Zest Cafe restaurant

Unit 6/7, Clane Shopping Centre, Clane, Kildare

View on Map

Cuisine:
Bistro

Price Range:

€€

47 reviews
4 stars - based on 47 reviews

Zest Cafe

Submit a review
Zest Cafe

kearamurphy
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th July 2011 (visited 5 July 2011)

My partner and our toddler ate lunch here on Tuesday after a lovely walkin Donadea forest, we have eaten hee many times, both for lunch and dinner and have never been disappointed by the service, and the quality of the food. In particular the wraps with salad or chips at ten euro are a lovely lunch. I had the Cajun chicken salad(special) which was fresh and light, my partner had the Hake (fish of the day) which was lovely and fresh, our two year old had the tomato and mozzarella pasta (enough to feed several children, and delicious). For dessert we had the warm chocolate pudding with coconut ice cream and the lemon tart with clotted cream, both excellent, lovely meal, friendly staff and great value.

Zest Cafe

coralross
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th May 2011 (visited 29 May 2011)

myself and my husband were lucky to stumble across this lovely bistro.We were in Clane over the weekend having secured a great value boards deal for the lovely Westgrove hotel. After arriving too early for checkin we took a walk through the village. I saw the sign for Zest. We like eating in small bistro type restaurants as opposed to franchises. We were not dissapointed. My husband had the soup which was thick and creamy, I had a club sandwhich with chicken and bacon. The decor is light and airy and the staff friendly and efficient. We enjoyed our lunch so much we went back the next day for our dinner before heading home. Again we were not dissappointed with our choices. Good portions of well prepared tasty food. If I'm ever in Clane again I would be happy to return to this lovely bistro

Zest Cafe

ca3nad
Kildare
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th March 2011 (visited 12 March 2011)

I had a great meal with my family in Zest last Sunday evening. The service was impeccable, the atmosphere was relaxed, and the food was delicious. We shared portions of the calamari and the garlic bread to start. Both were very fresh and tasty, the calamari having no chewiness that is so common in restaurants that serve the frozen stuff. The ribeye at €17, including chunky floury chips, is brilliant value. It was cooked to perfection, chargrilled on the outside, pink and juicy in the middle. My pizza was to die for. The wine list is well thought out. I cannot rate this place highly enough, and I just hope the standards are maintained for my future visits!

Zest Cafe

juliecatwoman
Cork
38 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th January 2011 (visited 3 December 2010)

I had the Char grilled venison sausages, smoked bacon, rosemary & thyme cassoulet - very elegant meal tasty also

Zest Cafe

Milli
Kildare
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 09th September 2010 (visited 4 September 2010)

We regularly sit in or order takeout and Zest has the best pizzas in Clane. Their Lamb pizza is the best and my daughter loves the chick and bacon. very polite and professional staff. Though it can take a bit long to get your takeout pizza.

Zest Cafe

top cat
Kildare
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th June 2010 (visited 8 June 2010)

We ve been coming here since it opened and Zest is highly regarded as a good local restaurant. The menu at 23 euro for three courses offers good value .The GLFs chicken dish was good while my steak was cooked as ordered. We both enjoyed the calamari starters,very tasty. The wines by the glass here offer great value and a chance to enjoy a variety of decent wines at a good price. Perhaps the skate has been too long on the menu as the fish choice but the Zest always offers great value with good service in a pleasant atmosphere.

Zest Cafe

scorpybanner
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th February 2010 (visited 2 February 2010)

Visited Zest for early evening dinner at 6pm with a friend of mine who lives in Clane. I was instantly taken by the lovely decor in the place, beautiful and relaxing without being fussy. I was also surprised by the number of people around for a Tuesday evening, and there was a steady flow of diners arriving throughout our meal. We both opted for the early bird (all evening Mon-Thurs), 3 courses for €23. As I had steak there was a €2.50 supplement which was still good value as some of the mains on regular menu were nearly that price. We both had lovely soup to start, I had the steak for mains and my friend had a really tasty duck pizza, something we'd never had on pizza before. I finished with a lovely creme brulee which was not on the set menu so I had to pay extra for it. The only thing I didn't really like was that my steak came completely covered in bearnaise sauce which was quite heavy, I'd have preferred if it came on the side and I could pour it over as much or as little myself. Overall a very pleasant evening.

