Royal Tandoori restaurant

95 Terenure Road North, South Dublin, Terenure, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 6

Dublin 6

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Indian

Price Range:

€€

81 reviews
4 stars - based on 81 reviews

Royal Tandoori

Submit a review
Royal Tandoori

cath bee
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th May 2014 (visited 2 May 2014)

We found this restaurant through menupages and have paid two visits in a week.Staff are very welcoming and attentive without overdoing it, and of course bringing your own wine is a great plus!Love my indian food and we were not disappointed on either occasion.Without even asking staff were kind to suggest a doggy bag should we like?.Yussain we will be back for sure!!! : )

Royal Tandoori

usmhot
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th April 2014 (visited 27 February 2014)

Regularly meet up for a lads night out with my brothers - a few drinks and usually a curry. The Royal Tandoori in Terenure is one of our favourites. The food is always great and the service is always welcoming and friendly. The restaurant itself is quite basic, but you don't need frills and fancy dining when the food speaks for itself. There is a great range of Indian dishes from the mild and tasty to proper spicy, all with distinctive flavours. Everything is freshly prepared and well presented. The fact that it is BYOB (with free corkage) is the icing on the cake - with a handy off-licence right across the road you simply can't go wrong. Highly recommended.

Royal Tandoori

Lorna Dalton
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd September 2013 (visited 3 September 2013)

Booked this restaurant for 16 people to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday last Saturday night. They gave us the upstairs, which they set out for us so that we could all sit together, it was like our own little function room. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and even helped us decorate the room before hand. The attention from the staff didn't waver throughout the entire night and I have to say it was one of the best night's we have all had in a long time. As for the food that didn't dissapoint either, it was delicious, from starters to main courses each and every person was raving about them. The BYOB was also a really good selling point and made the night inexpensive for all. I would highly recommend this restaurant to everyone for the amazing service and fabulous food.

Royal Tandoori

allenl
Dublin
54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th July 2013 (visited 12 July 2013)

Went here Fri night with a friend. As it was a fiercely hot evening wasn't sure if Indian food the best option but really enjoyed the meal. Complimentary popadoms and dips served on arrival. Shared a sizzling chicken tikka starter which was very tasty, my main of king prawn kashmiri with pilau rice delicious. Service excellent - waiter even brought glass of ice without being asked in case our drinks were too warm. "Bring your own" drinks a great perk and no corkage charge. Certainly one of the best value Indian restaurants around and food consistently excellent.

Royal Tandoori

Eleanor

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:0%

Reviewed 11th July 2013 (visited 22 June 2013)

The fact that it is BYOB with no corkage adds to the value of the place. The interior is very basic, not for someone looking for a fancy night out. The food was all lovely 8 of us ate and no one had any complaints. The waiter was very helpful in suggesting things on the menu etc when we were ordering. Overall a good night and would return

Royal Tandoori

lyndsay _star
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th July 2013 (visited 12 June 2013)

Ate here with a group of 20, the food and service was great... The main courses took. A while to land but that was understandable with such a big group!!! We had a mixed platter to start and I had Chicken Tikka Masala for a main course! It's BYOB which I love and there's no corkage charge!

Royal Tandoori

Boc1971
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th January 2013 (visited 20 January 2013)

We ordered a takeout from here this evening and it arrived cold! A couple of the dishes were lukewarm, but the naan and rice were stone cold! When I rang to complain, I was told there was nothing they could do. We spent in excess of €30 for one starter and two mains with one rice and naan. They obviously are not interested in customer satisfaction so we will not be ordering from them again!

Royal Tandoori

Rankor
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th August 2012 (visited 20 August 2012)

I've been ordering from royal tandoori for years and I always recommend it as the best Indian place on the south side.BUT the last two dishes I ordered had the worst, dried-out, stringy hard to swallow chicken I've ever had. It was undigestible. It tastes like the cheap stuff you'd get in a bog standard places. The sauce was as detailed as ever but they are definitely cheaping out on the chicken these days. Very salty and rubbery. It's such a shame that another one of my small pleasures in life has fallen prey to the lowest common denominator. I think they may have dropped their prices recently but I had no problem paying the extra couple of euro for 'higher spec' chicken! This is too big a corner to be cut. We've seen the RTE documentary about old as hell foreign chicken finding it's way onto our plates and I think this same crap has made it into a once brilliant restaurant. Any chance you could sort your chicken out. Craaaazy salty and dry.

Royal Tandoori

Silviapas
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 12th March 2012 (visited 11 March 2012)

I found the dining experience quite enjoyable. The service was fantastic and they were very polite. The food is reasonable priced and exceptional different. They had very good house wine and they have many variety of food.

Royal Tandoori

flanderss
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th September 2011 (visited 1 September 2011)

While I can't comment on the atmosphere as so far I have only had takeout from the Royal. Have to say the food from this place is the best Indian I've found in Dublin. Love the murgh makani, the shashlik, the bhuna.. its all good. Yum yum yum. I've tried other Indian restaurant's in southside Dublin, but none can hold a torch to the Royal.

Royal Tandoori

natzzer
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:47%

Reviewed 16th July 2011 (visited 14 July 2011)

Went here with a friend on a Thursday night. Although the place is small the interior looked new and is very cosy and oppulent. We shared the mixed starter which was plenty for 2 and brought our own wine. There was no corkage fee and we werent charged for the popadoms and dips we were given on arrival. Tables are close together but it wasnt too busy. It might be a bit claustrophobic if the place were full but we had a very pleasant evening. I will definitely be coming back to the restaurant and for takeaway. The food was excellent and the service was very good. Also reasonably priced especially compared to other local eateries.

Royal Tandoori

Prunty
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th June 2011 (visited 28 June 2011)

I bought a takeaway from Royal Tandoori just last night and was very pleased with the quality of food provided. Aesthetically this restaurant could do with a bit of facelift but the interior seems clean and warm, mind you I was only briefly inside when collecting my food. (The BYOB feature would attract a sit down visit.) The food was delicious. I opted for the korma and an aloo saag to start and both were very nice - although the korma could have done with some raisins or something to add an extra something to the texture. My girlfriend went for the Chicken Patia, which didn't feature on the menu, and was very pleased if was slightly surprised by how hot it was. Poppadoms were a little soggy. Staff seemed very friendly and ultimately it was a positive experience and one which we'll be repeating.

Royal Tandoori

Weso
Limerick
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th June 2011 (visited 20 May 2011)

This place is much nicer on the inside than it looks on the outside, that said the decor on the inside does need updating and the tables can be close together. There was a big party there the night we went there but they moved them upstairs to another part of the restaurant which was perfect for their private party. The food was nice and fairly good value, I'd go back again.

Royal Tandoori

mountainview
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd May 2011 (visited 23 April 2011)

Food is really very good and reasonable. Atmosphere very good. Staff very friendly and attentative. Tables too close and in general the restaurant could do with updating, however this would not put me off from returning in the future.

Royal Tandoori

sanjay
Dublin
35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 02nd May 2011 (visited 2 May 2011)

Eating out in Dublin hasn't been a pleasant experience. Food is overpriced, and generally barely average. I was quite pleasantly surprised with Royal Tandoori. The food was really good! I had a few special requests to meet my dietary requirements, and the staff was very obliging. Everything was obviously freshly prepared, and the taste was authentic. Prices of the mains are a bit steep, and do not include rice. Their delivery service is also great. I didn't have to go through a website and then call a number to provide payment details (and then the number isn't answered or no longer exists!) I just called them placed the order, and gave them my address. definitely would use them again, and would recommend them!

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4851 ]