The Malt House restaurant

Old Malt Mall, High Street, Galway City, Galway

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Cheap Eats

Price Range:


25 reviews
3 stars - based on 25 reviews

The Malt House

Submit a review
The Malt House

shineytara
Galway
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th December 2008 (visited 16 December 2008)

I ate here earlier in the week. We arrived at one and were told the wait would be over half an hour. By the time we returned it had settled down, so I'd advise to come after 2! I got the soup, which was small but delicious and my friend got the falafel, which was a good size and very tasty. We then got two desserts. The helpings were very generous and smothered in brandy custard, the mince pies, and cream, a peacan pie. This was washed down with a pot of tea. The waitress was friendly and so attentive. We were in no rush to leave our cosy little corner table.

The Malt House

Nicolamp
Galway
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th October 2008 (visited 27 October 2008)

I visited here a few weeks ago, I won't make the same mistake anytime soon. The portions were small, the prices too high, the food just ok & the service argumentative. I asked about a dessert that came sprinkled with black pepper, I asked that they leave off the pepper from mine. Not so! I gave up after 5 mins of the waitress insisting that the 'pepper brings out the flavour', I don't care!!!! I'm paying for what I like! The tables are too close together, that & charging for bread / veg looks greedy.

The Malt House

bobsalot
Dublin
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th October 2008 (visited 9 August 2008)

We booked here early for a saturday evening meal because we were given a voucher for the restaurant. We both thought the food did not match the price that the restaurant was charging. Mains were between 20-30 euro and on the menu the dishes sounded amazing but in reality they were very plain and small portioned. Nice interior and atmosphere inside though.

The Malt House

jackanorrey2008
Galway
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th September 2008 (visited 20 March 2008)

went with my wife one day. firstly some of the staff are idiots as we were seated near the front and there was a load new york ladies speaking and we quietly asked the lady if we could move. she moved us in the back and then when the load new york ladies table was ready she put her right behind us. then you have to pay extra for your potatoes and veg also is separate. That's E7 before you even get your meat. it was pricey. however it was nice to try pheasant as not many places have it.

The Malt House

tat
Galway
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th August 2008 (visited 12 August 2008)

Nice Restaurant, but high prices. The food is good but very small Portions.

The Malt House

Galway_foodie
Galway
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th August 2008 (visited 5 June 2008)

I ate here with my girlfriend about 6 weeks ago. We were looking forward to trying out their new menu. We were already fans of the old menu so thought that this change would be exciting. Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly maitre d'/manager. I noticed a cleverly placed "recent" review from Tom Dorley in the waiting area. I like the emphasis on local/organic where possible. I get the impression the same designer who works for The Kings Head had a hand in designing the menu/brand. While it was a relatively enjoyable experience we found that the portion sizes had shrunk considerably and the prices had increased. We also felt that the additional charge for bread left a bad taste in our mouths. The menu is brave eg Chocolate torte with chili but well executed but at €160ish for 2 starters/2 mains/2 desserts & wine we felt it was pricey. The service is a little cold and the atmosphere was lacking. I will be back though

The Malt House

Cathyj
Dublin
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th August 2008 (visited 28 July 2008)

Excellent home made, fresh Irish food. I was here on a Monday night and it was packed with a great atmosphere. We were entertaining a foreign guest and this restaurant was a fine example of good Irish food. All the basics put together really well. The service was prompt and efficient, all round it was a great night.

The Malt House

wicklowman
Wicklow
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st July 2008 (visited 16 July 2008)

Nevermind the last guy. The makeover is amazing. Love the food and the staff are top dollar. Well worth a visit any day

The Malt House

Eloise
Galway
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd July 2008 (visited 7 June 2008)

Readers should be aware that the Malt House underwent a very significant overhaul of both the premises and the menu in May 2008. The decor is greatly improved and modernized and the main dining room no longer looks like your grannies house circa 1979. The menu has changed beyond all recognition, whether for the better or not is open to debate. It is now a very short, one page affair compared to the much longer previous version. There is very little fish/seafood on offer now whereas the restaurant used to be quite well known for its fish dishes. They are placing a big emphasis now on good quality/organic produce which is to be commended. However, should you think that the prices have been pared down to match the Spartan decor and menu you would be very much mistaken. One standout thing that I find particularly objectionable is that there is now a €3 charge for the same bread they used to serve gratis. It feels extremely penny-pinching on the part of the restaurant to do this and seriously devalues the customer experience in my view. To use an American expression, you get the feeling you are being 'nickel and dimed'. They have also discontinued their Early Bird menu which, at €25 for two courses and a glass of wine was at the higher end of the early-bird price scale compared to other restaurants but worth it in my book. Personally I object to paying high Malt House prices for a quick pre-theatre dinner when, let's face it, you are dining in a fairly empty dining room without much atmosphere. When I ate there recently before going to a show and while I enjoyed the food I left feeling quite ripped off and the experience as a whole left a bitter taste in my mouth. I should mention that the portion sizes tend towards the small, my crab toasty starter was certainly reminiscent of nouvelle cuisine. I should say at this point that I do spend a lot on eating out very frequently and have no problem with paying high prices as long as I feel I am getting value for money.

The Malt House

COGsie

5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th March 2008 (visited 9 February 2008)

Excellent menu, both food and wine. Choice and quality supreme. As you may have guessed I was blown away by this place on my first visit. Found it be accident but I can guarantee will be a repeat customer on my next voyage to Galway. Highly recommended/

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4669 ]