Marios (Sandymount) restaurant

2 Sandymount Green, Dublin 4, Sandymount, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Cuisine:
Italian

Price Range:


86 reviews
3 stars - based on 86 reviews

Marios (Sandymount)

Submit a review
Marios (Sandymount)

mcginncf
Wicklow
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th May 2011 (visited 13 May 2011)

Mario's has been in Sandymount nearly 10 years now, and is still the good local restaurant its always been, as there's not many in the area at all. Three of us went on Friday at 6pm, and got a table straight away without a booking. Its not a romantic type place though, but as we were just looking for a quick bite before off to the RDS, we were delighted with their early-bird menu at just €20 for 2 courses plus a glass of wine. Generous size starters of prawns(6) with salad leaves, and warm beans & salad were very welcome, plus the glasses of red & white wines we had were quite acceptable for the offer. We had mains of locally made beefburger with loads of chips, chicken risotto and grilled salmon on a bed of mash in pesto and we complimented all dishes to the manager on leaving. Try it out before off to any local gig like the Grand Canal theatre, Sandymount Greyhound Racing or RDS for the rugby; you'll not be disappointed.

Marios (Sandymount)

coke4
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th March 2011 (visited 16 March 2011)

Not a bad restaurant, I think it has improved a lot over the recent years. The food is good, not great, not bad. Service is good but that is largely due to the fact that whenever I have been there it has been quiet. The interior of the restaurant is nice, modern, lots of light. Prices are average. A reasonable restaurant.

Marios (Sandymount)

outandaboutindub
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th November 2010 (visited 30 October 2010)

I live in the area and have eaten in Marios many times over the years. I had not been in in about 12 months and popped in for something recently. I was pleased to still recognise some of the staff who as always were very welcoming and friendly. There was also a new menu and what looks to be a new chef. We were delighted as one of the reasons we had not been in a while was it had become monotonous. We had the Antipasto to start and it was very good. My partner had the fillet steak and I had the vegetarian Canelloni. Both were extremely good! We will be going back again for sure!

Marios (Sandymount)

RocknRoll
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd June 2010 (visited 4 May 2010)

They're beginning to skimp at Mario's. staff are rushed as there are less of them. Our usual starter the Anti Pasta Misto doesn't have the sundried tomatoes anymore. Lack lustre, poor. Had lasagne, wasn't great either. Standards are slipping, and we don't deserve it

Marios (Sandymount)

Tweeter
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th May 2010 (visited 24 May 2010)

Tried Marios for the first time last night. Went for the Set Menu of starter, main and glass of wine for €20. The service was great with smiley and attentive waiters. However the food was a bit lackluster, not offensive but not good either. The ravioli starter with taragon sauce was bland and heavy, linguine with parma was interesting but pasta cooked almost to the point of soggy...a bit inexcusable for an italian restaurant. Service was the redeeming feature of the evening although would not be in a rush back.

Marios (Sandymount)

iandel
Dublin
30 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th May 2010 (visited 9 May 2010)

I have been to the Marios in Ranelagh and Terenure and thought they were okay, but the food I had in the Sandymount branch tonight was dreadful. I had Linguine Tuscan - the chicken was overcooked and the tomato sauce didn't taste of anything. The banoffee pie for dessert was equally disappointing - lots of cheap canned whipped cream and chocolate sauce, but not much banana and no toffee whatsoever as far as I could taste. Overall, this was overpriced and disappointing.

Marios (Sandymount)

Rosy
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th April 2010 (visited 15 April 2010)

Popped into Marios for dinner last night, got there around 8pm. Were left waiting a few mins at the bar area before being shown to our table. When the waiter came to take our order we went with the Eur20 menu which included a glass of wine. Good value we thought. The waiter couldnt' have looked less interested, we got the impression that because we weren't spending much money they really couldn't be bothered if we stayed or not. We were left waiting a long time for both courses, and when the mains did eventually arrive they forget my husband's chips so he had one burger with a bit of salad and that was it - oh and no bun just the burger. We had to get the attention of one of the waiting staff which took long enough as they were busy not catching people's eyes. Not impressed at all and won't be back. Considering we have been there together and with friends several times over the years I was very disappointed. Much prefer Marios in Terenure.

