitors and it is also seems to be well patronized by locals. The 2 or 3 course options are good value though being limited to one pudding on the 2 course option which I choose was a bit of a let-down. However I was disappointed by the welcome which was perfunctory to the point of chilliness. This offhand manner carried through to the service staff with one or two exceptions. A smile or "you're welcome" greeting would make a huge difference to the overall impression that the diner encounters.

Franzini's

mhw
Meath
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th August 2011 (visited 26 August 2011)

fabulous meal!! great variety on menu, fantastic value..€20 for 2 courses and just €25 for 3 courses all night. service was very quick and very friendly. will definitely return..regularly!!

Franzini's

markane
Meath
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th August 2011 (visited 6 August 2011)

Lovely food and good portion sizes but absolutely AWFUL service!we had four different staff dealing with our table for two and they pretty much rushed us out the door to let in more customers. Just couldn't leave a tip which broke our hearts because the food was very tasty. Wont be back unless they address their terrible staffing&service issues- they were in no rush to serve and then rushed us out the door.

Franzini's

bigflirt
Meath
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th July 2011 (visited 1 July 2011)

Visited this restaurant with 2 friends on a busy friday night. Food was absolutely top quality - portion sizes more than enough. Timing between courses perfect - we asked that we have additional time between the main course and the dessert and was not a problem. Desserts to die for! €25.00 for 3 course meal of exceptional quality. Staff very helpful. Seating very well laid out with plenty of room. Cannot say i disliked anything about this restaurant. My friends who travelled quite a distance were more than impressed also. Will definitely be paying another visit.

Franzini's

monkeater
Laois
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th June 2011 (visited 29 May 2011)

This remains such a good spot for tasty food, good service and with a great vibe to meet friends and catch-up over endless options on the menu. We had some very good dishes for mains and the mixed platter for starter nibbles. Even the wine list doesn't disappoint. We'll be back.

Franzini's

Starved
Dublin
81 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th May 2011 (visited 16 April 2011)

Was really looking forward to finally eating in this restaurant after all the wonderful things I heard about it. While we were a very large party (18) we were not the only large party at the restaurant that night, there was also a hen party. We were so disappointed with the service, they simply couldn't cope as the restaurant was packed to the brim. The food could not be faulted, I had the fajitas - the portion size was massive and the food delish. It was good value for money, if only they had more staff!

Franzini's

Ladybird1
Meath
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th March 2011 (visited 4 March 2011)

10 years ago this was probably one of the nicest restaurants in Leinster. Sadly though all the things that made it great (Service, Food & Atmosphere) have been on a downward trend since. On Friday night, my husband and I went for a meal in Franzinis. We were what you would call regular frequenters of the place but rarely go there anymore. And we were reminded why, very quickly. First off we ordered a decent bottle of white wine which after one sip revealed itself to have all the flavours of paint thinner. I informed the waitress who quickly removed it to speak to the manager. The assistant manager then dropped by our table informing us that the wine was infact fine. He and his colleagues had tried a sip of it and couldn’t find a thing wrong with it. Unfortunately he clearly hadn’t a clue about wines and proceeded to tell me that he’d sold 3 bottles of the same wine that night and all was well with those. I proceeded to argue with him that the wine in fact was completely undrinkable. With complete reluctance after about 10 minutes of arguing he agreed to substitute the bottle. Thereafter it was impossible to really enjoy the meal. The food was distinctly average and didn’t reflect the quality you’d expect at those prices. The decline in atmosphere reflects the drop off in trade the restaurant has suffered which isn’t surprising given how they treat their customers.

Franzini's

tulip1
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th January 2011 (visited 22 January 2011)

Very Dissapointed! went for an early dinner on Saturday night with family and were treated very badly from the start, one particular senior staff member/owner was very rude and lacked all basic customer service skills. Should have seen it coming when we tried to book a table and were told we could have one but must be off the it quickly.... Food was average to be honest, didnt match the prices! A real pity as we were so looking forward to a nice meal but were left with nothing but a sour taste in our mouths. Put a real downer on the night. Needles to say i would never reccomend this place to anyone who was looking for a pleanent night

Franzini's

themunk
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th September 2010 (visited 8 August 2010)

Went here with two friends last night. We had the house wine which was amazing. I had the Spaghetti Bolognese which was delicious. The service was very good and the waiters are very friendly. The atmosphere was very lively too. Highly recommended!

Franzini's

lucylou_2002
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th August 2010 (visited 7 August 2010)

We went here while staying in Trim for my sister's Hen. I have to say we were all more than happy with every aspect of our visit. The food was amazing and excellent value for money. Everything from the home made nachos to the spare ribs for starters and from the lamb shank to the fajitas for mains were all delicious! The wine list was varied & much better value than similar in Dublin. All the staff were very friendly & the service was very attentive. All in all I would strongly recommend this venue for any group dinning. While we were 1 of 3 hen groups there that night I have to say we were all very well behaved :)

Franzini's

StephenW105
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th August 2010 (visited 1 August 2010)

I go to Franzini's every couple of months, not because I want to, my girlfriend makes me, she gets a craving for the nacho's. They recently changed their pricing to early bird all week, all day 2 courses for €20 & 3 courses for €25. The menu hasn't really changed in all the years that I've been going here and the food is very average. I understand why this resturaunt is popular, it caters for familys and people who just want to fill their stomachs and because there isn't much competition in the area. I usually go for the ribs which are tasty but the sweetcorn and baked potato that comes with the ribs has obviously been sitting in heat storage all day as it is always dried out. On the plus side I find the service very good and friendly, just a little amateurish and the wine list caters for all tastes and pockets. I just wish Franzini's would jazz up their menu and make some changes or do a few specials that change each day.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4832 ]