Kirwans Lane restaurant

Kirwans Lane, Galway City, Galway

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€€€

18 reviews
4 stars - based on 18 reviews

Kirwans Lane

Submit a review
Kirwans Lane

celestine32479807
Galway
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 29th December 2017 (visited 29 December 2017)

Always our first choice - menu is excellent and suits every taste - great value,wide choice, excellent value - service top class nJust love this place nnSome tables can be a. It noisy

Kirwans Lane

Foodie100
Dublin
73 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd December 2014 (visited 26 November 2014)

I dined here with US clients, it was unusual in that they brought their 15 year daughter with them so I was a little apprehensive that the menu might not suit. I needn't have worried, the menu catered easily for all. I had the crab claws followed by the plaice. both extremely tasty, the plaice in particular was perfectly cooked. My only criticism would be that for the cost there could be a few more claws on the plate. the wine was lovely, the service was excellent. all in all a great night and a real showcase for good Irish hospitality.

Kirwans Lane

DavidKatie
Wicklow
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th September 2014 (visited 19 September 2014)

My wife and I went here and had fantastic meal. We had sharing with large of Steams Connemara Mussels (with lemongrass, coriander and curry coconut cream) . As find it looked beautiful taste of lemongrass, coriander and curry coconut cream like soup after eat mussel. Then we got same main course as Linguine of fresh Langoustine and clam (with red chill, garlic and lemon. It was fantastic. The atmosphere was really excellent. We would come back again.

Kirwans Lane

Siobhanio
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th April 2011 (visited 28 April 2011)

Popped over to Galway for the Easter break and decided to try out Kirwan's Lane for a nice dinner before heading back east. When I made the reservation that morning, I was old there was only 1 table left - a good sign I thought. Upon arriving, we were greeted by a very friendly waitress and shown to a lovely table. After having a look at the menu and deciding what I was having, we were told the lobster was off the menu, the restaurant just wasn't available to buy it seemingly? Our wine selection wasn't available either. Down to business, I ordered the crab cocktail and the Scallops with hazelnuts and cauliflower purée. Himself had mushrooms on toast and the sea bass. When the starters arrived, my crab cocktail had morphed into prawn cocktail. I advised the maitre d, who made a face and took it away. Not the best service I've had recently. The rest of the meal passed without incident and it was acceptable, but not outstanding. Nice enough, but not the best value I've had recently.

Kirwans Lane

fragelrock
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th January 2011 (visited 31 December 2010)

Myself and my boyfriend went here for New Years Eve dinner. We were shown to our table straight away and thought the service was great through out the whole meal. My only problem was the vegeterian options, there were not any on the menu but the waitress said they could adapt some pasta dish for me. I was dissapointed with this and ended up having the cod. I usually dont eat fish, but thought I would give it a go, it was fine. Boyfriend had the chowder, which he thought was great and he had the pheasant for mains. Dessert was great, lemon tart and a chocolate moose. We had 2 bottles of a house NZ reisling, really good. Overall service was excellent, price was ok, vegeterian options improved id definitely be back.

Kirwans Lane

Hen
Dublin
36 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:60%

Reviewed 20th August 2010 (visited 4 August 2010)

Really tasty food. The best Chicken Salad ever.All meals enjoyed by all 5 of us.

Kirwans Lane

kellyc38
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th August 2010 (visited 26 June 2010)

Wwas here for a function, so there was a set menu organised. Menu had great choice, I had the porkbelly to start and the seabass for main, both were delicious. Everybody seemed to enjoy there meal, service was excellent.

Kirwans Lane

The Guinea Pigs
Cork
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th May 2010 (visited 8 May 2010)

Yes the food is excellent in this restaurant, but thats about it for this place. Is to expensive for the portions you are getting. Especially when you have to pay extra for your potatoes and veg - and you will need to order the sides. Service was not good enough for us. Kindly took our coats but we had to search for them ourselves when leaving. Also, no-one checked on us during the meal. Athmosphere was somewhat subdued. Worth it for the high quality food / menu, but let themselves down badly in value for money and overall eating out experience the customer gets. If they want to charge the prices they do, then good food alone is'nt enough.

Kirwans Lane

groovynana
Dublin
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:57%

Reviewed 22nd February 2010 (visited 14 February 2010)

Went here for dinner on Valentines night and had a lovely table in the corner downstairs. The service was excellent and the menu was varied in terms of choice of food and the prices. Thought some of the dished were a bit overpriced but we choose carefully and this was reflected in our final bill which could have been very high had we picked different dishes. While we stuck to the cheaper end of the food and wine menu, we were absolutely delighted with all of our food and wine. This restaurant offers delicious food above the standard found in most restaurants. This was actually our 2nd visit here and we will be visiting again anytime we are in Galway.

Kirwans Lane

Foodie 24
Galway
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th August 2009 (visited 24 July 2009)

We ate here for lunch during the Arts Festival and were able to dine "al fresco". As the other comments on this site have already mentioned Kirwan's Lane is one of the best restaurants in town. The Food, wine and service are consistantly excellent and there are always a wide selection of specials to choose from to keep the regulars interested.

Kirwans Lane

JJBURNS
Galway
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th April 2009 (visited 4 April 2009)

We have been eating at Kirwins since it first opened and have celebrated our wedding anniversary at this restaurant ever since. Kirwins Lane is our favorite restaurant. Everything about it is what we look for in a restaurant, that is, just the right level of informality, delicious, beautifully prepared food, friendly, efficient staff, and a friendly owner that knows when to turn off Kenny G.

Kirwans Lane

Dinnerking
Wicklow
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th December 2008 (visited 29 November 2008)

Surprised to see the reviews on this restaurant - went there on Saturday night and I would consider it one of the best dining out experiences yet! The atmosphere was good, service good (although slightly slow) but it was the food that really got me, delicious monkfish & venison - would highly recommend Kirwans Lane!

Kirwans Lane

Kiynz
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th May 2008 (visited 25 May 2008)

We visited this restuarant anticipating a fabulous end to a wonderful trip in Galway. Unfortunately, although the food was well presented the quality was not as impressive. Staff were friendly and helpful, attentive until it came to the bill and this is where our experience was soured. I dont know whether it was a misunderstanding but the staff kept insisting we needed to include the service charge (something we had not disputed - we were splitting the bill unequally and just wanted to explain this to staff). It really put a horrid end to what should have been a great final night.

Kirwans Lane

orl
Dublin
74 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th April 2008 (visited 22 April 2008)

It is worth visiting Kirwan's Lane for the mash. I'm from Galway and it's where i recommend for visitors. There is always a nice buzzy atmosphere and it has a wide-ranging menu. I think the food is good too.

Kirwans Lane

Dev

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th February 2008 (visited 9 February 2008)

I've been here twice. The first time I thought it was poor but decided to try it a few months later and again was disappointed. The ravioli was hard and the veal full of fat. Very poor selection of desserts. Extremely over-priced and average food.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4568 ]