Relish restaurant

5 Bayview, Bettystown, Meath

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Cafe

Price Range:


63 reviews
4 stars - based on 63 reviews
Relish

dallybally
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th July 2011 (visited 7 July 2011)

Was here this morning with a family member for a birthday breakfast. Was here a few times before and whilst the food was always good, past experiences were let down by the service. This morning however, the experience was an all time low. I've only joined this site today to register my annoyance at such bad customer service. On arriving at the restaurant we were met with a very cold welcome. Having hurriedly taken our orders, despite the place only being half full, the waitress appeared some minutes later without a word and literally dropped our plates in front of us. 20 minutes later having finished out meal, which was nice, i was gobsmacked that neither of the waitresses had come to ask if it was satisfactory or if we would like something else. I went to pay at the register at this time- no 'how was your meal', simply a €21.65 bill and goodbye. However good the food may be (it's certainly good but nothing you could not rustle up at home), the restaurant management need to recognise that customer service goes a long way in creating a good dining experience. Really really dissapointing experience as if the service was a lot better, we would certainly be dining there more. Pity.

Relish

206
Meath
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th July 2011 (visited 1 July 2011)

I found relish very cramped and too warm as i have a young child it didn't work out very well. The service wasn't the best and the food was not worth the price, it was very small portions.

Relish

Seanie747
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th June 2011 (visited 3 June 2011)

was here before service put me off but was brought for my birthday recently and decided to give relish another try, so glad i did as the food service and vcalue for money was great! we went for the 3 2 1 meal on special offer and i would highly recommend it. i had the black pudding starter followed by lemon sole goujans....amazing! my fiancee T had the red pepper soup and spicy chicken for main I tasted soup and it was beautiful and a huge portion the chicken looked lovely and by all accounts tasted the same. I had the toblerone cheese cake which I found to be very luscious T had the aplle pie with apple pie ice cream which was absolutely out of this world. I cant wait to go back!!!

Relish

hungrybru
Louth
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd January 2012 (visited 6 January 2012)

We had a family night out in Relish for my mothers significant birthday. We have been to Relish on other ocassions and were always pleased. I just wanted to comment to Jackie and her staff on how wonderfully we were looked after on this recent visit. There was 15 in our group and everyone commented on the wonderful food and service. This is a little gem and its always busy with a great atmosphere and very reasonable prices. We will definetly be back.

Relish

Shineyb
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th March 2011 (visited 17 March 2011)

Came here yesterday for evening tea with 3 friends and we all came away more than satisfied. As a vegetarian it can be difficult to find good food but the Mediterranean Veg salad was delicious, as was the cadburys flake cheesecake. With an amazing view overlooking the beach the atmosphere is very relaxed, and staff were really lovely. Will definitely come back here next time I am up in Bettystown.

Relish

cassidys
Meath
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st March 2011 (visited 23 February 2011)

Love this place the staff are always very attentive and nice, allways have a good night here. The food is always top class

Relish

janielcat
Meath
104 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st October 2010 (visited 23 October 2010)

I love this Restaurant,I haven't been in awhile but it is still as good as ever.I booked a table and when we got there, I didn't like the table we were been shown to, I said it to the waitress, she was more than plesent in showing us to a different table.The menu has a good choice and it was good value for money.The service was excellent as was our food.I would highly recommend this restaurant day or night.I've had morning coffee here with their excellent homemade scones. I've had lunch here always good. If your thinking of going here for lunch or dinner you will need to book.

Relish

ladytron
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th April 2011 (visited 24 October 2010)

Having eaten here on a number of occasions we decided to return last Saturday for a Girls in the Family lunch, there was myself, my mother, my sister and her two small kids (4 & 1). We had booked a table for 2pm which was not ready when we arrived and then when it was finally ready they had no highchair even though that was specified at the time of booking so my sister had to deal with a wriggling 1 year old on her knee till one was found. We were given menus and then left for over 20 mins until we ordered, our drinks had to asked for twice before arriving, our food took a further 45 mins to arrive (2 selection of breads with "dips" which was just one dip of some olive tapenade with too much oil, not great at all. The two kids were at this stage crying because of the hunger. Our mains arrived 1.5hrs after we ordered, they were nice, tasty and good sized portions, though my crab cake was a little "wet" inside the crumb coating. We decided against getting desserts or coffees as we would have been there even longer and to be honest it was an experience I wanted to be over with as soon as possible. We were not the only complainers as I heard a man who was sitting at another table giving out about the wait to one of the waitresses. Relish does lovely food with a fabulous view but I nor anyone in my family will be returning. They need to get more staff in the kitchen or something because waiting that long for something so quick to whip up is just ridiculous, oh and we had to get up from the table to ask a waitress for cutlery AFTER our starters had been served. Needless to say, we didn't leave a tip. Such a shame as it has such good potential.

