The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

Stepaside Village, Dublin 18 , Stepaside, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 18

Dublin 18

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Gastro Pub

Price Range:

€€

78 reviews
4 stars - based on 78 reviews

The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

Submit a review
The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

Nic L
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th August 2012 (visited 26 August 2012)

My wife,daughter and I had dinner here on Sunday evening. It was not too busy and the waiter was initially attentive before we ordered our meal but after our starters arrived there was absolutely no attention given to us due to a total lack of waiting staff in the "Stone Grill". The service was was appalling, I can honestly say the worst I have ever experienced. We had to ask for cutlery, salt and drinks!The food was average and we had a 40 minute wait between courses for pasta and a burger. The only person serving was looking after all orders.When we did ask for another drink because it wasn't written down anywhere it took several reminders when we did catch his attention and even then it took about 20 minutes for a glass of Coke to arrive.My two year old daughter was looking forward to her ice-cream which having asked twice for arrived as we were leaving with her apple juice that we had also ordered during her meal.Just not good enough! My husbands biggest mistake was going to the Mens toilet's.There was more urine on the floor than in the loo's, It looked like they had now been cleaned in weeks!!Frankly it was disgusting.I have been living in Stepaside for the past 8 years and have frequented the Step Inn for numerous years on many occasions.I will not be returning.

The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

Silver1
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd May 2012 (visited 19 May 2012)

Dined last Saturday with 2 others and brought our own wine. I shared the Brie and Fig and wish I hadn't, it was delicious! The other starter was Nachos, which were a bit hot for me and a huge helping, but was thoroughly enjoyed by the diner. I had the Flat Steak on the Stone, which I much preferred than the other Fillet Steak ordered. The steaks came with 3 sauces, the pepper sauce was my favourite. The Burger with Goats Cheese was well praised too. Loved cooking steak to my own taste, but had to eat it quick otherwise it keeps cooking on the Stone and it gets hot sitting over the Stone. Will definitely go back to have my own Brie and that yummy Flat Steak again.The service seemed to be shared with the buzy lounge, but very friendly.

The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

777jockey
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th May 2012 (visited 24 March 2012)

We have been here on a couple of occasions and this time chose their early bird menu. I had their rotissery chicken and my partner had the steak. The food as always was excellent however the one gripe I had which was the way they charge €5 for 3 measly prawns to go with a steak. They were tiny and not worth it. The steaks are already expensive enough and to charge this amount for 3 tiny prawns annoyed me. Otherwise would go back but they have an opportunity to put the icing on the cake so to speak by offering better value to incite customers to go for the extras.

The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

yummymummy33
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th October 2011 (visited 26 August 2011)

one of my locals. great pub, always something on. a classy pub, with classy food and great service. one of the best locals in dublin. love the steaks.

The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

nightofffofme
Dublin
35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:40%

Reviewed 15th September 2011 (visited 14 September 2011)

10 of us went to the Stone Grill that evening. Overall we were happy with the food we ordered. However the fishcake starter had no taste or texture of fish. It had a lot of potato and some of this was a little hard and in lumps. My husband ordered the wantons and was disappointed with it. It was very overpriced for the amount he got and not particularly tasty.

The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

suzifoodie
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th September 2011 (visited 27 August 2011)

Myself and my boyfriend visit the stone quite often and I have been meaning to review it for a little while now. The atmosphere is great some nights and others it lacks. The food however is its winning point. On our last visit we were greeted promptly and shown to a table with barely a hello from the host who left he menus on a table which by assumtion we sat down at. As we were looking at the menus a waiter approached us after about 5 minutes and took our drinks and food order, he was friendly and efficient. We ordered the chicken wings to start which were nice but the portion size had decreased since our last visit. For our mains i had Steak on stone and my boyfriend had a burger both of which were very nice my favourite being the Steak which i think is their best signature dish as the meat is so succulent and tender. All in all the meal is great food for great value especially if you get there in time for the early bird. The only thing which I was unhappy about was our greeting which was very rude and if we hadnt been here before it would have really put us off.

