Cafe Moda restaurant

192 Lower Rathmines Road, Rathmines, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 6

Dublin 6

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Cafe

Price Range:


41 reviews
3 stars - based on 41 reviews

Cafe Moda

Submit a review
Cafe Moda

loulovesfood
Dublin
80 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th August 2009 (visited 13 August 2009)

I love the swivel chairs they have upstairs, so comfy for a coffee but not practical for eating your lunch from the low tables! I was here with a friend, and we both agreed we'd be back for coffee and cake but would probably skip the food next time.

Cafe Moda

Kerad

32 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th June 2009 (visited 2 August 2008)

Went there a couple of times for a coffee and somethng light to eat. The food is ok though, not very special and bit overpriced. Good coffee. Nice atmosphere, but they would need to think of adding some more items to their breakfast menu, it's kind od a fancy menu at the moment.

Cafe Moda

starlikedolly
Dublin
35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd May 2009 (visited 2 May 2009)

Went here for breakfast with my boyfriend. I had the bagel with sausage, rasher and scrambled egg and he had the eggs benedict. The staff were polite, and when they got my order wrong they were quick to correct it. Food was nice, but not exceptional. Would only go back if I was hungry and happened to be in the area.

Cafe Moda

SUSANJ
Dublin
176 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th April 2009 (visited 11 April 2009)

I remember when this eatery was a beacon of trendiness in down-at-heel Rathmines. I happened up it the other day after I left my daughter off and had some time to kill. I ventured in for a parsnip soup. I had visions of something thick and hearty arriving, as I made my self comfortable in the window seat. The soup arrived down and I knew by looking at it I was not on to a winner. It was insipid, anaemic and watery looking. I took one spoonful and noted it was also warm. I asked for it be heated up. Looking back I should really have left at that point. It arrived back warmer but still ghastly. I had to put copious amounts of black pepper in to glean any flavour out of it. I went to the bathroom before I left and noted the floors were very old the whole place was seriously in need of a refurb. Such a pity, they still had their games room on this level down a few steps and another level up, great layout but hadn't seen a paint brush for years. Also, a TV was on with a match playing in the background!. A terrible decline from its glory years. Awful

Cafe Moda

penelope7
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th March 2009 (visited 1 March 2009)

I am a regular and can't fault the atmosphere, but the sandwiches have gone downhill. Salads are still pretty good, as are the desserts. I like the staff, they know that people will order things if they're left to their own devices, so that is a definite good point. Food is sometimes a little bit too expensive for what you get. Still love spending long afternoons here though!

Cafe Moda

Rockster88
Dublin
88 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th March 2009 (visited 26 February 2009)

I've been coming going to Cafe Moda for about 3 years now, and it has gone seriously downhill. Though a lovely atmosphere and comfy inside, they have jacked up the prices considerably and it doesn't stay open half as late as it used to. Food is too pricy for what you get, everything is only ok. The cake selection has always been decent however. In addition, the staff aren't particularly welcoming. I used to adore this place, but it's just not worthy of being a favourite any more.

Cafe Moda

Imnotamiserablevegetarianimjustavegetarian
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th September 2008 (visited 5 September 2008)

A comfortable interior does not make up for making a bad toasted cheese sandwich..... Are the smoothies they serve those horrible 'innocent' smoothies de-bottled and put in a glass? cos unfortunately thats what they taste like.. iv had a disapppointing 3 visits.

Cafe Moda

microcosm
Dublin
32 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th July 2008 (visited 2 July 2008)

Food's not great. Had a toasted sandwich- really not great. But I do love their flavoured sodas (almond is lovely!). The best thing about this place is you can stay here til 4am playing board games on the couches! Love it!

Cafe Moda

ng
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th June 2008 (visited 13 June 2008)

Had a really bad experience here, would not recommend it. Went with a friend on our lunch break. Ordered soup+paninis, thinking these would be quickest+easiest. Waited 30 mins for soup, which was not the soup we had ordered. Then waited another 20 mins for our order, this time it was the right soup but it was cold. We never heard anymore about our paninis. At this point we had to leave to return to work and had to rush a McDonalds! Staff seemed nice but mixed up orders and didn't attempt to apologise.

Cafe Moda

jeanseb
Dublin
48 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th June 2008 (visited 7 June 2008)

Was there with my brother on more then one occasion for lunch. The quality of the food was not very good. My brother asked for a toasted sandwich on brown and he got a white sandwich non toasted. the coffee's and hot chocolate's are worth trying. The service is not great, we had to ask for our plates to be taken away and we were waiting 35 minutes for 2 toasted sandwiches on one particular occasion. The staff are friendly but i would go there just for the hot chocolate.

Cafe Moda

AdminTracy

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th June 2008 (visited 1 June 2008)

I love moda! The food might not be fine dining but I love the atmosphere... toasted bagels with cream cheese and bacon on a Sunday morning... cant beat it. The cosy seats make it a place you can hang out and chat with friends for hours on end, its like being at home!!

Cafe Moda

P.Tulio

64 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th March 2008 (visited 16 January 2008)

Not amazing for food. But coffee's the reason to go. Good coffee, good atmosphere.

Cafe Moda

niamh_keogh
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd February 2008 (visited 16 February 2008)

I love coming here to chill with a strong cup of coffee and a chat with friends or even a read of the newspaper-comfi seats and nice atmosphere. Met a friend here last week and we had a lovely catch up- but then went next door for food. The only half way decent food in Moda is the toasted sandwiches. Avoid anything calling itself a bagel or scrambled egg at all costs

Cafe Moda

5fallalea
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st February 2008 (visited 17 February 2008)

Food is pretty terrible, but the staff are lovely and so is the atmosphere - lovely for a coffee or a drink - beats the generic coffee shops

Cafe Moda

snoopy

4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th February 2008 (visited 21 January 2008)

Have eaten here on numerous occasions. Agree with other posters the food has gone downhill a lot. They seem to specialise now in burnt bagels (which aren't particularly fresh either!).However the coffee and desserts are still nice, and generous in size too.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4682 ]