Relish

GreatGrubber
Louth
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2010 (visited 17 October 2010)

I went to this place for lunch this afternoon (Sunday) and I have never in all my life have been served so terribly. The manager / owner sat us at our table and then tried her best to completely ignore us. My boyfriend had to ask could we place our order (after 20 mins had passed) - which she didn't write down and then another 10 passed before she brought the wrong drinks and then another 5 mins before she came back to "double check" our order - which she had clearly forgotten to place. Fast forward another 30 mins to when the food came out. My boyfriends chips were cold coming out and the filo pastry tart was meant to come with brown bread - which I didn't get. After waiting so long for the food, I didn't say anything because I would still be sitting there waiting for my bread now if I had! Never have I been so rudely treated or had such terrible service. I earn decent enough money and I love to reward good service in a restaurant - I'm a big tipper. Never in my life have I left a place without leaving even a small tip - I guess today was my first. It was also my last - last time at Relish that is - if you feel like being treated as if your invisible and your custom doesn't matter, then this is the place for you!!

Restaurant response:
Hi Great Grubber, my name is Denise and I am the owner of Relish Cafe and I would like to sincerely apologise to you for your recent experience in my cafe. I am appauled at how you were traeted and have taken your comments very seriously. I would really appreciate if you would contact me at deniseatrelish@gmail.com so I can forward you a complimentary voucher so you could return to Relish and allow us to make up to you and experience Relish as it really is a very professionally run local family cafe. Kindest wishes. Regards Denise

Relish

Indiefoodie
Kildare
44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th August 2010 (visited 31 July 2010)

Myself and a number of friends visited Relish at the weekend, there were two young children with us. This restaurant is very adult and child friendly as there is an outside area out the back that allows the children to blow off steam whilst their parents can watch over them. The food and staff were also very good. Our party had starters of crab claws, deep fried courgette flowers, goats cheese salad and all were great. Main courses were also very good, portions were a good size and nice variety, fish and chips, lamb (huge portion and very good), vegetarian stir fry was not very tasty. Desserts were the highlight, we had key Lime pie, Galaxy Cheesecake, Carrot Cake and Chocolate brownie and they were all excellent, freshly made and delicious. If I lived in Bettystown this place would be my 'local'!

Relish

majella2010
Louth
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th February 2011 (visited 12 February 2011)

I have been to Relish before for an evening meal with some friends and decided to go back this time with my partner. As before, I found the menu selection to be excellent with something for all tastes. We had the antipasto to share for starter. I had the tiger prawn pasta and my partner had lamb shank. For dessert my partner had a mango and passion fruit cheesecake and I had an Irish coffee. The food was really tasty and well seasoned. The prawns in my main were really fresh and the sauces were flavorsome and had a lovely texture. The cheesecake was a light option after the main. I found that Relish had a really pleasant atmosphere and the views are stunning. The staff were welcoming, well informed and were enthusiastic at recommending dishes. I will definitely be going back to Relish and I am really eager to try their day menu. I highly recommend Relish to anyone for a taste of excellent food and service at a very reasonable price.

Relish

deneka
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th June 2010 (visited 6 June 2010)

Had to wait an hour as was full house when we arrived. Wasn’t a prob. When we were seated we had chicken Cajun burger with chips, my hubby had some kind of wrap with chicken in it and skinny chips. Our daughter had chicken goujons no chips. I thought for €8.95 hers was a bit mean as there were no chips. For dessert I had rhubarb crumble, the hubby had berry tart yum for his. Our daughter had chocolate cake. Quite spongy, not the best choc cake I’ve tasted, to much sponge. Staff were very pleasant but we had this one couple that never stopped looking at us which I thought was very rude, but the tables are very close together, still v annoying though. Cost us about €55 nice enough as a once off.

Relish

luvgoodfood
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th August 2010 (visited 8 August 2010)

Had lunch here again.Hasn't disappointed me yet Walked on the beach beforehand. What a beaufiful setting.. Very efficient friendly service.We had a window seat which was lovely.Had the house red wine at €10 which is excellent quality. We shared the salami and cheese platter for a change. Good menu choice. This place is always pretty busy which is great to see.

Relish

princessr
Meath
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st January 2010 (visited 16 January 2010)

i visited this place for lunch with 2 friends. we all had burgers which were absolutely delicious, followed by white chocolate and marshmallow cheesecake which was very enjoyable, although quite heavy. The food was excellent, however the atmosphere was not great. the restaurant tables are very close together. It was also very noisy, full of children, and quite humid and stuffy. Although it was a saturday i wouldnt expect such a crowd at 4 o clock, if i went again I would book a table

Relish

Deeee
Meath
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd August 2011 (visited 31 July 2011)

I went back here with my boyfriend for his birthday. We had reserved the window seat and I am absolutely in love with the place again. The sandwiches are absolutely gorgeous, we both had chicken sandwiches and they both had this gorgeous garlic mayo. We treated ourselves to dessert and I got the white chocolate and marshmallow cheesecake. I was gutted I couldn't finish it, it was actually the best thing I have ever tasted. I wanted to bring the rest home in a doggie bag, but couldn't summon the courage to ask. I love this place, it is definitely worth a 50 minute trip from Dunshaughlin :D

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4645 ]