Wongs of Castleknock restaurant

Ashleigh Centre, Main Street, Dublin 15, Castleknock, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 15

Dublin 15

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Chinese

Price Range:

€€€

59 reviews
3 stars - based on 59 reviews

Wongs of Castleknock

Submit a review
Wongs of Castleknock

el27
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th January 2011 (visited 8 January 2011)

Service was excellent here, we didn't even make a booking but managed to get a table on a busy Saturday night. Waiters were very efficient and polite. The food was delicious, one of the nicest chinese meals we've had in a while. We ordered veg spring roll for starters & chicken curry for main. There was plenty of it and it was very tasty. Only downside, it's a bit pricey but worth a visit.

Wongs of Castleknock

jp1979
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th November 2010 (visited 30 October 2010)

This is a nice high-end Chinese restaurant in the center of Castleknock. The food is absolutely delicious and the quality is very high. I have been to this restaurant 4 or 5 times this year. The skewered satay chicken starter comes with an amazing bright yellow peanut sauce which is delicious. I normally go for the European pan-fried steak in here and it is always cooked to perfection. Crispy on the outside and tender in the middle. There has to be a catch however, and for me it is the price. For a Chinese restaurant, the price of the dishes are incredibly high and is the main reason why I have not visited this place more often this year. Definitely worth a visit though if you have something to celebrate.

Wongs of Castleknock

Nicole1981
Meath
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd November 2010 (visited 14 August 2010)

Went here for my friends birthday with a group of 6. It was a Saturday night so it was quite busy, but there was enough staff to serve everyone. It took the staff forever to take our orders and every time we wanted another drink we had to waive someone down. I wasn't impressed with the food either considering this is compared to other chinese restaurants fairly expensive. I had duck with crab which was okay but very greasy. The portions of rice we got were very small, 2 people had to share a bowl which was barely enough for one person. I would not come back here again in a hurry.

Wongs of Castleknock

whykay
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th September 2010 (visited 20 September 2010)

Got a table straight away for party of 5. Got dinner for 4 plus Ma Po Tofu. Was stuffed from start alone, couldn't finish the main and they were happy to give us a doggy bag (incl. the dessert). Service was really good, topped up our tea/hot water. Price was reasonable. Will definitely come back again.

Wongs of Castleknock

shinnyoconnell
Dublin
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 15th August 2010 (visited 3 August 2010)

Attended Wongs on our anniversary on a Tuesday evening. The restaurant have a 4-course meal deal which we availed of. Starters we shared the meat sung which was minced pork and was delicious with enough for sharing. My main course was Beef with Black Bean sauce and was tasty. My dessert was the Profiterole option which was good. Service was ok but could have been better for a slack Tuesday evening. Staff only attending to you when they are delivering or taking away your dishes. Overall we had a good experience.

Wongs of Castleknock

baresi
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd July 2010 (visited 1 July 2010)

It has been a good few years since I have eaten here and we were not disapointed. We arrived as a 6 piece party and we were seated promptly.The restaurant had our hosts favorite bottle of wine on the table when we arrived.Nice touch! We all had the special offer menu which is extensive.Myself and my husband shared the duck to start and a ginger and spring onion dish for mains.Everybody loved the food.Dessert was ice-cream or profiteroles.Great food and service. We will definitly be returning.

Wongs of Castleknock

whelo
Dublin
41 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th June 2010 (visited 12 June 2010)

ate here with a group of friends, food was really lovely, especially the duck starter!! Great to go to as part of a group.

Wongs of Castleknock

kseniea
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd June 2010 (visited 20 June 2010)

haven't dine in the place for about 3 months, went last weak with my two friends and food was ok, service and atmosphere were good as usual.

