Brownes Deli and Cafe restaurant

18 Sandymount Green, Dublin 4, Sandymount, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Cafe

Price Range:


98 reviews
3 stars - based on 98 reviews

Brownes Deli and Cafe

Submit a review
Brownes Deli and Cafe

Niall2526
Dublin
109 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th September 2013 (visited 14 September 2013)

I had an enjoyable meal Saturday evening .Had the 20 Euro 2 course meal plus a glass of wine which was good value .Restaurant was very busy got a nice Booth which was very private .I had French Onion Soup starter which was very good followed by Mains Pork Belly which was good however portion was on the small size.Service and Staff were friendly and helpful will call again.

Brownes Deli and Cafe

diananacu
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th April 2013 (visited 20 April 2013)

We went to the new French bistro Browne's Brasserie because we knew the original Browne's restaurant (a fairly OK, but otherwise very slow and over-priced restaurant). This was our first time here, and arrived around 6.30pm on a Saturday, for what we thought would be a decent early-bird dinner before the crowds came in. The whole experience was disappointing. And we did not even get to taste the food! As soon as we arrived, we were stopped by not one but two waiters half-way through the restaurant. They positioned themselves in front of me, not letting me take in the room or go to the very end of it so I can choose a table, or otherwise look around. In a very loud voice, they announced that the booths were all booked and invited me to sit down at, of course, the worse 2-person table. I chose the 2-person table for a couple and one child at the front of the resto, by the window. In hindsight, the worst possible choice, as we were never going to get attention save for frantic waving and a lot of waiting. Of course, I was told, the table was not suitable for a child - the best window table never is, I guess? As soon as I sat down, the waitress came to take my order even though I had just told her that I was waiting for my husband to park the car and I hadn't even looked at the menu yet. She asked me to order a drink, even though I was not ready for that either, and offered me the house red: a "Tempralino". We were also served a bottle of water, and that was the end of our service. After finally getting to order, by asking three different waiters to take our order, we were no closer to getting even our starters after 30 minutes, even though bigger tables/parties that had arrived after us were digging into their main courses at that point. When I asked for the starters, after around 30 minutes, and then again after another 10, the maitre d', said "Absolutely!" Suffice it to say they never materialised, and we left after 45 minutes, hungry, including our young child, and angry at the unbelievable attitude - all they did when expressing my disappointment at the end, was to shrug with a half-hearted "Sorry!" and say that there were bigger tables to deal with first. There was never any offer of bread and butter or olives while waiting or a discount at the end. In brief, unless you are a big group, you should not go there. All we got was water, a glass of warm wine, fake smiles, a bunch of lies, and complete lack of consideration for us and a young child clearly pining for dinner. Wish I could say something about the food, but never got it.

Brownes Deli and Cafe

northsider75
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th March 2013 (visited 1 March 2013)

went for dinner on saturday in their new premises across sandymount green. There was 8 of us , we had the set menu at 29.50 for 3 courses. 4 starters , 6 mains, 2 desserts. I went for the scallops and the lamb. You couldnt fault any of those dishes. they were cooked perfectly, everyone at the table raved about the food. They have a very interesting wine list and we went for their specials of the day, a pinot blanc at 29 and a bordeaux superieur at 29 too. Very good for the price. All the staff are attentive and always smile to you. Felt very welcome.A very new york paris brasserie feeling. Ill defo go back

Brownes Deli and Cafe

Ruth & Michael
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th February 2013 (visited 15 February 2013)

Group booking, no choice of menu...only group menu given. Took 1 hour to get starters, mains overcooked( steaks), no apologies offered.Plenty of staff but poor service.Manager excused service by saying busy,( do they not expect to be busy on a Friday?) Regulars, bill +€450 no tip given. Very disappointed!

Brownes Deli and Cafe

run1984
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th November 2012 (visited 18 October 2012)

Been here so many times now. Its a real fail safe local restuarant for me. Really good value 2 course and glass of wine offer. Really relaxed atmosphere, you are never rushed from the table. They do a really good duck starter (quite large starter portion). also enjoy the scallops and chorizo or the goats cheese starter. Favourite main is the cod with bean and chorizo type stew.

Brownes Deli and Cafe

Katie1111
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th October 2012 (visited 4 October 2012)

food - portions for the size of a mouse, value for money - terrible, staff very slow, we had to ask 4 times for a jug of water. noisy chairs on tiled floors. Rip off and have told this to a number of family members and all thought the same.

Brownes Deli and Cafe

foodyatheart
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th August 2012 (visited 16 August 2012)

Hi Recently I went with my sister to this cafe for dinner. I have been numerous times before and do like this cafe. The atmosphere is good although the service is always slow. I had the beef bourginon which was very good. No complaints. I got two very nice pieces of beef in a very tasty sauce with mash. The mash was a little cold but the taste was good and I finished it all off. Value for money was good so I will return.

Brownes Deli and Cafe

pickypaula
Cavan
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th July 2012 (visited 15 July 2012)

This used to be a gorgeous little cafe with fantastic food and sadly this is not the case anymore. I visited for brunch. The range of pastries was minimal, the porridge was similar to a soup consistency which I had to send back. The second serving of porridge was slightly better. On the whole although the setting is lovely the food is very disappointing.

