De Brúns restaurant

Ashleigh Centre, Main Street, Castleknock, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 15

Dublin 15

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Brasserie

Price Range:

€€

106 reviews
3 stars - based on 106 reviews

De Brúns

Submit a review
De Brúns

Bern
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 09th July 2014 (visited 9 July 2014)

This was a disaster the squid was so bad it was like eating rubber, served in a bowl too small so when you put your cutlery into it it fell out and the sauce splashed all over you. Check your bill as we were charged for a drink we didn't order. One of the waiters just didn't want to be there. The early Bird menus has disappeared . Steak special was ok but it came with beer and I don't drink beer. No alternative. And to top it all it was my birthday. Will not go back there by choice.

De Brúns

nettlegreentea
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th April 2014 (visited 14 March 2014)

This is a real gem of a restaurant which I frequent often as a resident of Castleknock. The steak on the stone is easily the most tender and delicious steak I have ever tasted in my life. There is a real cosy ambiance here and a lively atmosphere at the weekends. The only shortcoming of the restaurant is that service can often be slow but overall, this restaurants delivers a consistently enjoyable experience.

De Brúns

lisaf01
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd March 2014 (visited 22 March 2014)

Cosy restraunt food was very tasty no rose wine disappointing waiting staff could be a bit more welcoming will try again thou.

De Brúns

NikkiG
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th August 2013 (visited 15 August 2013)

This was our first and it was definitely our last visit to this restaurant. At a glance it seems like a cosy place. The food is barely edible. I ordered the avocado and crabmeat salad which looked a bit dodgy, I thought the lettuce leaves were discoloured but I was not sure as the restaurant is quite dark. It tasted ok but was not very appetising. For main course I ordered the asian prawn stir fry. What a waste of money. It was totally lacking in fresh ingredients and tasted like it came from a jar. My local takeaway does a much tastier and fresher version. The pannacotta dessert was sickly sweet and not home made. This had to be the most awful meal I have eaten in a long time. It is such a pity we did not read previous reviews as we would not have paid a visit.

De Brúns

Oddles
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th August 2013 (visited 10 August 2013)

Poorly trained staff....8oz steak was as tough as boot leather and to add insult to injury there was no one when we were leaving to ask about meal etc. would I go back ...NO!!! Less expensive, more enjoyable meals available in Dublin...

De Brúns

LilyFon
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th August 2013 (visited 5 August 2013)

Wow. I have to say I was quite unimpressed with this place. We had booked a table for 5 people and when we got there we were seated right in front of the bar, surrounded by people having their pints, instead of the restaurant which was totally empty apart from one table. We asked to be moved and the waiter obliged, which was good. Three of us ordered the crab and avocado starter which I was appalled by. It was heavily dressed in lemon and chillies. The lettuce mixed into it was brown in parts and old, dry and wilted in others. Inedible. I mentioned this to the waitress and she looked at me blankly and took the plate away. Mains arrived and my father-in-law ordered the steak on a stone which looked and smelt fantastic. No complaints there - a large and lovely piece of meat with a salad on the side and the delicious sauces to go alongside. My husband ordered lamb cutlets with potato dauphinoise. While the lamb was well cooked, it came out looking like dodgy pub grub. Poorly presented and extremely oily. I ordered the thai beef salad which was ok. It was drenched in sauce though and was overly sweet so I left half of it. We didn't bother with dessert as the atmosphere and service were just terrible. Being seated next to the toilets wasn't ideal either. When it came to paying our bill we ended up getting up to pay at the counter because we waited so long to just get someone's attention to bring the bill to us, which never happened. The wait staff seemed disinterested in their clientele and weren't attentive to service. I will never go back to this place. Unimpressed to say the least.

De Brúns

redsquirrel
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th September 2012 (visited 28 September 2012)

We have eaten here in the past and had been very happy with everything so it was disappointing to say the least when we had dinner there last Friday night to learn that standards have indeed dropped. Our waitress was like a bull in a china shop, she took the order in lightening speed, not even asking us if we wanted wine or not. When we finally ordered the Sancere she poured it with the grace of pouring a glass of milk, almost filling the glasses to the brim! Not the manner in which a €30.00 bottle of wine should be treated. I ordered the prawns pil pil and hubby ordered the scallops with black pudding. These were placed ( and I use that term loosely) in front of us with a bang, in the incorrect places by our speedy waitress. The prawns were fine but with no bread on the table meant I couldn't soak up any of the juices. Hubby's started was very poor. I know the prices here are good but two small scallops on a skinny, sad piece of black pudding is not acceptable. I had the lamb skewers which was only okay but again hubby lost out as he had the steak which was tough and skinny. Waitresses changed mid way so that was an improvement but it was a shame to see that both food and service at this previously lovely restaurant has slipped badly, we will not be returning again for a long while.