Wongs of Castleknock

CarolB
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th February 2010 (visited 12 February 2010)

Went here on a Friday evening, 7pm. Very nice restaurant, tables set to high standard and decor looks authentic. We took the 4 course set meal, which is charged 16.50-25.00 depending on your main course. Great choice of starters and the crispy lamb was far more than i expected. I chose sea bass for main which was a little too salty, even for a salt and chilli dish, but great value. My partner got breaded prawns for starters, beef in black bean sauce for mains, and was very happy. The fried rice was so fresh, not like cheap take out fried rice, and delicious. The choice of profiteroles or ice cream suited us, we got one of each and shared. Really good profiteroles!! Tiger beer was 6e per bottle, bit steep really, but as we saved on the food not so bad. Would go again, staff were fine, not overly friendly but did their job.

Wongs of Castleknock

Lisaann84

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th February 2010 (visited 22 January 2010)

Myself and four others went to Wong's on a Friday Night. There is a Special From Friday to Sunday "four course meal" for 25euro. Well worth it. We all tried different dishes and were completely satisfied. They ranged from chicken and cashewnut to beef and black bean. It was our first time there and we will certainley be returning. The service was prompt and the staff were very helpfull and courteous.

Wongs of Castleknock

Oskar
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th January 2010 (visited 4 December 2009)

Dined here with a group of friends (8 of us) and were seated at a large round table with the lazy-suzy. Tables are quite cramped with very little space to move in or out. Restaurant was full and busy, and very hard to get any waiter's attention. It seems, if you see a staff member, grab your chance as you won't get one very often! We sat for easily ten/fifteen minutes before being able to order a drink, let alone food! Food was just about passable for most of us, but overall disappointing. I had a favourite: duck in plum sauce: duck was fine but the sauce was a real let-down, bland. Nothing authentic about the offering here. They definitely lost out on drinks sales with us, as it was so hard to get a waiter's attention to re-order wine or beer. Perhaps it was just that it was so busy - however we had booked three weeks in advance - and they must have known that they would be busy. I would give them credit, however, for not rushing us from the table when we were finished (how could they when the service had been so slow)! We made our own evening enjoyable socially but, considering we spent €55 per head here, it was not good. Restaurant needs to improve dramatically, especially service.

Wongs of Castleknock

kellyc38
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th January 2010 (visited 18 December 2009)

Went for a family meal out. Wwe had the large circular table which was great, as we all ate from the set menu and dishes were placed on the rotating shelf in the middle. 3 course meal with coffee, averaged at about 35 a head, which wasn't bad consider then their house wine was very reasonably priced at 16euro. Service was good, although they were very slow to top up water! Would recommend for a family night out locally howevert you migth get better value perhaps in the city centre.

Wongs of Castleknock

steviedee
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th December 2009 (visited 3 December 2009)

I was really looking forward to trying here, heard so much about it. The food was dreadful. We did the set menu ~ €25 for three courses. The spring rolls were average. The 2 small ribs were small and the sauce something out of a jar. The mains.... sweet and sour chicken was super sweet, no sour and full of MSG. The Sacha beef was supposed to be spicy, it was oily, salty, gloopy, beef was a weird jellyish consistency. The beef pepper was just about edible. Dessert was ice cream or profiteroles, not much to say. Millenium 2 takeaway just around the corner is far, far superior. Never again.

Wongs of Castleknock

Susan101
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd September 2009 (visited 9 July 2009)

We ate here on a Sunday afternoon and we were the only place there, so I cant say there was much atmosphere. but as it was quiet the waitress took my baby off and entertained her while we ate.....cant ask for more than that. The food is excellents but expensive and there is another chinese restaurant nearby that is far superior for food, atmosphere and price. Wongs is expensive and I dont really feel the need to go back but at the same time there was nothign really wrong per se, we just prefer the elsewhere and Wongs is too expensive.

Wongs of Castleknock

coc123
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th August 2009 (visited 4 August 2009)

Went with my parents recently to try out the new 'Special menu' - every evening Monday to Friday and all day Sunday, a 3 course meal plus tea or coffee for the maximum of 22.50 (price depends on what you order) - such good value, as Wongs is reknowned for being expensive. Food was really tasty, and also the house wines were on special, and not just one red and white, a selection for you to choose between for €16. Three course meal for 3 of us with wine cost less than €90. Will definatley be going back - only criticism was the service was a little slow - but at least they weren't rushing us out!

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4888 ]