India Gate restaurant

1st Floor 26b Nutgrove Shopping Centre, South Dublin, Rathfarnham, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 16

Dublin 16

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Indian

Price Range:


41 reviews
4 stars - based on 41 reviews

India Gate

Submit a review
India Gate

alanbk

10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st December 2008 (visited 30 November 2008)

I have eaten here with my family and I have never been disappointed. The food truly is gorgeous and the staff are very friendly. I would also strongly recommend their take away food which are the best value in the area. Great restaurant.

India Gate

Foodey2008
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th November 2008 (visited 8 November 2008)

We got this as take away on Saturday night and it was gorgeous, we went for the set menu for 2 which gives you a variety of starters, you can pick the 2 mains, you get a veg side dish, 2 rice and naan, it was way too much food for 2 people but a bargain at 29.95!!! Al of the food was excellent quality, if you fancy a big feed give it a try!

India Gate

gary751
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd November 2008 (visited 1 November 2008)

Nice restuarant. Went after several recommendations from friends. This place seems to have a cult following. The food compares favourably to any indian in the city. Service was only ok. The decor is in serious need of renovation and I've heard thats happening soon. The toilets are nothing short of disgraceful- even for guys. The pipe from one of the urinals was leeking last night and the wet floor was disgusting leading me to believe that they hadn't been checked in hours! That said there was a large post match crowd who probably had a lot to do with this. Overall would recommend the place

India Gate

fratini
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th October 2008 (visited 12 October 2008)

I have been going to the India gate for years along with my husband and family and friends and we would all agree that this is by far the best Indian you will ever eat. The staff are great and so friendly and over the years we have got to know them very well unlike other restaurants you might visit on a reg basis they actually get to know their customers. I would recommend the chicken korma and pilau rice and any of their delicious naan breads and the prawns to start are divine, so check it out you would be mad not to just be warned once you try it you will never go back cause no other Indian even comes close to it. As a matter of fact i'm heading there tonight with some friends and i just can't wait.

India Gate

MuckingFagic
Kildare
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st September 2008 (visited 13 September 2008)

This particular Indian takeaway has to be the best in Dublin. I am an avid fan of Indian food, and use to have a favourite in Naas, which has now closed down,but this has become my new favourite! You will be hard pressed to find another restaurant that offers this standard of food for the prices on offer. Currently they do a specialfor €13 which includes TWO starters, Main dish (I normally go for Jalfrezi) one Pilau rice and a naan bread! Go compare that to other Indians in the area and it may well come to 25quid! The food is GORGEOUS and they have found a new best customer,who will gladly travel from Kildare to Tallaght just to buy from it! Kev

India Gate

quenching
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th September 2008 (visited 16 August 2008)

Best Indian "takeaway" you'll find in south Dublin. Not the most charming of staff in the world, but maybe thats only to takeaway customers. Phoned in orders are always ready on time, makes a nice change from others.

India Gate

praevia

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th April 2008 (visited 13 April 2008)

This restaurant is superb. The food is excellent and it is very reasonably priced.go and find out for yourself!!!

India Gate

Dougall
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:50%

Reviewed 12th April 2008 (visited 22 March 2008)

India gate brings a new meaning to Indian Food - whilst having the usual indian fare they also have Chef Recommendations which allow you to be adventerous and taste wonderful food. Atmosphere and staff ensure that you always have a wonderful evening

India Gate

Glion
Wicklow
59 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st April 2008 (visited 30 March 2008)

We got takeaway on Sunday evening. The food arrived within the half hour as promised. The quality of the food was very good. I had the vegetable jalfrezi with rice and garlic nan. Boyf had the balti special. I was quite surprised that even the balti special which cost 11.75 did not come with rice and cost an extra 2 euros. Our meals came to 30 euro with delivery and tip which is really very steep when you consider we had no starters or drinks. Still, the food itself did not disappoint.

India Gate

mistymerlot

29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd March 2008 (visited 11 January 2008)

My favourite Indian restuarant. I absolutely love this place. I visit every few months (so the novelty doesn't wear off). The food is absolutely delicious, I like to taste new things when I come here but my favourite is still the old reliable chicken tikka masala, the best around. My mouth waters with the tasty poppodoms and dips (especially the red onion). The wine list is great, the menu is really great and the staff as so nice. They provide those special little touches that make your meal more enjoyable. Their food is also great to take away and the India Gate in Tallaght is also on top form. I also like to order the indian tea and the coffee here as they are just superb. My partner thinks the coffee here is the best he's ever tasted and I really love the pistachio ice cream, just to wash it all down. They get it right every time. I've never actually brought my own but people can actually bring their own wine for a small corkage fee which can appeal to many people.

India Gate

gerbeenie
Dublin
80 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:62%

Reviewed 10th December 2007 (visited 28 November 2007)

Little expensive but fantastic service! Really attentive, quiet staff. Got the starter variety dish. Yum! Then mains were chicken biriyani, chicken korma. No room for dessert or even coffee! We'll be back. :)

India Gate

smudgesmum

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd November 2007 (visited 21 November 2007)

We hadn't eaten here for a couple of years, so decided to try it again. As on previous visits the place was empty when we arrived, and only 2 more people sat down to eat while we were there. However there were a few people collecting takeaways; maybe that's how they make their money. The menu has changed quite a bit since we were last there, and is not the same as the one on your website. Also the wine we ordered had been taken off the menu because they had only sold 3 bottles of it in the last year!! My partner had the kebab for starters, and was delighted with it. My starter of breadcrumbed chicken in a sweet chilli sauce wasn't so successful. The chicken was drowning in sauce and the breadcrumbs were soggy and tasted of stale oil. His main course was a hot chicken dish, which he enjoyed, but it was a bit too sweet for his taste. My lamb with blackeyed beans was absolutely scrumptious. I wish I could have finished it, but the portions were so large I had to give up, even though I'd left half my starter. Dessert was out of the question! As always at this place the service was excellent, friendly, attentive and discreet. A complimentary glass of sambucca and an After Eight came with the bill, which came to about €75 and included a very nice and very cheap bottle of South African Sauvignon Blanc and two gin and tonics.

India Gate

stevie2004green

43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd November 2007 (visited 21 November 2007)

Love this place. It is my local restaurant and take away and I don't think you can beat the chicken korma. Really safe bet for consistantly good quality take away too.

India Gate

Nells
Dublin
31 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st September 2007 (visited 20 September 2007)

Gorgeous! We got a take-away from here last night (which we've done on several other occasions) and sure enough it was gorgeous. I had Butter Lamb and it was like butter. As well as that it was all well packed and completely hot even when it got to us. Garlic Naan (plenty of garlic the way it should be) poppadoms and Bhajis. I wasn't too keen on the Bhaji's but I think that’s more personal taste then a reflection of the food! I do find Indian take-aways a tad more expensive then most. Must eat in this place one night; see if it’s as good. For take-away, you can't beat it.

India Gate

cmd
Dublin
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th July 2007 (visited 17 July 2007)

Love this Indian restaurant. Great value and have always had great food. We use it a lot for delivery. Always arrives within half an hour. The set menu for 2 is excellent value - 4 starters, 2 main dishes, 2 rice, vegetable side dish and naan bread for 30 Euro. Have never been disappointed.

Copyright © 2021 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4716 ]