Marios (Sandymount)

steiner

27 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd December 2009 (visited 21 December 2009)

There for lunch on Monday with work colleagues. It was as good as usual. no complaints. Had the burger with pepper sauce and it was lovely as usual. Companions had the anitpasto and the chicken and mushroom. All very happy. The staff and service were great but beware if you want the burger and are under time constraints its wise to order in ahead. Being Christmas we decided to have desert. tiramisu followed by some good coffee. Pity we had to go back to work. Will go there for dinner when time isnt a factor as much. Would recommend.

Marios (Sandymount)

mary112
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st October 2009 (visited 18 October 2009)

My friends and i went to marios on sandymount green on saturday evening, we arrived all 3 at about 7.30.i have not been here in two years as my job relocated.It was great to see the same friendly faces still there,We were welcomed like regulars and shown to a table in the window.the decor has changed and the front area is all plush with lovely couches and curtains. from start to finish this turned out to be a great evening great food very attentive service and the catching up with old friends. even though my job wont relocate back there we will make a point of going back as much as possible. great things never change .Thanks mario.

Marios (Sandymount)

Bombom
Dublin
26 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th October 2009 (visited 16 October 2009)

I have eaten in Marios on numerous occasions since it has opened. The food is always tasty and fresh. The service is not always great, but that can be depending on what night it is. It would be nice for them to maybe have some special offers on offer though. We had one starter, two mains , one dessert, one beer and one glass of wine and it was €65 approx.

Marios (Sandymount)

Kerad

32 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st July 2009 (visited 30 June 2009)

Went there for dinner last night. The atmospehre is OK. I was a bit dissapointed with the food. I had the tomato bruscheta to start with and the salmon for a main and it was just ok, nothing special and wow about this. My friend had one of their pizzas and that was very tasty. I found the service rather dissmissive and not caring so as a result there was no tip. It's a shame really as I don't i will be back there.

Marios (Sandymount)

fly28
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th June 2009 (visited 21 April 2009)

A work colleague who lives in Sandymount originally recommened this place. I have now been there a few times and love their Pasta al Pollo. Have also tried a few of the pizzas that are quite nice. Staff can be a bit hit and miss but I have never had any major complaints. They seem to have seating upstaris but I have never seen anyone up there so not sure if they keep it for larger parties. Like the touch of black pepper and parmesan on tables so that you can hel yourself.

Marios (Sandymount)

PC Algar
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd June 2009 (visited 9 May 2009)

I came here with a friend for lunch. I have been to the Marios in Ranelagh and absolutely love it. My friend had the pasta and I had a chicken salad. The chicken was delicious and the salad was a great size but it basically just had a lot of lettuce with the chicken and thats about it. I was impressed with the size but unimpressed with what was in it. The atmosphere was quite quiet to begin with but by the time we were eating our meals, it was very busy. Not sure if I will come back to this one, think I might just stick to the Ranelagh one.

Marios (Sandymount)

Likemyfood

5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st May 2009 (visited 14 May 2009)

Group of 11.Recently I was there at lunch time with a party of 11 people. We had made the reservation prior. We arrived on time so there was no excuse for delay. We had to ask for our orders to be taken after about 20/25mins. From there on is was a long long lunch. The food was good but the staff of which there were 2 were not very friendly and I did feel we were putting them out. We had to ask for each course after a long delay between.There were other diners who were getting served. I feel because they wer just 2's and 4's. It was not my first time there with a party at that time of day but it will be my last.A smile and an apology goes a long way if they are busy and have cut down on staff, rather than to ignore the table.

Marios (Sandymount)

PMan
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:30%

Reviewed 23rd April 2009 (visited 22 April 2009)

Marios is Italian by numbers - pizza, pasta, all the standards but nothing that is going to blow your socks off. The food is good (pizza in particular) if unexciting. Prices are in line with similar Italian restaurants in Dublin. Service is just OK. We had two waitresses serve us on the night, one competent, one who didn't seem interested. The place was busy for late enough on a Wednesday so has a reasonable atmosphere.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5289 ]