The Old Orchard Inn restaurant

76 Butterfield Avenue, Rathfarnham, Rathfarnham, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 14

Dublin 14

View on Map

Cuisine:
Pub Grub

Price Range:

€€

64 reviews
3 stars - based on 64 reviews

The Old Orchard Inn

Submit a review
The Old Orchard Inn

masterchef1
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th August 2013 (visited 10 August 2013)

Been a regular here over the years and heard very good reports on a new chef/menu so tried it out with the family. Can safely say it was a breath of fresh air to see what was served to our table. All finished our meals thinking money well spent (which does not happen very often). Starters consisted of duck & pork spring rolls which were 10/10, seafood chowder was delicious and paté dish was also really nice. Pork tasting was the choice for mains, presentation was fantastic! as well as the beef and guinness pie for herself. Went with the 'Chefs recommendation' for dessert, which was Terrys Chocolate Orange Cheesecake, it looked too nice to eat but was eventually cleaned off the plate, rest of the table opted for the Brioche Bread and Butter Pudding which was given the thumbs up also. All in all, happy to recommend and will be back on a more regular basis after this

The Old Orchard Inn

masterchef1
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th August 2013 (visited 10 August 2013)

Been a regular here over the years and heard very good reports on a new chef/menu so tried it out with the family. Can safely say it was a breath of fresh air to see what was served to our table. All finished our meals thinking money well spent (which does not happen very often). Starters consisted of duck & pork spring rolls which were 10/10, seafood chowder was delicious and paté dish was also really nice. Pork tasting was the choice for mains, presentation was fantastic! as well as the beef and guinness pie for herself. Went with the 'Chefs recommendation' for dessert, which was Terrys Chocolate Orange Cheesecake, it looked too nice to eat but was eventually cleaned off the plate, rest of the table opted for the Brioche Bread and Butter Pudding which was given the thumbs up also. All in all, happy to recommend and will be back on a more regular basis after this

The Old Orchard Inn

Creamslice
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd July 2013 (visited 21 July 2013)

I haven't been to the orchard for food for a long time so I decided to give it a try this week as I have heard such good reports about the new menu.myself my husband my three kids and my mother in law arrived at the orchard to be met and seated by a lovely friendly waitress.i had the seafood chowder which was fantastic my husband had the chicken wings my mother inlaw and kids had the soup all were extremely tasty. For mains I had fish n chips which was amazing , my husband had bacon as my mother inlaw which they loved, The kids loved the pasta as well as the Goujons . The dessert menu looked fantastic so the kids had knickerbocker glory s they looked amazing , will definitely be back overall top marks keep up the good work

The Old Orchard Inn

Popples83
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th July 2013 (visited 4 July 2013)

Went for lunch here today with my mom and two kids. Asked the waitress if the kids pasta dish came with Penne pasta, only for it to arrive with Linguini, which my child couldn't eat. Waitress hadn't a clue, still it was taken back and I got a baby bowl instead. I ordered the Seafood Chowder for myself. Well, the Chef must have been having a bad day because the dish was bordering on inedible. The fish was rubbery and tasted off, the soup watery and it appeared to be garnished with black stuff (I assumed truffles......extravegant and unneccessary). Needless to say, I couldn't eat it, my mother also thought it was awful. Three spoonfuls later I was in no mood to eat any more and left it. My mom did however have a fabulous Pate dish, which was flavoursome, and I'd have been reasonably OK about this visit if it wasn't for the fact that neither the Waitress nor the Barman apologised about my dish, nor offered to reduce the cost (and I complained twice!) Having found the food lacking more and more with every recent visit, we've now decided we will not eat here again. I could forgive bad food now and then but I abhor the lack of customer care. I'll spend my money elsewhere.

The Old Orchard Inn

oconng3
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th June 2013 (visited 26 June 2013)

This place used to be great for food but has gone downhill dramatically. Went in there for lunch and ordered the roast of the day which was turkey. I asked for it with chips instead of veg and mash. What arrived was the smallest portion I have ever seen. 2 and half small slices of turkey and 8 chips in total. All for a cost of 12.50! My partner ordered stir fry chicken which was laced with corn and a tiny amount of chicken. It's obvious the pub is cutting costs here but still charging the same prices. We won't be back again

The Old Orchard Inn

giggle
Dublin
73 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th January 2013 (visited 29 December 2012)

Been going here for years and it had developed a reputation for terrible food, however I heard they had a new chef so made a couple of visits during December and got great food on both occasions. First visit was for dinner and I had the roast chicken and ham with stuffing, and it was absolutely delicious, although they were a bit mean with the mash. Second visit was for lunch and I had the cajun chicken ciabatta which was great. Always been a great pub but now it's definitely worth a visit for the food too.

The Old Orchard Inn

ell30
Dublin
51 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd July 2012 (visited 13 July 2012)

hadnt been to this place in years so decided to pop in for a bite one friday evening and i'm so glad we did, we didnt have starter but there were any number i would have picked, i had good old fish and chips and the chips are so good, like peeled potato chips and not frozen and my other half had a burger which he said was one of the best he'd tasted, there are mini options of some of the dishes for anyone who struggles to finish the bigger mains which is a great choice to have as i didnt finish mine as the portions are quite big, will be going back here again for sure.

