An Poitin Stil restaurant

Naas Road, Rathcoole, Dublin, Area Code: South Co Dublin

South Co Dublin

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

76 reviews
4 stars - based on 76 reviews

An Poitin Stil

Submit a review
An Poitin Stil

nh12
Tipperary
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th October 2009 (visited 3 October 2009)

Ordered sea bass last Saturday - not nice - did not enjoy it. Got little by way of apology. Charged half price for replacement meal. Very disappointing.

An Poitin Stil

Munch
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th September 2009 (visited 25 September 2009)

I ate there last friday with my husband. I had soup for starters which was lovely and creamy. My husband had the goats cheese bruschetta for starter. Main course for me was the duck which was very enjoyable, we also had a side of garlic and cheese potatoes which were undercoooked. My husband had the Tbone steak which very dry. overall our experience was very enjoyable.

An Poitin Stil

Lady B
Kilkenny
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th September 2009 (visited 4 September 2009)

Heard there was a new chef here but not so, there is a new owner I think or maby a manager I am not sure... but I am sure there has been a change for the good. We havent been in a while but the decor is the same but the food and service have vastly improved. Chowder was fresh & alive with flavour his pate was 1st class. The fish jumped off the plate with fresh taste and the Beef Pie was like something from home. The hoastess could not do enough and the bill was less than €50. with wine. Keep up the good work it's great to get service with a smile that does not kick the purse.

An Poitin Stil

Mickey121
Kildare
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 14th September 2009 (visited 14 August 2009)

We decided this Friday to try out the Poitin Stil instead of the usual take away. We were shown to the table by the friendly waitress who served us for the rest of the evening. The missus decided against starters & went for the goats cheese salad for main. I decided to follow suit as I wanted to try the half lemon & herb chicken. The amount of food was definately sufficient enough with plenty of chips and vege's on the side. My missus enjoyed her salad with plenty of cheese but I found the chicken fairly bland and dry. Quite full we thought we'd share a desert which was alright. Just under €50 including a glass of wine each was okay but I might opt for an indian take away next time.

An Poitin Stil

Diarmuidmurphy
Cork
71 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th November 2011 (visited 5 November 2011)

Stopped off for lunch, very busy self serve, can be slow. Food can vary would advise being specific what u ask for.

An Poitin Stil

reviewer09
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd August 2009 (visited 23 May 2009)

wasnt too imprssed the last time we were here but any other time its been great food, the steaks on the hot stone grill are great!

An Poitin Stil

furlong
Wexford
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th July 2009 (visited 11 July 2009)

Class, Class, Class. I have often passed but never dropped in, I had seen the car park always packed and thought how can it be so buzy for a carvery. We stopped in late and from the moment we arrived we were wowed by the welcome the size and the service. The place is like the tardis on Dr Who, it's massive! Up stairs, downstairs & under the stairs there were booths where the charming hoast sat us down after showing us the fresh fish & meat counter( like you would see on holidays). The waiter took us through the do's and don'ts on the menu I had the best sticky wings I have had ever followed by surf & turf with crispy coated prawns to die for, My partner had mixed fish grill that lept off the display counter and on to his plate. The shared dessert was a real treat. It was an unexpected stop it was an unexpected treat and it's great to see old fashioned hospitality, service and quality food is still available

An Poitin Stil

sinclair
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st July 2009 (visited 19 July 2009)

Dropped in Sunday evening around eight. Cavery was finished so we,wife and two kids,ate in the restaurant. It is a large restaurant with a good variety of seating options. Orders were taken quickly and staff were very pleasant. I had lamb chops with mashed patotes and veg. The chops were grilled and excellent,very tasty and a good portion. My wife had turkey and ham with chips and veg. This was also a good portion but the stuffing was very plain, the only complaint. The children had chicken tenders and chips which was extremely big for kids,but this is not a complaint really! The food did take a quite a long time to come out but it was made up for by the qualtity. Perhaps in the current times the prices were a little on the high side!. Will be back.

An Poitin Stil

aoc1985
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th May 2009 (visited 14 April 2009)

Visited here with my partner for an evening meal from the bar food menu. The service was fairly good and the staff were friendly , but I was not impressed with the food. I had the spicy beef stir fry , which was not at all spicy and was very bland. My partner had the beef burger which was average. The best part of the meal was the chips which were nice. Overall it was ok , but there are better places nearby.

An Poitin Stil

orlaith_g
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd May 2009 (visited 22 May 2009)

It's passing (and unknowing) trade that keeps this place open!!! I visited the Poitin Stil today. I had the caesar salad with chicken main course (€12.95 + €2 for the chicken) and a side portion of chips (€2.50). The chips (which were frozen from a packet) were easily the nicest part of my meal. My salad was limp and over dressed with a gloopy sauce from a packet/jar....It consisted of lettuce, croutons, bacon and "chicken" which was pre cooked and for some bizarre reason microwaved to within an inch of it's fifth or sixth death!!! In their defence the waiting staff were friendly, hardworking and prompt (if a bit too much so). The total for this meal (food only) at 4.30 in the day was a total rip off at €17.45 from the afternoon menu. I will not visit here again.

An Poitin Stil

t2
Wicklow
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd May 2009 (visited 18 May 2009)

visited an poitin a few days ago and for sure i won't be rushing back.. the food was only mediocre and warm but not hot as food should be and it was early into service..at the carvery a staff member was quite rude to the people in front of us tho later when we chatted to other punters they told us that the normal cavery staff member is very nice and accommodating so maybe this guy should learn from him.. while it was not very busy there were quite a few dirty tables and lots of staff present but only one appeared to be working.. not happy overall.. place dirty looking, management should take a look around tho none visible either

An Poitin Stil

CatONei11
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th May 2009 (visited 18 May 2009)

I have been here for a christening before and the food in the restaurant looked amazing so I was eager to come back. Thankfully, I wasn't disappointed. My boyfriend had the carvery lunch of beer battered fish, with roasties and veggies. I had the hot joint sambo with the most delicious chips I've had in a long time. The portions are a decent size and their is a good choice to tempt your tastebuds. All for less than €18. I will be back for Sunday lunch!

An Poitin Stil

lilpiggy
Dublin
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th February 2009 (visited 19 February 2009)

I love this place. The craic is great and the carvery is far above average. Nice staff and always good atmosphere.

An Poitin Stil

aingealban
Wicklow
49 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th February 2009 (visited 6 February 2009)

Had a carvery here one Sunday. The place was jam-packed! I had the roast beef and it was delicious. I didn't think the portions were huge like certain other carvery's but enough. Was hard to find a seat so go early.

An Poitin Stil

Snore
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th January 2009 (visited 13 January 2009)

Carvery lucnh - excellent quality, amount and the price is very competitive compared to city centre. Also - staff are really friendly

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5089 ]