The Ballymore Inn restaurant

Main Street, Ballymore Eustace, Kildare

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:

€€

47 reviews
4 stars - based on 47 reviews

The Ballymore Inn

Submit a review
The Ballymore Inn

ava
Wicklow
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th September 2009 (visited 12 September 2009)

after hearing about ballymore inns' inclusion in the michelin guide, we had to go see what all the fuss was about.the attentive staff directed us towards a table by the fire, where i had the (fresh)fish and he had the beef casserole.currently my boyfriend refuses to eat anywhere else. thank you, ballymore inn.

The Ballymore Inn

theresaflyinmysoup
Kildare
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th June 2009 (visited 16 May 2009)

I ate in the back bar of the ballymore inn recently and really enjoyed it. The fish and chips was delicious! The staff were really attentive and friendly and i found the meal to be good value for money. I'll definately be eating there again.

The Ballymore Inn

willw
Dublin
65 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th June 2009 (visited 15 June 2009)

I had lunch here this week, and it was my first time. I had heard that it was a bit on the expensive side, especially the dinner menu. I found the place to be very nice, very attentive staff. Food prices were between 10 and 20 euro. I had the Penang Curry which was amazing, my girlfriend had the Baked Ham sandwich. With fries, a coke and a glass of win it came to 40 euro. I was impressed. I really couldnt fault the place and look forward to returning. A great spot.

The Ballymore Inn

Hungry Horse
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th May 2009 (visited 18 May 2009)

Where do i start? Firstly I heard this pub won best country pub for food so I went on their home page and found directions which said at the end "If you cant find us ring us and we'll give you directions over the phone" An hour in the car twenty phone calls later they never answered. Arrived in to a cold and echoed room.and heard the bar phone ringing,,, they didn't answer that either! Chicken wings for starters €11.95.... What?? My medallions were beautiful, but at €29.95 they ought to be! My girlfriends lamb casserole.. uneventful but OK! Glass of Rioja = €6.95, but when the bill arrived it had jumped to €7.25. Homemade choc and hazel nut cake (8 bloody 50) was dry and badly presented.The whole package was Absolutely Average!!!! All the way through our meal three girls dominated the lounge with their phone conversations bouncing from wall to wall. This establishment need to wake up and smell the coffee!!! Prices are ridiculous. Best country pub??? Hmmmm!!!!! Wont fall for that one again!! Makes you wonder who the hell these people are that are rating these places. BUYER BEWARE!!

The Ballymore Inn

aingealban
Wicklow
49 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th April 2010 (visited 25 April 2010)

We had Sunday lunch here. We didn't have a reservation but were seated straight away, as always, the service here is terrific. I started with the Hommus, delicious and my partner had a huge bowl of chicken wings. I had the chicken curry for main (very tasty but huge so I could not finish) and my partner had the beef which he raved about. We couldn't manage dessert but two glasses of wine finished a lovely meal. Not the cheapest place to eat but the quality and service makes me go back every time!

The Ballymore Inn

ou812
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th December 2008 (visited 29 November 2008)

It was my first time back here since they changed it from a small country pub where the lounge served as a restaurant into a super pub & restaurant. The bar is enormous and I wonder how there could be any atmosphere there during the week but on a Saturday night it was full. Lots of people eating and it looked very good and is apparently very good value. We ate in the Restaurant which is out front of the building. Prices are well up there with anything you pay in central Dublin. Portions were huge and the quality was good. My main complaint with this restaurant is the noise level. It was full when we ate there and I could not hear anything the other people were saying at my table. It's undoubtaly the worst restaurant I have ever been in from a noise point of view. For that reason I would not go back. Who wants to spend their night out shouting or lip reading.

The Ballymore Inn

Malok
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th September 2008 (visited 6 September 2008)

I was really looking forward to going for a lovely hearty lunch here on a wintry-type Saturday afternoon. It was our first time, and we both heard it was great. First off, the place lacks any sort of atmosphere and ambience. The menu was a huge disappointment. It's not the one that is advertised on this site. The menu didn't know whether it was Irish, Thai or Italian. It was limited and heavy-handed - somebody is trying to be too clever with it. We had hoped for good country fare sort of food. In the end, we decided not to get up and leave as we were both stuck on what to order - so we just got the starter Kildare sandwich, which was good, but nothing special. Very dissappointing.

