The Ballymore Inn restaurant

Main Street, Ballymore Eustace, Kildare

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:

€€

47 reviews
4 stars - based on 47 reviews

The Ballymore Inn

Submit a review
The Ballymore Inn

Oggie OBE
Cork
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st September 2010 (visited 16 September 2010)

I visited this restaurant as one of a golfing group, and my experience fell far short of the expectations I had after reading online accreditations. My chicken liver pate was frozen. However my big disappointment was in the 28 days dry-aged sirloin steak, which I chose over the fillet. A big mistake, as it was a tough a steak as I ever tasted,and aged far less than 28 days I would suspect, a view shared by two others at my table of 10 diners. I was further disappointed by the lack of interest expressed by the waiter to whom I complained. He just collected my plate and moved on ! A night out spoiled !

The Ballymore Inn

count
Kildare
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th July 2010 (visited 13 July 2010)

came here with a few friends, it was early in the week and we didnt have a table booked, we walked into a restaurant that was almost full and the back bar was very busy too, so we sat down at a table in the restaurant and water and homemade bread arrived soon afterwards, the food was lovely, the service was good, there was no delays and everything came out in good time, the bill came to 119.00 euro for three starters, three main courses, three desserts, three coffees and two glasses of wine, it was very good value and we will be returning.

The Ballymore Inn

DineOut
Kildare
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th July 2010 (visited 9 June 2010)

Not sure if I can believe all the hype and the awards about this place anymore as it seems to be slipping a little bit. Went there with my girlfriend, food was okay but not up to the levels that some people had told me. It was quite nice but wasnt overly gone on my Thai Green Seafood Curry, ordered it to see how it was going to come out and taste as I thought the chef at the Ballymore would be able to make the dish work, but the curry overpowered the taste of the fish and kinda knew this was going to happen. Girlfriend had the risotto which was okay but not Ballymore Inn standard. I am not sure that I have too high expectations of the place but was very disappointed with the experience after gearing myself up for it. Will def be back to try again but a slight bit more hesistant now than before. Value for money is still an issue, but they can get the money in with the clientle they have.

The Ballymore Inn

ChocolateRoulade
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th July 2010 (visited 18 July 2010)

I visited Ballymore this afternoon, having not been there for 18 months or so. I couldnt believe how quiet it was, given the fact that we had always struggled to get a table here without a reservation some two years ago. There was only ourselves and one other table. Once I read the menu, I understood why. A main course is €22.50 with supplements of €6.50 for steaks and similar. They offer two courses for €28. In the context of the value that is being offered around Dublin 2 these days, this is exorbitant. I ordered the beef stir fry, which was fantastic - really tasty and so enjoyable, That said, most Chinese restaurants would deliver similar for less than €15. €22.50 is just too much for a casual main course on a Sunday evening in what is the annex of a pub in the middle of nowhere. While I really enjoyed it, I wont be back in a hurry. As we left there were a maximum of five tables busy - I am sure that Ballymore could recreate the atmosphere of the past by cutting their prices by a couple of euro. Its happened across the city - perhaps its taking its time travelling out to the plains of Kildare!

The Ballymore Inn

Indiefoodie
Kildare
44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th July 2010 (visited 10 July 2010)

This is still my favourite restaurant, the service is the reason I return and everytime the staff seem to be just ahead of me when I need something. Today we decided to go for their much price reduced set evening menu, two courses for €28, my husband went with the cod on a fennel stirfry and I was offered an extensive menu as I didn't wish to have the risotto on the set menu. I had a goats cheese omelette that was really good although it needed a side salad as it was just an omelette on a plate! They always bring a badket of homemade bread with their great dip to start. Desserts are always great, we had their wonderful homemade ice cream and New York Cheesecake. The wine list is good also although expensive for the times we are in. Staff are friendly, courteous and go out of their way to ensure you have everything when you need it. With sides, wine and charged for two set menus (even though I didn't select from the set menu) the total was €94 - a treat - so it was worth it.

The Ballymore Inn

yummys
Wicklow
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th July 2010 (visited 14 May 2010)

Am a bit of a regular just love this place. Its massively overpriced (although prices have dropped lately) and the service sometimes leaves a lot to be desired but there is a gerat atmosphere and the food never fails to excite. It is a bit of a treat... always nice to get a voucher as a gift!

The Ballymore Inn

AngusY
Kildare
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st June 2010 (visited 1 June 2010)

Stopped by for lunch in one of our favourite restaurants. We've been going every two to three weeks for years and yet to have a bad meal. As normal service was excellent and attentive. The star dish was super fresh Duncannon Cod with a mustard and shallot cream accompanied by grilled aubergine. My burger was fine if a little overcooked but still and excellent dish. We had one shared dessert of a rhubarb and plum tart which was scrumptious. This restaurant is well worth a detour for those who have not yet visited. The artwork is worth a browse but the food is always excellent.

The Ballymore Inn

Hells Bells
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th May 2010 (visited 16 May 2010)

First trip to the Ballymore Inn yesterday after a recommendation from a friend. Arrived around 1.30pm and was totally surprised by how busy it was (what recession). Could eat in the restaurant or bar and chose the bar at the back of the building as we wanted a lazy sunday reading the papers. We were lucky to get a table straight away as the bar filled up pretty quick after we arrived.We got some water delivered straight away to the table (didn't even have to ask). My partner is a fussy eater so we grilled the well informed waitress about sauce ingredients etc. and she was brilliant. She recommended the chicken wings which were just addictive and my partner had the roast sirloin cooked whatever way he wanted and I had the avocado sald with chicken and it was just tasty tasty tasty. Didn't have dessert but had some cappuccino's and were very impressed with the service, price and the great atmosphere. What a find, we'll be back next Sunday, bringing the kids with us this time.

