The Gables restaurant

McCabes Wines, The Gables, 1 Torquay Road, Dublin 18 , Foxrock, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 18

Dublin 18

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€

243 reviews
4 stars - based on 243 reviews

The Gables

Submit a review
The Gables

woodsg
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th September 2015 (visited 18 September 2015)

I went there for my birthday It was my first visit and was seriously impressed The jazz was wonderful. The service was excellent The set menu is really good value. Food was excellent quality and cooked to perfection Portions were perfect too. Got recommended a very tasty French cider. I can't wait for my next visit. I'm so lucky I live close by, we just moved into the area, so I reckon this will become our favourite restaurant

Restaurant response:
Welcome to the area and thank you for the comments. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, Jim McCabe

The Gables

bannaville49392866
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th September 2015 (visited 15 September 2015)

My husband and myself treated our two best friends who needed a good night out and that is what we got.The food was delicious and washed down with very nice house red.Staff were excellent and very friendly.A brilliant night was had by all.The best food deal we ever had.

Restaurant response:
We are very pleased a good night out was had by all. Thank you for your lovely comments. Kind regards, Jim McCabe

The Gables

bridgetcoughlan55255124
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th September 2015 (visited 11 September 2015)

At the Gables in time for the Jazz which was a great atmosphere. There with my husband and had rib eye steak which was cooked to perfection. Staff very friendly and attentive. Going to book again today and bring our teenage boys along.

Restaurant response:
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted to welcome you back with the family. Kind regards, Jim McCabe

The Gables

RMc
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th September 2015 (visited 10 September 2015)

Lovely evening meal with my wife, steak was the best I've had in a long time - cooked to perfection and nicely seasoned. Staff very attentive and welcoming. Will go back again!

Restaurant response:
Delighted you both enjoyed your evening with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Jim McCabe

The Gables

nerak
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 05th August 2015 (visited 1 August 2015)

My husband and I dined here last Saturday, beautiful wild Mushroom Risotto and Scallops for starters, followed by your signature Fish and chips for himself and Sole in the Bone for me. A perfectly chilled Albariño to accompany this lovely meal and a shared cheeseboard and expresso to finish a most enjoyable evening with very efficient and attentive staff. Can't wait to return. Maria O'Sullivan

Restaurant response:
Thank you very much Maria for your lovely comments. We are trying very hard to make the Gables experience a really enjoyable one , so it is great to get feedback like this. Kind regards, Jim McCabe

The Gables

Tezzytezz
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd July 2015 (visited 20 July 2015)

Good food nice atmosphere - recommend

Restaurant response:
Thank you for your positive comments. Regarding atmosphere, we have Spanish guitar on Thursdays, jazz on Fridays and a duet on Sundays! Thanks again. Jim McCabe

The Gables

avrs01
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st July 2015 (visited 3 July 2015)

nice place, friendly staff & good quality food

Restaurant response:
Really glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you. Jim McCabe

The Gables

seanmc69128302
Wicklow
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th July 2015 (visited 9 July 2015)

Nice meal, really good service with friendly staff. Good value. Well worth the visit!

Restaurant response:
Thank you for your kind comments. We are all working hard in The Gables to continually raise standards and it is very encouraging when our efforts are noticed. Too often reviewers only put up negative comments so we really appreciate you taking the time to post a positive one which says exactly what we are trying to achieve. Thank you again. Jim McCabe

The Gables

vlad.onlyforu
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 26th June 2015 (visited 28 March 2015)

Nice restaurant, where is off-license with good selection of vines as well. Great atmosphere. Food and service is good, but menu is quite limited. 4 from 5

Restaurant response:
Delighted you enjoyed your visit. Thank you. Jim McCabe

The Gables

anja_ha
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd June 2015 (visited 20 June 2015)

Nice modern place, recently refurbished. We had a tiny table for three people, which seemed unnecessary since we had booked and it wasn't especially busy. The staff was friendly but very unattentive. Overall a positive experience but not outstanding.

Restaurant response:
Thank you for your kind comments. Can't understand why we would have given you that table, sorry about that. From reading your comments we could do better and we will. Thanks again. Jim McCabe

The Gables

nualamccarthy0671627861
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th May 2015 (visited 12 May 2015)

Just had lunch with 4 friends. The food was very disappointing. Friends had the hamburgers - not cooked well/no seasoning. I had the pasta which was overcooked/no flavour. 5 unhappy customers - not good !

Restaurant response:
We refurbished our restaurant just after Easter, put in a new tapas bar and refreshed our other menus. I am delighted to say that the reaction has been great so I am very disappointed to read your comments. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff, giving good service so if we had a situation where our customers were not happy (and it can happen such as your case) we try to resolve the issues at the time. We have checked back on that date and we have no mention of your unhappiness in our report book so I am a bit disappointed that you did not let us know at the time. I hope you will come back to visit us and I am sure the next time we will rise to the occasion.

The Gables

sallina15
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th May 2015 (visited 8 May 2015)

Although a lovely athmosphere was not impressed with service or quality of the tapas, enjoyed the music though

Restaurant response:
Delighted you enjoyed the ambiance in our new revamped Tapas Bar. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your meal. We are working very hard to make the Gables a great place to visit for atmosphere, food and service so I hope you will visit us again soon. Kind regards, Jim McCabe

The Gables

stevehenderson.henderson17492186
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th April 2015 (visited 17 April 2015)

It had been a while since I´d eaten here but I returned on Friday night as I´d heard about its revamp and new tapas area. Said tapas appealed to me a bit more that the full menu so went for the paprika almonds, chickpea ragu and seraano with manchego - each one absolutely delicious. The Jazz band really created a fabulous atmosphere helped along by some great value wine. Two thumbs up

Restaurant response:
Hello Steve, Thank you for your kind comments. Delighted you enjoyed your visit to our new tapas bar. Kind regards, Jim McCabe

The Gables

Pat.cribbin
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:45%

Reviewed 02nd March 2015 (visited 28 February 2015)

Food excellent as usual. But as before we had to ask a second time for items not received.

Restaurant response:
Thank you Pat for your comments. Glad you enjoyed the food but disappointed with your comment about the service. We will definitely try harder. Kind regards Jim McCabe

The Gables

jane_elliott
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd January 2015 (visited 4 December 2014)

I recently enjoyed a yummy lunch at The Gables with my girlfriends. The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable in an airy and not over imposing space. The decor is tasteful and at the oval shaped bar you enjoy a coffee or glass of wine etc. There a comfy little couch area by the bar to chill with the papers and such. The food was of good quality and tasty though I thought the main course portions a little small. A good selection on the wine list and wines are also displayed to purchase as takeaway. The staff were happy and attentive. Would I go back? Definately.

Restaurant response:
Thank you Jane for your lovely comments and glad you enjoyed your visit . We look forward to welcoming you back. We are always delighted to get constructive feedback and we take on board all comments we receive. Kind regards, Jim McCabe

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.6259 ]