La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

12 Fownes Street, Dublin 2, City Centre, Temple Bar, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 2

Dublin 2

View on Map

Cuisine:
Mediterranean

Price Range:

€€

331 reviews
4 stars - based on 331 reviews

La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

Submit a review
La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

slack
Dublin
31 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 11th December 2013 (visited 21 November 2013)

Dined here the other week with some friends. Starters of chicken wings and prawns were very good. Mains of Steak & Burgers and Fish in Batter followed by desert of Apple tart.Very enjoyable evening.

La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

Eating all
Dublin
58 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th November 2013 (visited 21 November 2013)

Dined here last thursday with 3 friends. Starters of prawns & chicken wings were quite tasty. Mains of Steak & Burgers v well presented but Fish in Batter a bit too battery !! Sweet of Apple Tart yummy.

La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

Seanky
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd September 2013 (visited 31 August 2013)

Had my birthday meal here on Saturday - The service, staff and food top class... they cant do enough for you. Dan and his team and true professionals... I had a brilliant time as always here.

La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

annmaria

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th August 2013 (visited 23 August 2013)

We organised a staff night out....we were placed in the basement which was ideal for us as we were all seated tiogether and the banter was great... The food was excellent trying to cater for 12 different people was hard however there was something on the menu for everyone....Would definately be back to La Caverna again!

La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

susanbyrn
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th April 2013 (visited 5 April 2013)

We dined here for the early bird. The restaurant was busy but there is only one seat at the window which we sat at with a great view. The remainder of the restaurant is at the back with no windows but was busy. Would visit again.

La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

riminisue
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th April 2013 (visited 1 April 2013)

La Caverna is a family favorite with my family, have eaten here a few times all with great results. The pasta dishes are to die for and the salad dressing are fab, we always have a desert which are wonderful although the wine is better value to buy the bottle. I cant give La Caverna enough praise, from the really friendly staff to the decor and the gold fish in the tables its a great little place and you would find it hard to get great food and great value then this little diamond ....

La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

Sababear
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2013 (visited 1 April 2013)

Booked for myself and family as we had bought the deal from groupon.ie for 2 pastas or 2 mains for €15. I bought the starter of the cheesy garlic bread along with my partner which was delicious and my brother got the bruschetta this was also beautiful and fresh. For the main we all got the Lasagna apart from my partner who got the Pepperoni Pizza with fries, i got the salad which had a delicious dressing on it. For dessert we ordered coffees, brownies and i got the Tiramasu which was deliciously creamy. The wine is quite expensive for a glass €6.95 and for the caraffe €18 when a bottle only cost €24.00 this was minor as our overall experience in the restaurant was great from friendly quick staff to the decor - loved the fish bowls in the table!!

La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

sue132

17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd March 2013 (visited 9 March 2013)

Very slow service. Everyone in the restaurant was complaining, they didn't have enough staff on. The pasta sauce on my carabonara was sticky and only warm. My partners dish was much also lukewarm. Lovely breads and dips though. Wouldn't go back on a weekend night. Singer was earpiercingly loud and we had to go downstairs to pay as the staff kept disappearing. Have been for lunch and it is much better when its quieter.

La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

anna31
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th March 2013 (visited 9 March 2013)

My friends and I had vouchers from DealRush and I was positively surprised. Nice and quiet restaurant in Temple Bar, food was absolutely great, friendly staff but I wouldn't say they were highly trained in service, nice atmosphere, also like the decor there especially the tiny fish tanks fitted into the tables. The portion size of the food exceeded my expectations, the same with wine. I've noticed, many restaurants downsize the portions when they offer those special deals but in La Caverna you can definitely fill up your stomach with just one course.I had Gamberi di Tigre Nera with tagliatele, loved it. Friends had Amatriciana, Menzi and Tortellini, had a taste of them, all great! Next time I might go for Amatriciana :) Although we were stuffed after the meal, we couldn't resist tasting the deserts and it was worth it. Tiramisu was just right, not overly moist and baileys cheesecake was also tasty but I forgot to mention to the waitress whether I wanted it with ice-cream or whipped cream as there was a choice, got it with cream to my disappointment, pity she didn't ask me in advance. Overall I liked it there and will come back to try other dishes.

La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

netaniagomes
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th March 2013 (visited 6 March 2013)

Lovely food and service. I'll go back there for sure!!

La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

luisinamarconi
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th February 2013 (visited 22 February 2013)

We had great dinner and the place was nice, quiet and and the live band made it perfect for a Friday night. I recommend it. Starters and dessert were great, pizzas weren't napolitalean style but still good.

La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

forelsket
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th February 2013 (visited 23 February 2013)

I have never had such awful service anywhere. My boyfriend and I came in with a dealrush voucher we had bought. They obviously wanted us in and out as soon as possible and were annoyed we weren't spending more. The waiter was incredibly rude. When giving our food he just said the names of the dishes, slammed them down in front of us and walked off without responding to our thank you or saying enjoy etc. The second we were done they took our plates away and a waitress smilingly said "So I'll bring you the desert menu now" and when we said we were too full for desert, her face soured and she stormed off without a word. The staff made it a really unpleasant experience and we left as soon as we could. WORST SERVICE EVER. We will never go there again, and will advise others to avoid it too.

La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

celena
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th February 2013 (visited 1 February 2013)

Frequent customer as cant help myself...early bird is excellent value for money, I recommend the lasagne...the staff are friendly & warm :-)

La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

richo3

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th February 2013 (visited 3 February 2013)

Great food, great service, will be back again

La Caverna Restaurant & Wine Bar

Jules87
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th December 2012 (visited 21 December 2012)

I have been to La Caverna several times before and had mostly good experiences however the previous time I had been unimpressed but I thought I'd give it another go. Mistake. The food appeared as reheated (some parts microwaved) and of a poor standard. The two of us ordered pasta and as it is an 'Italian' restaurant we expected that the pasta would be fresh and homemade and I can tell you this most definitely was not the case. We were asked how our food was at one stage and we said it wasn't good - the waitress replied saying she'd get someone to speak to but of course this never happened. Very disappointed with the place and will not be returning again.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5650 ]