The Birdcage Cafe restaurant

Avoca Rathcoole, Naas Road, Rathcoole, Dublin, Area Code: West Co Dublin

West Co Dublin

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Cafe

Price Range:


26 reviews
4 stars - based on 26 reviews

The Birdcage Cafe

Submit a review
The Birdcage Cafe

rockstar
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd August 2010 (visited 23 August 2010)

Popped in here for lunch as we had a long drive down the N7 and beyond. The place is selfservice, canteen style and the food is overpriced for what you get, quiche and nutroast is what we both decided on and each meal came with a choice of three salads, the main part of the meal was good, not great but good, the salads were just ok, the worst being the beetroot, this was from a jar, pickled, not fresh and left a bad acidic aftertaste, and at thirteen euro too expensive, After we had some cake and tea, if you dont want your tea to go cold, or your cake to sit around while you eat your mains this means two trips, not too bad in all, but at five euro for a pot of tea and fivefifty for each portion of cake the prices are yet again inflated, pavlova was large, heavy on cream and short on fruit, the other cake small, too small for a fiver. A great place for kids, there were many, and the staff friendly and many also, but far too expensive, at these prices you expect to be waited on.

The Birdcage Cafe

oisinx
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th June 2010 (visited 7 June 2010)

this cafe was very packed and it is completely over-priced for what you get. we would be better off going to an a la carte restaurant. hot food is micowaved here, salads are bland, and the coffee was really bad - the redeeming part was the great assortment of deserts, bakes etc. certainly not value for money.

The Birdcage Cafe

mandp
Dublin
36 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th July 2010 (visited 30 June 2010)

Came here with husband and 2 small boys. The young lads loved the special kids' offer. It's expensive but service was very good. the person clearing our table brought fresh glasses of iced water and a good supply of replacment napkins for cleaning messy boys' faces and hands.

The Birdcage Cafe

Molly33
Limerick
39 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th February 2010 (visited 7 February 2010)

Had lunch here. a great selection particularly of salads but sadly they were either pretty bland (tomato salad comprised of utterly tasteless tomatoes and a bland dressing) or tasted of cumin. Most disappointing and rather pricey. nice ambience & counter staff were most pleasant but I'm afraid the same can't be said of the two ladies cleaning the tables! Wouldn't rush back!

The Birdcage Cafe

chirpylin
Dublin
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th November 2009 (visited 28 November 2009)

Had lunch here with 3 friends, never fails to impress, the sandwiches are delicious,, salds so tasty and varied and their deserts, well......the best!!!! One thing, I had the Banoffi pie, really delicious but just too much cream on top! Their coffees are also divine and they have soy milk which is a plus for me! :) I will be back.

The Birdcage Cafe

Mickey121
Kildare
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 26th November 2009 (visited 21 November 2009)

Popped in for a bite to eat and it was jammers as usual. The food is always good, the salads are fresh and portitions are always plentiful. We were saving our appetites for later so opted for a smallish meal. We'll still only pop in once in a while as a coffee, a cold drink, half a tuna roll each and a side salad to share was €21 for the 2 of us, for self service meal, I think is a little steep but thats the price you'll expect to pay in Avoca.

The Birdcage Cafe

BJ
Dublin
48 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 23rd July 2009 (visited 22 July 2009)

Popped in to the Birdcage for breakfast. Had the basket of bread and a portion of bacon with a pot of tea. My daughter had the pancakes, and orange juice. I felt it was a tad pricey at €27 for what we received. I was not all that surprised that the self service option over the other side was jammed, while the patrons in the Birdcage were thin on the ground.

The Birdcage Cafe

coco
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th June 2009 (visited 9 May 2009)

Went here one sunday with a serious hangover!! I had the Watermelon cooler drink thing and it was amazing!!! i had the crab pot to start with this gorgeous mayo and then for the mains i ordered a duck noodle salad that came out more like duck chow mein, very misleading on the menu so i sent it back and got the pumpkin ravioli which was lovely but way to heavy... my little boy absolutely adored the sausage, mash and gravy he got and i would have eaten it myself no problem.. kids high chairs are really funky and he loved sitting in it! Finished with a cake from the other cafe and it was divine!! would defo go back.. staff very pleasant and had no problem in changing the main. food hall downstairs is gorgeous too... i cant help but spend a fortune every time i go. no wonder i have weight problems!!!

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4650 ]