Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

28 Upr Abbeygate Street, Galway City, Galway

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€€

30 reviews
3 stars - based on 30 reviews

Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

Submit a review
Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

littlepace
Dublin
46 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th August 2010 (visited 31 July 2010)

We were walking around the streets in Galway and looking for a nice place to eat. Didn’t really know what we were looking just that it would be a bit nicer. I have to say it was very clever of Cookes to put out their menu on the street as it was what was on the menu that caught my eye and we ended up going in. This was exactly what we were looking for a Saturday night. The atmosphere is different, this old kind of French style and very cozy. Loved the detail in there. The staff are casual, friendly and professional. The food in there was really tasty and you do get what you pay for. I love fish so had fishcakes to start with, really nice. Monkfish and scallop main course which was just amazing. Then apple and strawberry crumple for dessert and coffee. Had a brilliant night in here.

Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

Magsy
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th May 2010 (visited 1 May 2010)

Like a previous reviewer, I felt that Cooke's so-called reputation of excellence belonged to a time long past. We arrived in on Saturday evening expecting a menu rich with choice - given its website menu listings. But on arrival we were handed a shorter and more simplified version of the menu. My partner asked our waiter (who was absolutely lovely throughout and was this restaurant's saving grace) told us that website hadn't been updated in years. The wine menu that arrived had scribbles on the page and the food menus were a tad shoddy. The restaurant itself is old but quite charming although one of our chairs was on the verge of falling apart. The food was okay. Mussels and crab claw starters were tasty but nothing spectacular. We had the same main - monkfish and scallops for a staggering 27 euro. We were expecting great things. I asked if I could have mine without mash but he said it was served that way. I shouldn't have thought it would be too much of a deal to leave the mash out and just serve the seafood but there you go. The dish arrived and the seafood was lovely - very fresh. Sadly, the bed of mash it sat detracted from the taste and texture of the fish. It spilled out all over the plate and I ended up trying to shovel it over to one side. We didn't bother with desserts after that. We did have a lovely red wine and our waiter was a great guy. But I left Cooke's feeling slightly cheated - our meal cost 108 euros and it wasn't even worth half that price. I won't be back...

Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

Western
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th March 2010 (visited 9 January 2010)

Avoid this restaurant if possible! This restaurant would generally have a good name around Galway but it must have earned it some time ago, went there with friends for dinner, from the outset service was bad, cold and abrupt when we arrived and went down hill from there. Food was bland and expensive, bf got burnt chicken cesaer salad for starters. Not very accomodating, when asked for chips with steak, was told steak was served with potatoes and could not be changed but could order chips as extra, just a bit of rip off to be honest. Service was so bad, when ordering desert staff came back and said that they only had 1 desert left of what we had ordered, didn't offer an alternative, left my friend without spoon and we could not get staffs attention. When we complained it fell on deaf ears, staff didn't seem to care, was really bad experience I have to say and expensive for the bland food and appaling service. Best avoided!

Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

itchyfoot
Galway
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th October 2009 (visited 1 September 2009)

Went there for meal with 2 girl friends to catch up. All 3 of us were disappointed with the limited menu and were served very bland food indeed. The restaurant looks lovely from the outside but other than that cant think of any positives.

Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

pamjenks
Galway
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th May 2009 (visited 21 August 2008)

Went here for a anniversary dinner. We were very dissapointed by the food, My husband was very impressed by his pint of Erdinger beer. The menu was uninspiring, the food was bland and the 'roasted' potatoes seemed to have been heated in the microwave. Will not visit again.

Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

shinthornton
Galway
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd March 2009 (visited 3 March 2009)

Went to Cookes for a romantic dinner with my husband. Looked lovely on the website, but when we got there the place was cold despite being full of people. Found the menu to be very limited and not at all what I was expecting. Staff were very polite and friendly.

Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

watsons
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th February 2009 (visited 14 February 2009)

Went to Cookes for Valentines dinner. Looked lovely on the website, but when we got there, they had a set Valentines menu. No other choice. was €40 a head. Portions were tiny, desert would not have fed a mouse. Very very disappointing. Left feeling like we had been ripped off..

Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

emer8pi
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th November 2008 (visited 7 November 2008)

My partner and I went to Cookes for dinner recently. I actually thought that the menu was somewhat limited and overpriced. To be honest, there were more tempting options on for starters than for mains. Promises of chilli and honey flavoured sauces were false as the flavours didn't come through whatsoever. Very disappointed. I cannot understand why any chef that wants to be taken seriously, would put a red thai curry dish, or a beef stir fried noodles dish on the menu, when the restaurant isn't specialising in Asian food... On the flip side, the staff were efficient; no faults there. But overall; lacking in taste!

Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

CarlaUi
Louth
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th October 2008 (visited 4 October 2008)

We went there last Saturday night for my friends Birthday. The food was bland and a little over priced. Avoid the noodle dish at all costs stick to the steak or meat but it'll come the 'Irish' way so ask for it rare. BUT the staff were wonderful!! A truly spectacular night to remember.

Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

itzacharlie
Monaghan
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th May 2008 (visited 7 May 2008)

I met friends here for a bite to eat after work. The early bird menu is excellent value and there's a decent choice on offer. The staff were extremely attentive, polite and engaging. The portions were of a good size and the food itself was well balanced and tasty. I would recommend going in early as it gets quite busy later in the evening.

Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

orl
Dublin
74 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th April 2008 (visited 1 April 2008)

I was in cookes with a group recently. The thing that really annoys me is paying extra for vegetables. We got all the courses, loads of wine and it would be a nice gesture to throw in a side of veg. the portions are very small. charges Dublin prices when overheads in Galway are smaller. won't be back

Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

Ed37

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th February 2008 (visited 8 February 2008)

My partner and I were in Galway last week and count ourselves very lucky to have come across this restaurant. We had not made a reservation but on entering the restaurant we were very warmly greeted and then led to a very nice table. Service was both professional and pleasant. The food was really beautiful - mussels and duck spring rolls for starters, duck and fillet steak for main courses - all cooked to perfection. The whole atmosphere, from seating to lighting to background music, was perfect. Will definitely go back when in Galway again

Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

strawberry1

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th January 2008 (visited 27 October 2007)

Very disappointing. We could only choose from a smaller menu as there was 10 of us even though nobody had explained this to us when we booked the table. I had the monkfish as did most of our party and it was tasteless. The mashed potato tasted like something out of a packet and the meal wasn't very hot. I wouldn't really recommend this restaurant. It's a pity as it is a very nice setting.

Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

lililoly

5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th December 2007 (visited 10 January 2007)

It was nice. The service was good. We went there for my friend’s birthday & she loved her birthday done there.

Cookes Restaurant & Wine Bar

maireadm

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st October 2007 (visited 31 October 2007)

The quality of the food can vary, but a nice place to eat overall

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4566 ]