The Mandarin Castle restaurant

Unit 10 Castleknock Village Centre, West Dublin, Castleknock, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 15

Dublin 15

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Chinese

Price Range:

€€

47 reviews
4 stars - based on 47 reviews

The Mandarin Castle

Submit a review
The Mandarin Castle

faybee
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th June 2008 (visited 17 May 2008)

We live in Castleknock area and visit the Mandarin Castle on a regular enough basis, given that we find it to be one of the better Chinese restaurants in the area. In fact we have brought a number of overseas visitors there from time to time and on their return journey these visitors have suggested return visit to the Mandarin Castle. It can be a little tight for space at times.Unfortunately for some reason the takeaway service does not compare well to that of the in house service, given that it is the same food.

The Mandarin Castle

DCool

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st May 2008 (visited 20 May 2008)

This is a fine local restaurant for impromptu dining out. I have never been disappointed by the food or the polite and efficient service. My wife and I prefer when the restaurant is less busy as any crowd can be quite noisy. The menu is quite broad and the wine list offers a good, if a little pricey, selection. Recommended.

The Mandarin Castle

VEGAS
Dublin
27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th December 2007 (visited 1 December 2007)

I'm from Castleknock and have ordered take out from this restaurant on a number of occasions. Got it recently and it wasn't as nice as it used to be. Food was kind of greasy and the sauce wasn't that nice. Disappointed as it has been nice in the past. The prices are very reasonable

The Mandarin Castle

SJM
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st December 2007 (visited 25 November 2007)

We went to Mandarin Castle for a birthday. The value was great, they agreed to take our cake from us and brought it out and sang happy birthday. also, at the end of our meal, they gave us a free round of drinks. Great place, I'm going again tonight

The Mandarin Castle

molly_m
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th November 2007 (visited 13 November 2007)

Absolutely gorgeous. I eat in the restaurant at least twicw a month and get takeaway once or twice a week. Takeaway prices are so reasonable and I couldn't say a bad word about the food...Highly recommended!!!!

The Mandarin Castle

Sherbert
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th November 2007 (visited 9 November 2007)

I live in Castleknock and this is the first time i was there. It's actually quite cramped up there. I went with a big work crowd and overall had a pretty good night. Food was tasty but rice extra and definitely on higher end of scale, wine prices same. Might give it a try another night with my husband and see it from a different angle.

The Mandarin Castle

melh
Dublin
38 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th September 2007 (visited 1 September 2007)

I get take aways from here regulary, the food is always excellent and great value too. Its my favourite Chinese around... Would definitely recommend for a meal out or take away.

The Mandarin Castle

saorla

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th September 2007 (visited 5 September 2007)

Food was very good, though I do think that rice, fried or boiled should be included with curry dishes. Was also charged for prawn crackers that never came, just felf a bit ripped off. Service ok.

The Mandarin Castle

iluvf00d

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd August 2007 (visited 23 August 2007)

I eat here quite regularly and despite having eaten in many Chinese restaurants it remains my favourite. In turn, anyone I've brought there as a guest has always suggested a return visit. The food is good, the service is very friendly and efficient and the atmosphere is as it good as it can be for a restaurant in a village shopping centre. Having eaten in Wongs a few doors down, I found the service poor (particularly given the higher prices) and pushy and the difference in the quality of food was negligible. I'd highly recommend the Mandarin Castle for an informal, enjoyable meal.

The Mandarin Castle

foiegras

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th August 2007 (visited 9 August 2007)

The best Chinese in Castleknock not that the other place even competes!! The food here is pretty good and the atmosphere is great especially when they have the 3 piece Filipino band who would have won the Eurovision if we'd entered them!! The best Hong Kong Prawns I've ever had and the shredded duck is a real treat. Good wine list but a bit expensive however the atmosphere more than makes up for that and it's still cheaper than the other Chinese by about 20 %

The Mandarin Castle

DublinLady
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th January 2011 (visited 18 January 2011)

What is not to love about the Mandarin Castle. My niece first told us about this place a few years and I have become a weekly regular. The atmosphere is lovely, the staff helpful and friendly, and the prices very reasonable. My favorite is the chicken chow mein & the pancake rolls; in fact, it is the only thing I order. Every time a waiter carries plates through the restaurant to tables, the lovely aroma drifts through the whole place. In one word....delicious! Both is smell and taste. This is one restaurant that will not dissappoint. Highly recommend!

The Mandarin Castle

ardykav

20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th July 2007 (visited 9 July 2007)

Lovely food and price not too bad, Clientele seemed somewhat stuck up but that's not the restaurant's fault, Will be back again.

The Mandarin Castle

Diva
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd March 2007 (visited 23 March 2007)

I went here a couple of weeks ago with my fiance and I have to say we did not really like this restaurant. The atmosphere was nice in the restaurant but the Service and food were not great even though I can say the staff were pleasant. For starters I had prawns with chilli salt and when eating the prawns it felt like there were still bits of shell on them. Also at the end of the meal my fiance asked for a pot of chinese tea and I said that I would have chinese tea also, they brought down one chinese tea and one ordinary pot of tea, I don't drink ordinary tea so I left it there. I don't think I will be visiting Mandarin Castle again.

The Mandarin Castle

shamrock80

41 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th March 2007 (visited 6 March 2007)

The Mandarin is a very popular Chinese restaurant, small but with a nice enough atmosphere, and food not too bad, it’s always busy though: for some reason, Castleknock people LOVE it; (honestly I really don’t see why, as to me it's very average, but there you go!).

The Mandarin Castle

shinnyoconnell
Dublin
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 28th December 2006 (visited 28 December 2006)

This restaurant is a must! I have gone several times now and enjoy it just as much each time! The staff are really friendly and the food is delish. Some of the dishes I enjoy are: Chicken Chow Mein, Fillet of Beef with Green Pepper & Black Bean Sauce, Chicken Satay, Vegetable Spring Rolls and Chicken Triangles. All of these dishes are yummy and the portions are very filling :)

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4726 ]