The Porterhouse (Parliament Street) restaurant

Parliament Street le Bar, Temple Bar, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Gastro Pub

Price Range:

€€€

81 reviews
4 stars - based on 81 reviews

The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

Submit a review
The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

foodholic
Meath
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st March 2010 (visited 14 February 2010)

Had a quick bite to eat while out with a group of friends for a birthday and valentines day combined! Nice casual atmosphere where some people ate and others didn't. Just had some side orders which were hot and tasty. However not homemade. Friendly service. Live music was a bonus. Had previously eaten here a number of times a few years ago, food still same standard.

The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

ell30
Dublin
51 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd March 2010 (visited 20 March 2010)

had quick bite to eat here with a friend on our way home from somewhere and would deffo go back, really nice chicken skerwers and grilled marinated chicken, my friend opted for a steak sandwich which was really good, good all round value and nice place.

The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

Mr. Creosote
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th October 2011 (visited 21 February 2011)

I stopped into the Porterhouse for a late lunch, to sample their Oktoberfest. I had Bratkartoffeln, a tub of roast potatoes, bacon and grilled onion, and a Bratwurst. Whilst filling, these weren't as tasty as what I'm used to from the Porterhouse. The Bratkartoffeln was quite bland, the bacon being overdone and the potatoes under-seasoned. My Bratwurst could have done with more, or stronger, mustard. As I was finished work, and on my way home, I had an Hersbruker Oktoberfest seasonal beer, brewed by the Porterhouse Brewing Company, and this was excellent.

The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

orlajc1
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th February 2010 (visited 20 February 2010)

Had lunch here with my husband and 29month old son. The staff were friednly and very very child friendly which makes a refreshing change!! We ordered the fish and chips, "pint" of prawns and side salad and asked if we could have a small portion of fish finger sandwich for our son....not a problem!! The fish and chips was gorgeous, served with a lovely side salad and minted mushy peas. My pint of prawns was very mean...more a pint of lettece topped with a few tiger prawns, at 9.90 very expensive and not worth it at all. The chef did a special small portion of the fish finger sandwich, which was very generous. With a pint and glass of Porter plain the bill came to 43euro....they charged 8 euro for a side sald, which I consider extortion!!! All in all however, the staff are very friendly helpful and welcome children which is great. The food was lovely but expensive for what we got, nonetheless we will return!!

The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

Naine
Dublin
59 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 09th February 2010 (visited 6 February 2010)

I have liked the atmosphere in the Porterhouse pubs day or night. Their burgers are good with a varied mix of fillings. A note to everyone the Italian burger, they have on their menu Roquette, this is not the cheese which I mistook it for and got the green salad leaves. Pretty disappointed but next time I will know.I only have ever really seen the salad leaves spelt Rocket. Will return and get something else next time.

The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

Dinner Lady
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd February 2010 (visited 28 January 2010)

Went here with a few friends for after work drinks and food. The decor is nice, if a bit touristy, and it is very handy if you are having a casual gathering and want to have a full drinks menu with the option of food. The food was fine and big portions. The service on the other hand was not good. I had booked a table but they had no record of the booking. Some food was missing and we had to ask 3 times for it to be delivered. It was very hard to get attention for drinks, the bill etc. Overall it is a nice pub with food as an add on but the service would need to improve for it to be at restaurant standard.

The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

SophysGirl
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st January 2010 (visited 4 January 2010)

Love it, love it, love it! We're fairly regular patrons. Generally on Saturday for lunch or Sunday afternoon pints. Great bar food, beer selection for the man in my life it a great treat. The fact that they have a selection of ales makes his day. Can get a little bit noisy in the evenings, but afternoons are usually lovely. I like the fact that there are 'regulars' and tourists alike. Always a bit of banter with the bar staff. Floor staff are usually very attentive. Toilets can be a teeny bit smelly, but if you can overcome that, everything else is excellent.

The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

Mikia
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th December 2009 (visited 7 November 2009)

Pretty good Bar food i must say. Their burgers are amazing! Their "pint of prawns" is also very good. Great place to go to for a pint of an amazing stout and a bite to eat in a lovely atmosphere. Staff there is friendly and very helpful.

The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

nikiryan
Cork
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th November 2009 (visited 19 November 2009)

We went there last night, the beer selection is lovely and really good value as well. Though I wasn't impressed with the food, we all had burgers and they were almost tasteless. Lovely atmosphere though.

The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

count
Kildare
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th September 2009 (visited 14 September 2009)

I popped in here last night to meet a friend and have a drink, we ended up having only a main course, i had the loin of bacon with cabbage and parsley sauce, it was lovely, my mate had the burger which was good too, lots of people about, service wasnt bad and the value was good too, ill go back again soon.

The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

Ondes
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th August 2009 (visited 30 May 2009)

This is a lovely place great for a nice meal.I went here with a large group of twenty we booked a table and platters.The food here has always been lovely and if you choose the right one good value.Some meals i feel are a little over priced.This place really does offer the best cocktails in dublin so if youre there dont leave without trying one.

The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

Ouija Board
Wicklow
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st July 2009 (visited 21 May 2009)

The right place for a leaving doe and a bit to eat. We had chicken breast burgers with chunky chips which was great. Served just the way you may expect. Obviously accompanied by plentiful of pints that's not guinness. Something needs to be done about the staff though, hopefully the management will invest in a hospitality training for the waitress.

The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

Chloe2
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th June 2009 (visited 5 June 2009)

A bunch of us stopped in here for lunch as it seemed cheap and we heard it has great beer. The beer was indeed good, according to the beer drinkers! And all the food was nice, very reasonably priced...loved all the 'stuff' hehe.

The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

NicolaT
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd June 2009 (visited 2 June 2009)

Popped in on a sunny Tuesday afternoon as a visiting friend was looking for "irish" food in an "irish" pub. She ended up having a smokey burger and loving it however I had the gammon steak with poached eggs and roast potatoes. It was ok. There was something in the taste that I didn't like. I'm quite fussy and I'm not sure what the flavour was but it did somewhat over power the food. That said, it was a good solid meal at a really excellent price. There can't be that many places in the city centre where you can get that much food for under €10. Atmosphere-wise - it was very sunny and the Porterhouse doesn't have an outside area nor is it open like some pubs as it would open onto a busy road... so it was relatively quiet but the music was decent and the staff were very friendly and accomodating, even of a late order change on a main course. All in all, I would go back but I would pick a different dish.

The Porterhouse (Parliament Street)

Puscan
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th May 2009 (visited 14 May 2009)

Was here last Thursday.I ALWAYS enjoyed the food in their north side branch(which was my local)I was desperately disappointed,will not be returning.Guess I'll just have to travel to Phibsboro for my fix.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4916 ]