Riva Restaurant - Harolds Cross

53 Rathgar Avenue, South Dublin, Harolds Cross, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 6W

Dublin 6W

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Italian

Price Range:


25 reviews
3 stars - based on 25 reviews

Riva Restaurant - Harolds Cross

Submit a review
Riva Restaurant - Harolds Cross

willw
Dublin
65 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th January 2011 (visited 16 January 2011)

We arrived for lunch. The menu had a good selection. The wine selection was not great, 2 bottles just over 20 euro and then the rest were more expensive. We had streak, canelloni and the lamb stew. Steaks were very fatty and tough.The lamb stew was good and the canelloni was ok. Overall, it was not a great experience. Service was ok. Food was hit and miss, and for some reason, seeing the people beside us eating a fry @2pm on a Sunday gave the place a "greasy spoon" feel.

Riva Restaurant - Harolds Cross

foodaddicts
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th January 2011 (visited 13 January 2011)

4 of us went there last thursday. Staff were nice and friendly and efficient. Starters were really nice, again the goats cheese and antipasti were very good. Unfortunately we were not as happy with our mains. The cannelloni was a bit overdone and dry, and the chicken with chorizo was ok. The atmosphere was good and it was busy and full. However we felt that if we had not had voucher, we would have thought it expensive for what we got. I would not be rushing back again, it was just ok.

Riva Restaurant - Harolds Cross

shell16
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th December 2010 (visited 25 November 2010)

Fantastic meal in Riva. The food was great quality. I had an excellent haddock dish, cooked perfectly. Also enjoyed the coffee and friendly service. Nice romantic atmosphere. Great to have this locally!

Riva Restaurant - Harolds Cross

Niall2526
Dublin
109 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th December 2010 (visited 11 December 2010)

I enjoyed a lovely evening with my wife at Riva Restaurent Saturday 17/12/2010 /The area is small but intimite a nice ambiance. Food was good service and staff excellent.

Riva Restaurant - Harolds Cross

ciar_a
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th November 2010 (visited 26 November 2010)

We had a voucher for this place, so myself and himself headed over tonight. Restaurant was pretty quite, it's a small cafe style place, nice and cosy. Staff were nice but service was brutal. They brought me out the wrong starter, they brought out something with goats cheese- I had ordered a caprese salad, which was lovely when I got it - generous portion. Had a lamb casserole for main - which was AMAZING. Definitely recommend. Lots of lamb and veggies in a lovely tomato sauce. Ordered a white hot chocolate to finish, waitress wasn't sure if they had it, and waited a good 10 mins to find out if they did. Not bad if your local, but very expensive!

Riva Restaurant - Harolds Cross

Subh
Dublin
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th November 2010 (visited 14 November 2010)

Riva looks quite welcoming from the outside and the entrance area inside the door is quite nice too, but it lets itself down once you walk further into the restaurant. It looks quite cold and café-ish, with quite bright lighting down the back. There were some creepy masks on the walls and sketches of clowns, which I personally find a bit creepy too! I started with a baked goats cheese salad with poached pears and walnuts. It was absolutely delicious! My husband got a generous portion of anti-pasta, but he said all the meats tasted similar. For mains I had the duck confit with lentils and roasted potatoes. I thought the latter two were a strange mix but the roasties were so delicious I didn't mind in the end. Duck and lentils were great too. My husband had the rib-eye which came over done and unfortunately the accompaniment to the dish was particularly bland and under-seasoned. Two bad choices by him I think. In total (had we not had a voucher) the bill would have come to around €105 for 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 glasses of prosecco, 2 glasses of red and an espresso. Service was good. I might go back for lunch some day, but given that it's not that much cheaper than some great restaurants in town I think I'd prefer to have a meal somewhere with better atmosphere and more consistency in the quality of the meals.

Riva Restaurant - Harolds Cross

tiffin
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th October 2010 (visited 9 October 2010)

I must agree with the other reviewers, we had an excellent, good value meal there. Everything was good. When we were there, Saturday late lunch, there were a few kids there but it wasn't noisy, just quite laid back

Riva Restaurant - Harolds Cross

pizzagirl
Limerick
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th November 2010 (visited 3 November 2010)

Myself and better half decided to try Riva. To his great delight there was grilled cod as special. The fish was flaky and soft and perfectly cooked served with a lovely fresh salad and fantastic sauté potatoes (I had to taste everything, looked so good.) I had the capricciosa pizza, which was thin, crispy and had just the right amount of toppings. I perhaps would have wanted a tiny bit more tomato sauce and cheese. The house red also was really nice. The restaurant is quite small and as there are often families with children it may be noisy at times but otherwise it is very nice. We ended up going back the next day! I went back with a friend who is a bit of a foodie. I had gone on and on to her about the good value. I was shocked to find that the menu had been changed and the prices had been hiked up quite a lot. Food was still delicious though, had a lovely pasta.

Riva Restaurant - Harolds Cross

mcsean
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th March 2010 (visited 10 March 2010)

Mama Mia it's a most amazing local restaurant. We've lived around the corner from Riva since it opened and it's great. They're currently doing a mon - wed offer where you can get two mains (select mains ) for the price of one. This is pretty fantastic given the food is lovely, it'd be hard to cook the food for that price. In fairness, I felt like a bit of a scab just ordering the maina nd got a drink as well so the overall price was a little more. The staff are friendly, the music is trendy amtmospheric (ambient electronic etc.) and the food is like totally delish. The regular prices have gone up a little, most notably corkage which used to be €6 is now €8 and there's some fancy options on the menu. Still an all it's to think of a nicer restaurant.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4676 ]