Brownes Deli and Cafe

cathy anne
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th June 2012 (visited 1 January 2012)

I feel I need to respond to the other review which really surprised me. i have friday lunch with my husband and daughter as a treat in brownes every week. As an at home baker i appreciate home made quiche which is a real rarity these days. We generally ring and order 2 slices as it always sells out and is always delicous. Also as an amateur baker i understand good shortcrust pastry is ruined by reheating. They serve it room temerature which is lovely. The pastry is always really crisp. The staff are always friendly and kooky and make regulars feel really special. My only negative is they should look at the prices of their coffee and cakes which do not reflect the good value from the kitchen

Brownes Deli and Cafe

christianhughes
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st May 2012 (visited 18 May 2012)

I work locally and often pop in to Browne's for either takeaway or sitdown food. To date I have never been disappointed. This is one of those little gems of a cafe / deli nestled in one of Dublin's beautiful little southside villages. The food is fresh, made with care and attention, and all brought together by a staff that are second to none. Whether it's a working lunch or an intimate Sunday brunch, Browne's has a menu offering something for everyone. I definitely recommend a visit!

Brownes Deli and Cafe

sueelly
Wicklow
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th May 2012 (visited 12 May 2012)

We had a great time last Saturday. It’s was really busy and noisy, very families friendly. Salads were delicious but they did not have my favourite rockets. House wine was good too.

Brownes Deli and Cafe

Mrs H.
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th May 2012 (visited 2 May 2012)

Having eaten brunch in Browns many times I thought lunch on my day off here would be a sure hit. I could not have been more wrong. The menu describes a homemade quiche with a 'magnificent' side salad... The quiche was indeed homemade and bar the fact it was served barely tepid it was tasty enough, but a few paltry and limp lettuce leaves, with one slice of slimy tomatoe does not a magnificent side salad make! My other diner ordered the salmon special which turned out to be a minute sliver of salmon on a plate with some lettuce leaves in a bowl, with not even a hint of a tomato in this side salad, but in fairness this salad was not called magnificent!!! This would have been off putting enough but to add insult to injury the Salmon was not fully cooked through and had to be sent back to the kitchen for further cooking, it was accompanied by the quiches to try and have them warmer than the lack lustre lettuce leaves, we had a brief hope the side salads would be revamped on the plates return to the kitchen but alas no such luck. The same plate with the same half moved around lettuce leaves with a quiche that had been clearly nuked was returned to us with the explanation the quiche is actually only served at room temperature to protect the pastry. We were obviously dealing with some very insecure pastry here! When we pointed all of this out to the manager, who had obviously missed the plates being returned to the kitchen with the whole 3 other tables in the restaurant! He simply answered ‘oh right well, I’ll take that on board’ and off he trotted with not so much as a glance around for this so called board!! We felt unsatisfied so ordered some cake to cheer us up (as you do!) this thankfully was very tasty and definitely homemade, so coupled with the polite waitress and busser who did all they could to aid the experience but were really up against it in the food stakes, I have given the service more than Zero, but the manager should really brush up on his complaints procedure and also look up a dictionary for an explanation o

Brownes Deli and Cafe

sadiemills
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th August 2011 (visited 15 August 2011)

A frequent customer of Brownes I am surprised at the reviews here. The evening menu sun-fri inclusive is excellent value (20 euro for 2 courses inc. glass of wine) and the food is really good. I've had most things on the menu and recommend the mussels, pate or confit duck for starter - all great. For main there is different fish option each night and the steak and burgers are really good too.In fact I've never had a bad meal here. Service is hit and miss - I agree. It depends on who serves you - there are a couple of staff that have been there since I first visited over a year ago and they are excellent but casual staff seem to come and go and are rarely any good but that's not enough to keep me away. if you are going for breakfast - the pancakes with cripsy bacon is a really good choice!

Brownes Deli and Cafe

sloppy123
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th June 2011 (visited 5 June 2011)

The service is bad and the food was awful. I had a simple tuna ciabatta - the tuna salad was stone cold, with melted cheese on a half toasted ciabatta, which just didnt make for a good combination.The owners of this restaurant need to have a serious chat with the staff. I couldnt say anyone was rude- they were just totally disinterested.The waitress didnt take our order properly. Then when we were paying to leave, nobody asked us if 'everything was ok' for us. In fact, the waitress slapped my change down on the counter rather than having the courtesy to hand it to me. To top it all off, we paid 25 euro for a ciabatta, a wrap, a coffee and OJ. outrageous particularly given the poor quality. the restaurant is in a lovely location in sandymount village - about the only thing its got going for it right now. Some serious attention needed..

Brownes Deli and Cafe

healthyfoodie28
Dublin
83 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th April 2011 (visited 10 April 2011)

Visited on a Sunday afternoon at lunch time on one of the sunniest days of the year so far and Browne's was absolutely packed, with a queue for tables. It took a very long time to be served and a lot of trying to catch the waitresses' attention. The food was nice. I ordered a smoked salmon bagel without cream cheese, and thought that they'd maybe put a bit of extra salmon or a few lettuce leaves to make it a bit more substantial, but they didn't so it was a bit measly! Had a gorgeous hot chocolate though. The quality of their pottery mugs are a lovely touch. Overall I was happy enough, and am likely to go back. The service is probably better at quieter times...

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4877 ]