The Ballymore Inn

Desiree
Kildare
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st July 2008 (visited 16 May 2008)

Invited here one evening. Group function. Lovely venue. No need for starters, tho hard to resist. The food is fabulous, the pizza's are fabulous. No complaints about this restaurant. Service, staff athmospehere, decor and menu superb. Could eat 24/7 here!

The Ballymore Inn

Brennanstown
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th May 2008 (visited 17 May 2008)

I recently ate in the Ballymore Inn Bar with my family. The staff couldn't have been more helpful & the food was superb. While it seems to be a very busy place the atmosphere was very relaxing & we could have sat there all day. We shared a starter of Chicken wings which where the nicest I have ever tasted. We all had different main courses, battered fish, Pizza & the beef special. All mains were gorgeous. Unfortunately there was no room left for dessert but it will be a mission for a future date as we will definately be back.

The Ballymore Inn

River

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th May 2008 (visited 10 May 2008)

I ate here for the first time last weekend and having only ever heard good reviews I was expecting great things - I was not disappointed. The food, service and atmosphere were excellent and it wasn't as expensive as I had expected either - 2 starters and main courses, 1 dessert, a half bottle of wine and a few beers came to €140 including tip. Next time I go (and I definitely will go again) I'll skip the starter as they are enormous. I had the chicken wings which were a bit dry but I'm a big fan of Elephant and Castle wings so I always find that wings anywhere else pale in comparison. I highly recommend the chocolate cake for dessert - even if you're really stuffed you'll find a way to fit it in!

The Ballymore Inn

Matsugawa

19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th May 2008 (visited 4 May 2008)

A lovely spot, well know to locals I suspect and great for big groups. It looks like a pub out front but inside it's laid out in big tables in with booth-like partitions. We skipped the starters after being warned that they were huge. We all ordered drinks and mains and they were very quick, arriving in quick succession. Most of us had the specials which I'm told never change either. Service was friendly, food was very tasty - for the standard the price was right. Would go again,

The Ballymore Inn

deamon

5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd April 2008 (visited 18 April 2008)

I love the Ballymore Inn because it puts Dublin restaurants at this level to shame. Its located in a lovely quiet village, its always fairly busy even during the week which adds to the atmosphere. Roaring fires, cosy seating with immaculate decor make the Ballymore quite an amazing experience. The food is excellent & I would recommend everything on the menu. The beer is cold & the wine list is well chosen. Great service with a smile. The back bar part is also v-good. My onlu gripe - Prices up front are too high.

The Ballymore Inn

folate
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 07th April 2008 (visited 5 April 2008)

This place is good, no doubt about it, but I have a few reservations. Most importantly, I thought that it was expensive. My fillet steak was superb, but cost 35.50 Euro. The chicken wings starter was reasonably priced, I suppose, at 10.95 Euro, but only because it was so big. With 14 pieces it would easily have done for two persons, and would have been better with 7 pieces for 5.50 Euro. And they tasted a bit ordinary. The desserts were around 9 Euro each and were OK. But with one round of starter drinks, only two starters, one bottle and one glass of wine, and no coffee, the bill came to 230.65 Euro for four without tip. Service was excellent, with a friendly, helpful and pleasant Polish waitress.

The Ballymore Inn

jrdublin
Wicklow
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th March 2008 (visited 26 March 2008)

This is a lovely little place in Ballymore. Would definitely highly recommend it to anyone. The food was amazing although the service was a bit slow at times...

The Ballymore Inn

HungryRebel

12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th January 2008 (visited 16 January 2008)

Have eaten here twice now and the experience of neither visit can be faulted. Having eaten lunch in the restaurant some time ago, this time around we decided to try dinner in the back bar. Whilst waiting for starters we tucked in to the breads (2 types) which came with butter and a moreish dipping oil. The root veg soup was tasty & filling whilst my black & white pudding (3 pieces served as a roulade and served with dressing of apple and lardons and accompanied by a fig chutney and lightly dressed salad leaves) was fabulous. I don't say this too often but it was probably too large and would be perfect for sharing or on its own if not in the mood for a full main course. This made finishing my main of beef casserole (special of the day) a struggle, especially considering that they didn't skimp on the beef and it was very tasty. My girlfriend had the sausages & mash which couldn't be faulted and again it was a huge portion. Unfortunately, we were both too full to try the desserts. Service throughout was efficient and very friendly and even though it was meant to be bar food, the reality is that the whole package was far above the average quality of restaurants in a similar price range. The restaurant menu in the front is far more expensive but based on past experience here I'm looking forward to trying it.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4849 ]