The Ballymore Inn

smallbogger
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th May 2010 (visited 17 April 2010)

It was good, friendly and terrific service. And very good menu with plenty choice. There was very busy when we visited that weekend but all the service was still well-organized. So I felt very good and thought it was worth for the expense. Fully recommended.

The Ballymore Inn

PUMPKIN
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd May 2010 (visited 3 May 2010)

Had lunch here today. Its expensive and overall we were not impressed with the place at all. I'll tell you why and if you can follow me fair play to you because its like a 3 card trick! We were given a set menu and an a la carte menu. Items on the set menu advertised as 2 courses for 24.95 were also on the a la carte but the set menu worked out more expensive. My main course was on both menus and dessert came on a seperate menu. The bill came with my main course charged at 19.90 (not advertised but they said that is what they charge if they decide to take it off the set menu). I was charged 5.00 euro for the dessert. I have no idea where this price came from, not advertised anywhere and all desserts on dessert menu are 6.50. So my lunch should have been 22.40 but they were charging me 24.90 euro. We queried the bill and the waitress went bright red in the face. I felt for her because I too would be embarassed having to present someone with something I couldn't explain. Someone else came with a revised bill and apologised not for over charging us but for the delay in sorting the bill. Again I pointed out the discrepency and the girl kept saying"I understand" So I asked her what they were going to do about it. She said they would have to do something and she would talk to the Manager and have him call me. I would love to know the logic but really see it as a very cheap shot to over charge customers. We had no alcohol with our meal so copped it. I have just checked their web site and they have the set menu advertised as 2 courses at 18.50 euro. Far from happy with this place and very annoyed overall.

The Ballymore Inn

eddievedder

4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th December 2009 (visited 28 November 2009)

my latest dining experience brought me to the ballymore inn.i didn t know what to expect but i arrived in the middle of a rugby match.my wife was not overjoyed but the kids had a pizza and i had the best burger and mash i ever had.whats more we won the game.back for the next match.

The Ballymore Inn

stripes
Wicklow
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th December 2009 (visited 6 December 2009)

Myself n my Partner ate in the Bar, we were greeted straight away n the young waiter was extremely friendly n polite. We were given menus n water n ordered 2 Chicken soups,it was a very busy evening so we expected to b waiting a while but our starters came quickly.We were commenting on the price of the soup n were egar to see if it was gon to be worth the price, it proved delicious n extremely filling. For Mains i ordered Chicken Caesar salad (€3.50 extra for chicken), i enjoyed it n certainly the dressing was homemade as it was full of flavour. The special was Beef curry,with warm Naan bread n cucumber yoghurt,this went down a treat. We didnt go for dessert as we were extremely full n the prices @ €8.50 wouldnt encourage us. Our bill came to just over €50 with drinks included,so i feel it was a perfect way to end a hectic day shopping.We will be back.

The Ballymore Inn

Humpty McDumpty
Kildare
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th December 2009 (visited 13 November 2009)

I would like to second the opinion of the below reviewer (before both of our reviews mysteriously disappear). The Ballymore Inn has been coasting on its reputation for quite some time. Having friends in the right places - I'm looking at you G.Campbell - has done wonders for this place. Granted being located in a culinary black hole has made The Ballymore Inn stand out from its competition; but how they see fit to charge such exorbitant prices is bemusing to say the least. I ate in the restaurant part and the food, service and atmosphere were all perfectly reasonable but in no way justified the "fine dining" price tag. I also noted that on my last visit this place wasn't nearly as busy as I remember it on previous visits over the years. Perhaps the public have finally figured that The Emperor isn't wearing any clothes?

The Ballymore Inn

pkav1
Wicklow
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st December 2009 (visited 14 November 2009)

Heard about this ''Great!!'' place on the grape vine, sorry to say but this is a big communty hall style cafe/bar which in my opinion is ridiculously over priced. Obviosly stressed out staff because the girl who pounced on us as we walked through the door looked like she had the weight of the world on her shoulders and led us do a dismal central table, we felt like horses in a parade ring. We shared a large wings to start, tasty but hey whats not tasty as a starter at nearly €12.00, i had a ceasar salad at 14.50 husband had a burger and €2.00 worth of cheadar cheese (extra topping) so at that was almost €18.00 and was below average in his opinion. I did try his burger and it wasnt any better than any fast food resturant if anything very dry. Overall the chips were tasty but in the end there just chips and were not worth €4.50 and at 8.50 for dessert we declined because from what we could see they didnt look like €8.50, more like, maybe €5 at most. To finish off its a pub that does food and thats about as good as it gets, had better for a lot, lot less with better service.Way overated. P.s please take note of the the postive reviews as they are very repetitive and are obviously fakes.

The Ballymore Inn

SeamieOliver
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th September 2009 (visited 18 September 2009)

Was just in the Ballymore Inn for dinner at the weekend. The food was up to its usual best, as was the service. What really impressed me this time was the value for money with a new "Autumn Dinner Menu", 2 courses for about 24euro and 3 courses(if you had room) for around 29euro. We shared a starter, I had a Beef Stir Fry and my partner had the Risotto, and shared a dessert. Having 2 courses each it all comes to under 50euro, which really is good value. Also you are gauranteed where all the meat and produce is sourced.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4669 ]