The Halfway House restaurant

Walkinstown Road, Walkinstown, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 12

Dublin 12

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Pub Grub

Price Range:

€€

33 reviews
4 stars - based on 33 reviews

The Halfway House

Submit a review
The Halfway House

keithm001
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st March 2010 (visited 15 March 2010)

Highly recommended. A curious mix of pub grub and restaurant food. Food here for the price is always excellent value. Proportions are very big and cooked to the highest standard. It can get quite crowded at peak times but worth a visit none the less.

The Halfway House

xcloudx
Dublin
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:60%

Reviewed 30th August 2009 (visited 12 August 2009)

I have eaten here. I really enjoyed the food. Staff were lovely and helpful. Price was good for meals! Will be eating here again!

The Halfway House

kearamurphy
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th July 2009 (visited 18 July 2009)

I have eaten in the Halfway House several times, as it is my parents regular place for dinner on a Saturday, rain or shine. Last Saturday after my son's baptism sixteen of us headed there for a meal, it was lovely as always. Service is always so friendly, and if a little slow (there were eight adults and eight children) it was polite and old school. Some of us had the special value menu, the T bone steak was lovely, but the highlight for me was the mozzarella salad, my five year old daughter loves the melon. We have already booked a table for my mum's 65th birthday next month.

The Halfway House

BJ
Dublin
48 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 10th July 2009 (visited 6 July 2009)

Paid a visit to the Half Way House for the first time. The tables were all nicely laid out with tableclothes and flowers which was a bit unexpeced. I loved the music they played. We were given a basket with delicious which and brown bread. I had Chicken Madras, which was perfect, and my other half had Roast Beef with potatoes, vegetables, and gravy which was served seperately. Next time I visit I will definitely have to sample the beef.

The Halfway House

jenny106
Dublin
76 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th June 2009 (visited 3 May 2009)

Had the carvery here on a Sunday afternoon. Was okay but wouldn't hurry back just for it.

The Halfway House

Hungry Horse
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th May 2009 (visited 15 May 2009)

Visited here last week with my girlfriend and another couple. Hadn't heard about the four course meal for €25. The four of us had starters which were all divine, (Seafood patties x1, potato skins x1, Cajun mackerel fillets x1 and a soup...... all excellent. Four mains including T-bone steaks x2, Sea Bass x1 and Chicken escalope all presented well and four exquisite desserts, four coffees and two bottles of wine.... One hundred and thirty euros ,€65 per couple!!!! Unbelievable value!!! Atmosphere was a buzz, we had a table that overlooked the whole restaurant, which was full as far as i could see. Service was just the way we like it. Swift and not in your face! We were having a drink at the table when the manager asked us had we seen the smoking area. We asked could we move and within two minutes there was a table brought up for us and we sat in warmth for the rest of the evening. Couldn't say enough good things... Booked in for sat night again!! Other pubs should take stock!!!

The Halfway House

vero1
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th May 2009 (visited 3 May 2009)

was in the halfway house and the food was ok had my two childeren with me they do provide half portions for childeren, but they Don't always want carvery so i ordered a half portion of the pasta for one of my childeren and i waited for 30-45mins we were finished our dinner before my child got her dinner was impressed at all.

The Halfway House

chkmk
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th February 2009 (visited 21 February 2009)

I eat here nearly every sunday and it is the best carvery in dublin for sure. Staff are so helpful and food is consistently good. Food is also lovely during week but a bit pricey. I would recommend this during week for a family dinner or romantic meal for two as it has candle lit tables and service is excellent, at weekend it is fab for a sunday lunch and a great handover cure. O and the desserts are mainly home made and to die for!! Love this for food and drink, highly recommended and I'm very fussy when it comes to carvery food.

The Halfway House

badabing
Dublin
112 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th April 2010 (visited 10 April 2010)

Competent service, well presented and tasty food at very reasonable prices. A bit of thought was put into their Set menu and it shows. It is excellent value for 25 Euro and there is no drop in the standard of food. Worth a visit for an informal night out.

The Halfway House

pete & ave
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th December 2008 (visited 15 December 2008)

I have eaten here several times over the last year or so. Service is very attentive and never over powering. Food is always at a high standard and overall layout is very well thought out.. An absolute must for a meal or a pint. A small bit more expensive but you can really see why. Smoking area is great.... couldnt find fault with this place at all. Will be back for more!!!!!

The Halfway House

neiller30

34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd July 2008 (visited 4 March 2008)

Great lunch food at good prices. Well worth a visit if you live in and around the area and want to go for lunch. Would recommend it to anyone.

The Halfway House

Giggles
Dublin
36 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th June 2008 (visited 15 June 2008)

Ate here for Sunday dinner with my brother and sister and the cavery was fantastic as always, I had the chicken my brother had the turkey and my sister had the cod, no complaints from anyone, was busy today as it was fathers day but there was still no problem getting a table, defo be back.

The Halfway House

JaxMax
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2008 (visited 8 February 2008)

I keep meaning to try the carvery here as have heard only good things about it, but have only eaten here in the evening off the menu and it was lovely. I had the steak and it was cooked to my liking, portions were on the large side too and as I'd had a starter already had a little trouble finishing the main meal - kept room for dessert thought which was lovely too. Staff were efficient and friendly. No complaints.

The Halfway House

foodiegirl

7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th January 2008 (visited 16 December 2007)

My family live around the corner from this pub and we often go there for Sunday lunch which is always lovely, I really like that they don't just heap food onto your plate but actually put care into how it is presented even when the queue is out the door! I also like that you can see them constantly changing veg and putting fresh produce out so you know your food hasn't been sitting under lights all day. I have also had the lunch menu and it's just as good as the carvary! They have really turned this place around well worth the money for a well cooked dinner with now washing up

The Halfway House

stargate

6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th October 2007 (visited 24 September 2007)

I drank here in the 70s and boy has it changed. Had a business lunch here last week, the food is fresh, wholesome, filling and well presented. Carvery is well manned and the staff actually seem like they want your business. It was great and I'll be back.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4601 ]