Zest Cafe

dlee889
Kildare
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th December 2009 (visited 19 September 2009)

very nice restuarant, the food is good , nice wine list , service is very good and is the type of place that i will frequently visit .

Zest Cafe

The_Beetons
Meath
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th September 2009 (visited 15 September 2009)

We came across this café bar by accident after a visit to the dentists in Clane Hospital. We were looking for somewhere to eat lunch and this was conveniently located next to the central car park, so not expecting much we decided to give it a whirl. WOW! Hurrah for Zest - a café bar that gets it all RIGHT! The restaurant itself is beautifully clean, fresh and modern with an airy continental feeling. Like a Paris café. The waiting staff, in spite of being busy to the point of run of their feet, had everything well under control and the flow of the meals was timely, but at no point did you feel harrassed by them. They were mannerly, prompt, and anticipated our needs well. The food is utterly delectable. I ate the Penne Arrabiata, which the kitchen kindly adapted without fuss to remove the chili so that my young daughter could eat a portion of it, and it was delicious. For dessert I had the Pear and Almond Tart with cream. I just don’t know how to recommend this highly enough - like heaven on a plate! Seriously the best one I have ever eaten, and I have eaten many! My partner said his food was equally fresh and fabulous - he had the Home Made Vegetable Soup, the Crab Cakes and the Chocolate Cake dessert. We cannot recommend this place highly enough, it was excellent and we will certainly be eating there again. We might not even wait for our next scale and polish!!

Zest Cafe

soonas
Kildare
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th September 2009 (visited 13 September 2009)

This is a great restaurant and a regular haunt of mine. Always good value, great food and friendly service. There were two of us on the last visit. We had the tartlet and pate for starters - both excellent. Excellent pasta to follow and a delcious creme brulee to finish. A nice thing about this retaurant is it has a fine selection of sparkling, white, red and rise wines avialable by the glass - a great idea when one of you has to drive. I have been hear many times over the years and have never been disappointed

Zest Cafe

Miss Pumps
Kildare
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th August 2009 (visited 15 August 2009)

Another fantastic meal – we generally visit for on Sunday evenings early but we decided to treat ourselves this time and go the whole hog!! What a meal – we began with pea & Mint soup for himself and duck roll for me – finger licking. For mains we had sirloin steak – it arrived just as we ordered and accompanied with CRISP sugar snaps and broccoli and pomme frites. I had the pork with daphnoisse potatoes. The potatoes were awesome best I have ever tasted. It is so good to get freshly cooked veg that is not carrots and turnip! Everything is cooked freshly here and you can tell by its flavour, taste and smell. We couldn’t end the night without a taste of dessert and decided to have the lemon tart and ice cream to cleanse the palate!! It was perfect and we had a latte and cappuccino to end the evening. We also had a glass of house wine (a little expensive but it was a treat) and a bottle of table water – this was free and chilled. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our night out, the restaurant was busy and the service was very attentive and efficient. We would recommend Zest to everyone for a romantic, family or friends night out.

Zest Cafe

orcas
Kildare
35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd July 2009 (visited 21 July 2009)

ate here last night for the early bird and they had a really good selection. and very tasty. good value for money and the staff are very nice and friendly

Zest Cafe

lovestodineout
Dublin
69 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th January 2011 (visited 17 January 2011)

Went to Zest for lunch on Monday and had a lovely meal. I had the chef's special which was a delicious pasta dish and my partner had the goats cheese salad with a side order of gorgeous spicy wedges. Had the pear and almond tart with two lovely hot coffees for desert all of which were delicious. This place is very good value and the food is excellent. My only compliant would be the grumpy waitress, she obviously doesnt like Mondays!!!!!! but we will return for the lovely food.

Zest Cafe

heywood100
Kildare
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th July 2009 (visited 29 July 2009)

There again last night but this time for a take-away. Super super food. Caesar salad, Greek salad, carbonara Italian potatoes, banoffi. good service, yummie Food: Great for the price Atmosphere: Top Marks Service: Poor BUT. I had a really bad customer service issue here and raised it with the owner. He dealt with it expertly. So overall a B Value: Very good I will go

Zest Cafe

queenoftara

22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th May 2009 (visited 20 April 2009)

I have only eaten here once for lunch and I have to say it was lovely. the food was so fresh and tasty. I had a lovely salad and the others had pasta and club sandwich, all of which seemed nice. Can't wait to try it for dinner!

Copyright © 2021 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.7704 ]