An Poitin Stil restaurant

Naas Road, Rathcoole, Dublin, Area Code: South Co Dublin

South Co Dublin

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

76 reviews
4 stars - based on 76 reviews

An Poitin Stil

Submit a review
An Poitin Stil

Dwhite07
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st July 2011 (visited 15 May 2011)

Went on a sunday about 3pm and i have to say ill never go again it took us about 10 mins to find a table and get a high chair, the high chair was dirty dryed in food, the food was not very nice the mash potatoes were lumpy and the gravy tasted like it had onions in it when i asked i was told (NO) and thats it, the meats were tough and the chicken was dry. Over all we did not have a great meal or time there....

An Poitin Stil

angelgourmet
Dublin
105 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 23rd June 2011 (visited 23 June 2011)

Just back from a very enjoyable lunch in the Poitin Stil. The place was thronged with diners, yet there wasn't that 'packed' feeling about it. Being a warm day all three of us opted for salads from the extensive selection on offer. I had the Cajun Chicken salad and it was mouth-watering and absolutely delicious. It was €10.95 which was excellent value for the very generous portion that was served to me. It was as big as a dinner, so I'll be full for the rest of the day. Diners who choose salads can help themselves to bread rolls and brown bread to accompany their meals. There was a very good menu at the Hot Counter, and the portions there were also substantial judging by the trays of food that were carried past us. Will definitely be back again for another visit.

An Poitin Stil

Argot
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th May 2011 (visited 14 February 2011)

This is a great pub for decent food, good atmosphere and value for money any day. I just had a toasted ham and cheese sandwich but they put a large helping of coleslaw and crisps on the side for me - whicih made me feel a bit special! My companion had the carvery AND a fillet of fish which he devoured. We stayed for a pint and the atmosphere really was lively - great banter between the bar staff and punters. Certainly recommend stopping in if you're on your way either up or down the country and want a bite to recharge the batteries. Good, clean, fresh, wholesome food.

An Poitin Stil

Lucanmama
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th April 2011 (visited 5 April 2011)

Terribly disappointing. Would not classify this as either a seafood or a steak restaurant. Crab claws were a lukewarm attempt to thaw something. Caesar salad and a mushy pork belly (even though the server had assued us would be nice and crispy.) Liked the Titanic memorabilia. But the rest was a disaster.

An Poitin Stil

spagbol
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th March 2011 (visited 10 March 2011)

Haven't been in a while but went for a family meal recently. Service was excellent, food was out of this world. Waiter that served us was fantastic with the kids and what seemed like an endless supply of icecream until they found one that they liked!! Couldn't fault this place in aanyway. Hats off to the Chef, as my 8 year old said - MasterChef. Will certainly be back!!

An Poitin Stil

hearsay08721
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th October 2010 (visited 13 October 2010)

was passing on my way to naas dropped in for lunch. well to say the least it was awful. the only thing that safe the lunch was the meat the potatoes and veg were prob the worst i've ever ate wont be going back in a hurry. such a shame for such a beautiful pub.

An Poitin Stil

norrisl
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th August 2010 (visited 1 August 2010)

I have to admit, I used to avoid the Poitin Stil like the plague, previously found it extremely greasy and heavy (restaurant not carvery), so was pleasantly surprised when we revisited recently. Originally we were aiming for the carvery, but it was packed with people everywhere (I think it was a match day), so opted for the restaurant. Had garlic mushrooms - pretty standard fare, husband had the veg soup which was lovely, he had steak for mains (seemed happy enough) and I had the pork stir fry, which did not exactly match its description on the menu, but was really lovely, plenty of meat and extremely fresh and crunchy vegetables. Service very good. We will be returning

An Poitin Stil

judytsoi
Dublin
53 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th August 2010 (visited 14 August 2010)

I came here for carvery and found the staff helpful enough. The pub was busy and it seemed to be a popular spot. The selection in the carvery wasn't great and I opted for a pre-made salad. There are a few to choose from, which have been put on a plate and wrapped in cellophane in advance. The salad was nothing special, and included processed ham. My fellow diners reported that the hot food was tasty, and that the desserts were also great. For me, the whole experience was so-so. I wouldn't be rushing back here again for the food.