The Old Orchard Inn

RSGE
Dublin
58 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2011 (visited 10 September 2011)

I really love the Old Orchard as a pub. It's always so cosy and atmospheric. The food here is hearty and good value, and as a vegan they have catered for me well in the past. I like their bruschetta as a starter, and they have made me up some lovely salads on request. For vegans there is pasta with mediterranean veg available without the cheese and likewise with the roasted stuffed bell peppers. Veggie curries and stir fries are good value at €15 and a decent sized portion. I have never had dessert here so am not sure what they have. It's a fun place to go for food and a few drinks on the weekend with friends.

The Old Orchard Inn

yummymummy33
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th October 2011 (visited 1 October 2011)

how hard is it to get a drink in this place..? here last sat evening, not many people in the pub, but waited and waited at bar for ages to order and get a drink. food when it arrived was ok, but staff seemed busy chatting to each other than serving us - got a bit tedious after a while. think this place needs a revamp also a bit tatty with special offers and posters everywhere you look - ott! ... bit old fashioned

The Old Orchard Inn

foodaholic99
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th October 2011 (visited 30 September 2011)

living in Rathfarnham all my life i have eaten in all the pubs /restaurants on many ocassions and have to admit i had written the orchard off as a food venue about 3 years ago.However on Friday last we had a few after work drinks and decided to give the food another go.The friendly waitress informed us that they had totally re-vamped their menu over the last few months and encouraged us to try the chicken wings to start ,they were perfectly done with just the right amt of hot sauce.great start!.For main 3 of us ordered the rib eye steak(medium) which melted in the mouth,served with homemade chunky chips.Our friend wasnt too hungry so he ordered the mini fish and chips from the very clever mini bites menu(only 5.50).The barman approached us to ask about the food and engaged us in conversation which was a nice touch. The crowd is a mid 20s and up a really good mix and the pub was filling up by the time we were leaving(8.45). a girl came over to chat and she informed us thaey had a band starting that evening ,she seemed to be the in charge and offered us a very reasonably priced cocktail for only 5 euro and also informed us that their new winter menu will be starting in a few weeks. Ended up staying for the band and dont remember the rest!!! its great to know i can get top food/service and entertainment just 5 mins from my front door. Defin be back.

The Old Orchard Inn

PoshSpice
Dublin
24 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th August 2011 (visited 21 July 2011)

Ate here recently for the first time in two years and I was disappointed with the food. I used to love the food here - the menu used to be more varied too and they had a delicious lasagne which has been taken off the menu for some reason. The chicken was poor quality and the presentation was sloppy. The food tasted over-cooked and bland. I have always heard good reviews about the food here so maybe it was a bad day. Might try it again in a while to see if there is an improvement.

The Old Orchard Inn

Nells
Dublin
31 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th May 2011 (visited 14 May 2011)

Was here last Saturday night, I've eaten here a couple of times, and enjoyed both times. Food is very very good, and well priced. Excellent beer garden, probably one of the best I've seen in a pub in Dublin. Service is extremely friendly, one of the barmen was straight over to see what he could do to help. The food service is also extremely friendly, if a tad on the slow side (to start). But the girls that were serving us were terribly friendly and happy! I recommend the pate for starters, its just gorgeous and served with beautiful fresh bread. I had the Burger with crispy onions (of which they will give you extra if you ask!). Excellent food, and the atmosphere is always quite lively. A little quieter in the Beer Garden (music wise) if that would suit! Good prices to and some excellent offers on at the moment. Will be back.

The Old Orchard Inn

weightwatcher
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th May 2011 (visited 26 February 2011)

We booked a table to celebrate our grandchilds christening. The service was very good and the set menu we agreed on was very good value for money. They let us bring in our own cake, which they cut up for us for dessert, which a lot of places would not do. I would really recommend it!

The Old Orchard Inn

Rola
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th May 2011 (visited 6 March 2011)

I visited here for a catch up with the girls one Sunday evening. We had a good evening although the place was slightly lacking in atmosphere. The last of our group arrived at 8.30 & we were initially told the restaurant was closed but then were told that if we ordered quck enough the kitchen would cater for us. The food was fine, probably what you'd expect from pub grub. Overall a good night, staff were friendly although service was a little slow. Next time I might suggest somewhere with a bit more of a buzz about the place!

The Old Orchard Inn

jillbrowne
Dublin
38 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd May 2011 (visited 17 March 2011)

Went here for food on St Patrick's Day as we had decided to visit the pub in the early evening for food a few drinks. Myself and a couple of others ordered the steak sandwich - when it arrived it was tiny for the price we were paying just on a piece of bun it was totally not worth the money paid for it. Overall the food here seems just not up to scratch and seems to be overpriced for the quality you are receiving. The staff were friendly even though it was obviously a busy day for them but it did take us some considerable time to put an order in. I dont think I will be eating here again any time soon.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4985 ]