Mayfield Deli & Eatery restaurant

Terenure Road North, South Dublin, Terenure, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 6

Dublin 6

View on Map

Cuisine:
Delicatessen

Price Range:


34 reviews
4 stars - based on 34 reviews

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

Submit a review
Mayfield Deli & Eatery

rosebud
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st September 2013 (visited 25 August 2013)

I love this place for brunch! Every time I meet my friends for brunch we go here! The eggs benedict are always good so I usually get that. If the soup sounds good (last time I was there it was carrot, coconut and chilli YUM!) I get the goats cheese and beetroot ciabatta. I've never been disappointed and I think the staff are great! Love the loose tea leaves in they use for tea and the mis matched delf (it's like eating at home) I saw last week that they're expanding and I'm delighted for them! They deserve all the business they get!

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

louse
Dublin
46 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th August 2013 (visited 12 August 2013)

I expected great things from Mayfield following recommendations from a friend. I was a little disappointed however. Upon arrival, a waitress walked pass us without so much as a hello or smile. We asked the waitress whether it was too cold to sit outside and were advised (in a nice way) that it probably was. We agreed and went to follow her to a table. We were then approached by who I assume was the manager, who said there was rain forecasted and that he wouldn't serve hot food outside. We found him to be quite snappy and his comment to be unhelpful and unnecessary. As a vegetarian, I found it difficult to choose something from the menu. Lots of goat's cheese and beet root which unfortunately, I don't like. The decor in the restaurant was almost quirky but just a little off. The walls are quite rough looking and the place was not very comfortable nor cosy. I'm sure Mayfield will continue to be just as popular but just isn't my cup of tea.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

katemc2

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th July 2013 (visited 7 July 2013)

Friday 5th July I booked a table for Sunday Brunch for party of 4. I requested a table in the courtyard and was surprised when told Mayfield's policy was not to reserve tables outside. When I got to the restaurant I saw a beautifully dressed table in the courtyard with a 'Reserve' sign on it. My friends who had arrived ahead of me had been seated indoors. Assuming there had been some mix up I approached a staff member who directed me to talk with the senior management person. He informed me that the table in question had been reserved that morning for another party. When I tried to explain I had booked two days previously he shoved two small tables together in the courtyard and in a most unpleasant manner said "There's your table" I was in conversation with my friends trying to make sense of Mayfield's Reserve Policy when the same person stood over our table and shouted at me "Are you not happy"? While attempting to explain my confusion he interrupted me with "You got your table, didn't you?" Taken aback by this hostile aggressive manner I asked him not to interrupt me, his response was to whip the menus off the table and walk away! I have been fortunate enough to travel widely both in a personal capacity and as part of the tourist industry. I have enjoyed food in 5 star restaurants and in very simple diners. However I have never experienced or witnessed anything to equal last Sunday. Mayfield is in a beautiful location, it is creatively and thoughtfully decorated, the food looks amazing, (unfortunately we didn't get to taste it) however without solid interpersonal skill and good customer care it lacks both style and class.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

justafoodie
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th February 2013 (visited 14 February 2013)

Third times a charm, at least at Mayfield it is. I have been here now on three occasions and have enjoyed each visit. We met a friend here for brunch first time and it was beautiful, I had Eggs Benedict which were so nice, my partner had the breakfast pie which I was told was really nice also. Second visit was for dinner which too was delicious. Today we went for lunch and again weren't disappointed with either the food or the service. Lunch time here is extremely busy and I have seen people having to wait or leave and come back before getting a table. I love the decor, very retro chic and quite eclectic. The staff are a definite bonus to this little gem, very polite and friendly. All in all excellent value for money.Will be back.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

Sugarpoof
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th November 2012 (visited 10 November 2012)

Union Square is a suburban gem. It came recommend from two friends so I decided to make the trip up to Terrunure to see what the fuss was about. Instead of fuss, it was a chilled out, very enjoyable afternoon. The courtyard hides the hustle and bustle going on inside but I’d imagine on a summers day, is packed with happy customers. The decor is deliberately random and retro. It’s like being in a sitting room of a scatty friend with nothing matching but comfortable. The maître d was effortlessly sauntering around, seated us immediately and wandered off serving coffees and taking orders. A lovely style of service that was natural and fitted in with the whole feel of the place. The menu was made up of soup/ sandwiches, salads and brunch dishes. It’s a very difficult decision when you’re starving and can’t pick between several items, a testament to a good menu. In the end I went for a honey roasted pear salad. It came out with malt brown toast and lashings of blue cheese dressing. There were grapes in every bite and some big crunchy croutons. The only minus was the burned taste from the croutons. Unfortunately, the bagel and soup Shane got didn’t deliver as highly even thought the soup sounded very promising flavoured with fennel and courgette. Overall, Union Square was just as good as any of the breakfasts I’ve had in the NYC version which is a big compliment because the Americans do great breakfasts! I’ll be back!