De Brúns

hungrygirl123
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th September 2012 (visited 25 August 2012)

Steak on the stone is amazing!! Atmosphere very good, prices are ok could do better with the early bird menu.

De Brúns

Lecter
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2012 (visited 26 April 2012)

This was our second time dining at this restaurant. We bought the Steak on a Stone Menupages deal for 2. It was excellent value for money. They served us two large fillets of beef with chips. They were really delicious and came with three different sauces (which is great for the indecisive diners out there); pepper, bearnaise and garlic butter. We got warm chocolate brownie and ice-cream and creme brulee for dessert. Both were very enjoyable. The atmosphere is lovely and reminiscent of French style dining. We will definitely be back and have recommended it to friends.

De Brúns

goa
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th April 2012 (visited 9 April 2012)

I've visited this restaurant a number of times for both drinks and food and have always found it to be of a really high standard,A hugh variety of wines by the glass and regularly have them half price..As im a big meat lover steak on the stone and lamb chops are a favourite but sometimes i just have a glass of wine and some tapas.As a family of five we normally have to book if going at night as some tables can be a little tight for us.Well worth a try

De Brúns

shell2004
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th November 2011 (visited 11 November 2011)

went to brasserie tonight had a starter and a main soup for starter was lovely , but bread very hard and had to ask for butter as it was not given..... for main i had steak on stone which was yum ! big let down was i dont like WEDGES where it should be fries would go back , but should improve some issues....

De Brúns

pickypaula
Cavan
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th September 2011 (visited 17 August 2011)

I have eaten in Brasserie 15 a number of times. Although the dining room is a little tight for space with tables too close together for my liking, I have returned many times as the food is so delicious. The mussels are my favourite item on the menu and the nicest I've ever tasted. The pan fried salmon is also delicious and a really big portion size. Steak on the stone is fabulous if you're a steak lover and I love the chuncky chips. There's a huge selection on the menu to suit all tastes and I'm usually too full for dessert given the portion sizes. I always find that the service is good and overall value for money is great given the quality of the food. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

De Brúns

shauco
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th September 2011 (visited 5 September 2011)

Visited this place after noting on their website that they have an early bird deal for €15 (Starter and main). The man (looked like the manager) told us this was no longer on and fobbed us off when we told him it was still on their site, as if we were lying. He was very rude. One of our party asked was there any horseradish sauce. The waitress went off to get this, and the rest of us finished our meal before she returned. The food was average at best, quite small and most dishes cost extra for veg. Not a pleasant experience.

De Brúns

diners1
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 18th August 2011 (visited 12 August 2011)

Ordered from the early bird menu when I visited this restaurant with my husband last week. Atmosphere friendly and cosy with quite a few families enjoying their meal. We both had Caprice salad for starters, small portions but tasty enough.Our free range chicken was very tasty, only gripe was the lack of veg. The dish was served with a potato and mushrooms, plus a very fragrant spring roll which I still can't decide whether I loved or hated! Service was brisk but not over friendly. The bill of 44.00 euro included a glass of wine, a bottle of water and two coffees. Overall, it was a good dining experience. We left satisifed and will return again.

De Brúns

nettlegreentea
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th August 2011 (visited 4 August 2011)

for me,this restaurant is a win. the weekday early bird menu or the sometimes offered €15 steak on the stone is great value. i am aware that some of the dishes on this menu are much better than others and you would need to be careful about what you order but the steak on the stone cannot be beat. it comes with three sauces; garlic butter, bearnaise and a pepper sauce. the garlic butter and bearnaise are, to say the least, not good but the pepper sauce is delicious and the steak(which you cook yourself on a hot stone) is tender and tasty. i will say,however, that to dine in this resaurant from the a la carte menu during the weekend would be very expensive and leave the diner feeling unsatisfied for the amount that they have spent. overall it is an above average establishment with supreme steak!

Copyright © 2021 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5361 ]