The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

Owleretta
Dublin
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th July 2011 (visited 30 June 2011)

Despite living in the area over a year I had never eaten here. I'm glad I now have as I would certainly return. Despite the kitchen closing in about 3 minutes, the staff sat us down and happily provided menus, we ordered promptly and opted for just 3 main courses. 2 went for the famous steak on the stone steaks, and being the veggie I picked out a goats cheese salad. The salad was delicious, great sized portion of cheese and salads, including delicious pine nuts and wholemeal bread; washed down with a lovely bottle of red wine. The room is very nice, quite dark and intimate without seeming stuffy, it suits a night of good conversation and food. Although I didn't pay I know that the bill was deemed very reasonable for the quality of food and service received.

The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

LouiseJ
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th July 2011 (visited 3 July 2011)

4 of us dined here last night for my sisters birthday. I really enjoyed cooking my own steak - I've never experienced that before and I'll undoubtedly be back before the end of th summer to do that again. The meat was really good quality, service was friendly and excellent, we left wanting for nothing and all of us agreed that the value for money was really great, especially in this climate!

The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

pepsi123
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th May 2011 (visited 5 March 2011)

We had friends over from UK and brought them here instead of our usual step inn next door. Food was lovely, service very good, and a novelty to cook your own food on the lava rock at our table, I think it lacked atmosphere, but I am comparing it to next door where there is usually music, all in all we had a lovely meal and great service, and we will be back.

The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

springfield
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th March 2011 (visited 26 March 2011)

Have eaten here 3 times now.The quality of the food is consistently good. portion sizes are excellent, with a good selection of veg & sauces. I had the 15oz sirloin the last 2 times I've been, and its excellent, if slightly expensive for a sirloin (would prefer a striploin). The only ribeye on the menu is a 7oz. so thats a bit restrictive. The markup on the wines is excessive, with a bottle of Faustino V at €33 !!! Service is efficient if not the friendliest I've ever experienced. The restaurant itself is nicely decorated and comfortable. Overall, a very enjoyable experience, which should only improve as they "fine tune" the restaurant. Highly reccommended.

The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

albie
Dublin
52 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:70%

Reviewed 16th October 2011 (visited 15 October 2011)

Went for dinner Saturday night with my partner, we had the spicy chicken wings to start , they were disappointing , they were not spicy and did not have a great flavour. I had fish and chips , the chips were nice, the fish was fine My partner had the curry, which came with rice and chips which was good , however the curry did not have much flavour. Our waitress was very friendly and atmosphere was nice

The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

cowana
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd January 2011 (visited 23 December 2010)

This is my second visit as it is local. We were a party of 9 for a birthday. We went for the stone steak option, Meat is fine and the roast veg was frozen. You cant really say any more about a stone food restaurant. The service was excellent. This is not a place for good food but more of a place for a birthday in a big group.

The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

pamelab
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd October 2010 (visited 22 August 2010)

Was here with about 12 people and we all went for the steak stone option as none of us had it before. The place was buzzing, nice atmosphere in the place and the staff were so nice and spent time to have a quick chat with us. The steaks are amazing....i could have eaten 2. Hdnt seen the steak stone thing anywhere before and was glad i tried it. Toilets were clean, staff prompt and friendly, restaurant had a great vibe to it...all in all...great place!

The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

GinoG
Dublin
35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th November 2011 (visited 30 October 2011)

Went here for dinner, and I loved it. Althought the steak comes out practically moo-ing, it cooks so nice on the stone, and to my own liking specifically! Great new side orders too since the last time I was there. Full marks all round! If your going to get the steak, the Fillet is your only man.

The Step Inn Stone-Grill Restaurant

badabing
Dublin
112 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th August 2010 (visited 11 August 2010)

Really enjoyed my visit to the stone grill. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, and cooking your fillet steak on the hot stone adds to the atmosphere. Overall a very pleasant dining experience with great food, a winner all round.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4836 ]