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

KarenD
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th August 2012 (visited 10 August 2012)

Had lunch today and couldn't fault it. Helped that the sun was shining and we got to eat outside. My friend had the mackrel pate and I had the duck pie. Both were delish, with lots of bits on the side. A very filling, tasty lunch. Will definitely be back.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

spoofy
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd August 2012 (visited 2 August 2012)

Discovered this little gem today while driving by. Am quite a difficult customer to please when it comes to eating out, so I do not say this lightly. I was really impressed by the place. I absolutely loved it!! Oh, the decor, the little courtyard in full bloom, a mish mash of spotted tablecloths and one table actually had a bench and a princess canopy overhead, I was in kitsch heaven. The friendly staff who were really laid back and not overly attentive (which I much prefer), and last but not least the food. My lunch was the hummus and pesto plate with feta salad and pitta bread. One of the tastiest lunches I have been served in a long time. Absolutely faultless, and my lunch date agrees. My tea served in a little china cup and saucer - pure decadence. And for afters, carrot cake, compote and cream, delicious. Add to this a glass of wine and a mocha, all for 25 euro. I'll most definitely be back.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

Lilywhitegirl
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th June 2012 (visited 9 June 2012)

I met my friend for a morning coffee in Union Square on a Saturday morning. I had seen the extension to Mayfield while passing by the area and was really looking forward to trying it out. The atmosphere and decor is wonderful. It's old stlye, rustic look is very appealing. The old fashioned cups and saucers etc add to the atmosphere. When we arrived the staff were very welcoming and attentive, and we were very impressed. The brunch menu was interesting. We however only ordered tea and scones, which were lovely. However our waiter called over asking would we like anything else, and when we said no they asked would we like bill. We felt we were being rushed out, and there wasn't a queue of people waiting for the table. This unfortunately ruined our so far pleasant morning. We were asked on numerous occasions if we would like anything else, and finally told our table was needed. We felt very unwelcome and will not return in a hurry! I would absolutely understand if there were customers waiting on the table - however there was not a queue, and there were spare tables. Lovely cafe, lovely setting, however disappointing service.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

budgemook
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th March 2012 (visited 4 February 2012)

Came here for Brunch a few weeks back and was wowed by the quality of what was on offer. I ordered the breakfast pie, which was kind of like a quiche with bacon and sausage, and it was amazing. Served by extremely friendly staff, not rushed even though they were busy and extremely good value. Amazing coffee. Highly recommend.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

blackeyedpete
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th January 2012 (visited 24 November 2011)

Love Mayfield with its quirky touches and homemade food. Its a great spot for lunch & brunch and early tea. I also attended a theater night which was fun and unique. The Kevins are great hosts. The place is small but welcoming. Keep up the good work guys.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

Inspector Michael
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd December 2011 (visited 18 December 2011)

Just wowed by this amazing little find in the village of Terenure.suberb good wonderfully served by a team of really friendly staff who their best to make your short time here so enjoyable, Great Great Coffee!!!!!! Highly Recommened

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

buddy2
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th November 2011 (visited 12 November 2011)

Reserved a table for breakfast, arrived on time, restaurant was smoky and appeared to be in a state of chaos. There was a table available but it was not cleaned or set or reserved. No mention or acknowledgement of the fact that I had booked. A coupe who were sitting near us on getting their breakfast asked what the bacon had been cooked in (it was black) and just got up and left. It's a small place so you can hear everything. We were waiting a very long time after we ordered, with no apology or explanation. The breakfast when it did arrive came before the cutlery (table was never cleaned or set). We could not differentiate between the Earl Grey and the breakfast tea. There was no sugar on the table and when we were asked if we wanted some and we said yes it never arrived. We eventually has to get it ourselves. The side salad (not sure why offered with breakfast) was limp and inedible. Overall the food was well below par and not as expected. Having frequented the Mayfield a number of times since it opened I have to say we were really, really disappointed and unfortunately we won't be back

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

Grebe
Dublin
65 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th April 2012 (visited 30 March 2012)

Cycling by Mayfield three weeks ago, I had to slam on the brakes and go back to take another look! The guys have taken on the building next door (formerly an office supplies company and perhaps an abattoir serving the butcher's shop that Mayfield is located in) and called it Union Square. What caught my eye was the new pale green paint, the open gates and the tables in the yard. I had a quick look around and decided to call back at some stage. On the evening I kept my promise to myself, I brought my 12-year-old son with me. We hadn't booked (I didn't realise you needed to) and were lucky to get the last table at about 6.45pm on a Friday evening. It was just inside the door and being a cold-blooded creature I was a little concerned. I was probably overly conscious of staff going back and forth between Mayfield and Union Square, and the door opening and closing, but it wasn't too drafty. The menu includes meat, cheese and fish platters, as well as hot and cold meals. The son chose the meat platter, selecting 3 different meats from 6 or 7. I went for the fish platter. For cold food, the platters took quite a long time to arrive, but couldn't be faulted for generosity of portions and tastiness. The bread accompanying our platters was delicious and served in biscuit tins! (There a lot of interesting quirks in the decor, furniture and crockery) The son had a chocolate brownie for dessert - very big, very chocolatey, but not nutty enough. His home-made lemonade was very sweet (he couldn't finish it) and the tap water tasted of chlorine. The bill for 2 platters, 1 dessert, the lemonade and a glass of wine came to about €38. I was very pleased and am planning to go back.

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

MXFT
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th October 2011 (visited 21 September 2011)

Totally unfriendly staff. Arrived at 2.45pm on a weekday and asked for tea and a scone. Was told that I'd have to leave if a group arrived and wanted my very small table. Totally unacceptable and not the first time. I've been there before, nice food but the worst attitude I've ever seen. AVOID!!!!

Mayfield Deli & Eatery

pamage
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th June 2011 (visited 5 June 2011)

I enjoyed a wonderful brunch here on Sunday with party of 4. The staff were friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was lovely - even though the place was full, it still seemed like we were enjoying an intimate meal. The pouched eggs were excellent, the french toast delicious and very generous portions. Our water was refilled regularly and we weren't rushed in any way. I look forward to going back for an evening meal very soon.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4633 ]