An Poitin Stil

restaurant spy eye
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th May 2010 (visited 3 May 2010)

called in on way home from weekend in Wicklow. Group of 5 adults. Cavarey lunch been served. Excellent choice and chef did a veg dish for a vegan friend in our group. Found staff very helpfull. Service was good as it was extremley busy. Good athmosphere there in general. Food was well presented. Great value in deserts at €5 for any desert with tea/coffee!! Food piping hot and great value for money. Would recommend it and we will be back again soon.

An Poitin Stil

jules47
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th April 2010 (visited 15 April 2010)

We dropped into an poitin stil for quick bite to eat on way back to Dublin. It was cheap the service was good until I asked for the bill and it was a really long wait so we just went straight to the till to pay rather than wait for anyone to come back. I was really disappointed with my meal. I asked for then chicken wings which were kind of tasteless then the white wine and mushroom pasta that had one mushroom at a search and a huge lump of melted cheddar cheese on top!? I asked could I have garlic bread on the side which they said they couldn't see why not although not on the menu, yet it never appeared and no explanation. My partner had filo prawns which were standard and then a mixed grill which to be fair he enjoyed both. Its pub grub expect no more and you will leave full yet not necessarily satisfied!

An Poitin Stil

karvine
Kildare
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th April 2010 (visited 27 March 2010)

Went for a meal with my Husband in the restaurant, the menu was very good and our starter was lovely, we both had the steak for main course and it was just so tender, service was great, we had a lovely bottle of wine and dessert with baileys coffee`s. The entire evening was lovely, service food and great value for money. Good home cooked food.

An Poitin Stil

jeanmiriam
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th July 2011 (visited 15 July 2011)

We brought two of our friends for a meal here last night having being raving about the place since last time we were here. Imagine our embarrassment and disapointment in the food. our poor server could not do enough for us however, it was only 9pm when we arrived. They had no pie, no champ, the food was a disgrace. I could not believe how bad it was. Two of us ordered the half roast chicken, what we got was the poussin with cold mash pototatoes. Phil ordered a steak which arrived to the table with a side order of TWINE. It was also dressed in a sauce when we had asked for it bare. Out of the four meals only one was satisfactory as in he got what he ordered. I have never been so embarrassed as we had been going on so much about the place since it had new chefs. We will not be back. Shame.

An Poitin Stil

food_4_thought
Meath
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th January 2010 (visited 14 January 2010)

I have been here a few times now and have always been happy with the food and service. When I was here last week we ate in the restaurant as we were told the bar food had finished at 8pm. We were taken to our seats with no delay, and had a look at the menu, which is diverse. As we were familiar with the place my boyfriend asked if there was any chance he could have the ribs that are served on the bar menu. He was refused point blank. We both work in the trade and were surprised that our server wouldn't ask the chef if this was possible. We went on to have chicken wings (whose sauce had been changed much to my personal disappointment!!) and the goats cheese starters, both were delicious. I had the lamb shank which fell off the bone and my boyfriend had the mixed grill which had the most tender piece of lambs liver on it. We will go back, despite our disagreement with the service! Great stop off point for food on the N7, will definitely fill you up for the journey south!

An Poitin Stil

carebear
Dublin
95 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th January 2010 (visited 31 December 2009)

We came here on New Year’s Eve not really knowing what to expect having previously visited restaurants on this date to find a limited 'Christmas' menu and rushed service. However we were very pleasantly surprised with an poitin stil. We had the full menu to choose from. I had the seafood chowder for starters and the lamb shank for mains. The chowder was creamy with plenty of fish, mussels and prawns. The lamb shank was cooked to perfection with the meat just falling off the bone. Delicious! I even managed to fit in a pavlova for dessert which was gorgeous, crispy meringue outside with a gooey, chewy centre with lots of fresh fruit and cream. Value-wise we got two 3 course meals plus a bottle of wine for 80 euro which I think is good for the quality of food you’re getting. The staff were all very friendly which only added to the lovely atmosphere. Can't wait to go back!

An Poitin Stil

squeaky292
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd November 2009 (visited 31 October 2009)

Great night out my wife and I took the kids out for a meal after there trick or treat adventure and must say I was greatly impressed from the moment we enter. The hole place was decorated and all staff dressed up which the kids loved. Kids meal was just perfect even allowing the kids to help make there own ice-cream which they loved. As for the adults we have the pate and mushrooms to start and we couldn't wait for the main which were just as good as the starter. I had the seabass which was cooked to perfection and my wife had a curry which had her stuffed till Monday. and to top it off the staff were amazing and so friendly that I will be back again and telling all my friends about it

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4815 ]