Bistro One restaurant

3 Brighton Road, Foxrock Village, South Dublin, Foxrock, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 18

Dublin 18

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Bistro

Price Range:

€€€

76 reviews
4 stars - based on 76 reviews

Bistro One

Submit a review
Bistro One

crookes
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st November 2013 (visited 31 October 2013)

Took friends for lunch there and from start to finish everything was excellent, everybody very happy. Definitely would return and recommend. Thanks for a lovely lunch!

Bistro One

afarrelly82
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st May 2012 (visited 27 April 2012)

Had a wonderful lunch in Bistro One last Friday. Menu was fantastic, however lacked steak or a beef dish. Choice of fish dishes were excellent. Great atmosphere for a lunchtime visit and wine was great. Would definately visit again

Bistro One

Sinead55
Wicklow
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th April 2012 (visited 7 April 2012)

Visited here last Saturday night, very cosy restaurant, nice atmosphere, food and service were very good. We had monkfish and pate to start followed by the chicken and pork with cheese board to finish off. All were very good would only make one suggestion for a little more veg and potatoes with the meal. Overall a lovely experience and would recommend highly.

Bistro One

ambrosia
Wicklow
47 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th January 2012 (visited 24 January 2012)

Highly recommended. We had a birthday meal here and it was a really lovely experience. We felt really well looked after and the food was great and very good value at €20 for two courses from a very nice set menu. Of the starters we had, the wild mushroom and celeriac soup with walnut butter was the star - deep, velvety and utterly gorgeous. Goats cheese salad was deemed to be good, if not brilliant, chicken wings loved by the younger members of the group. For mains, those who had the pork loin thought it was really delicious and a very large portion, I loved my hake, which was perfectly cooked. They allowed two of our group to go off piste for the set menu price - one having the gurnard, which was really good with a delicious creamy celeriac puree, and another having a vegetarian pasta which she liked very much. Fish pie also got the thumbs up. Our vegetables were perfect: boiled new potatoes, home cut fries, crunchy runner beans and some kind of root vegetable puree. Our house wines, a Sauvignon and a Sangiovese, were really good for the price (€21?), with the Sauvignon having a lovely flowery Muscat bouquet. As I have said, we felt exceptionally well looked after by the staff - excellent discreet service exactly when you needed it (though some may not like having their wine glass automatically replenished). You could not fault the welcoming and friendly staff for their attention to detail and top notch service. We had brought a birthday cake and the staff not only brought it out with candles and cut it up to serve, they also plated up each slice beautifully with chocolate sauce and a birthday message piped on the one for the Birthday Girl. All in all, the food here is a cut above, the service excellent, the atmosphere very relaxing, and the set menu exceptional value. Highly recommended.

Bistro One

12knocksinna
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th October 2011 (visited 4 October 2011)

We visited Bistro One on a Tuesday evening. Given the economic circumstances, you'd expect that the restaurant would be quiet but it was busy, clearly a tribute to its longstanding reputation for providing good food at a reasonable price. Previous visits to Bistro One had required plenty of headturning to read the evening's specials chalked on boards dotted around the room. On this occcasion we were given the option of eating from a set menu or a la carte. The set menu contained plenty of choice so all four chose from it. Starters were two rounds of monkfish goujons with marie rose sauce and one each of duck livers and shredded smoked mackerel. All proved successful, as was the bottle of Sancerre that we drank with the starters. Mains were two fish pies and one order each for the liver/bacon/black pudding combination (on mash) and one for cod. I love liver when it's well cooked and Bistro One delivered. All of the other dishes were good and the sole jarring note was hit with the selection of vegetables served to the table. Cabbage, boiled potatoes, and chips seemed like an unusual selection. Two desserts and one cheese plate completed the meal. The almond tart and custard was very nice indeed. The staff was polite enough to leave us chatting undisturbed until we were ready to go, a habit that other restaurants could learn. All in all, a very nice meal. Bistro One is recommended, even on a Tuesday evening in October!

Bistro One

Greevy_a
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th July 2011 (visited 9 July 2011)

Went to Bistro One in Foxrock Village for lunch. The restaurant was very quiet. Hence the service was excellent. The food was perfect. For starters I had a lovely fish cake in a delicious sauce and fish pie for main course. I can't remember what my friend had but she was very content with her meal. We had a memorable lunch and would definitely go back again. It would have being nice if the restaurant was busier but its definitely a sign of the times and maybe people are on holidays.

Bistro One

louca
Dublin
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th January 2011 (visited 16 December 2010)

A group of 10 of us were here for lunch in the busy run up to Christmas period Some of the food was good some not so...the chicken pie was grizzly and tasteless and although we complained the only offer was to replace the dish with another, which given the stage of the dinner we were at our colleague refused, no other effort or reduction was shown on the bill for this! The chips although advertised as home made most cetainly did not have that consitency or flavour, the fish was however delicious and there were no complaints about the starters or deserts Service was distinctly lacking as was space, not enough effort by Bistro one, and while I appreciate it was an exceptionally busy time, if you want repeat business give the quality and service at these times as you would in the quieter times. This was our second vist and paled in comparrison to our first, we may go again but certainly not in a busy period

Bistro One

Yoga123
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th November 2010 (visited 27 November 2010)

We had a meal last night at Bistro one. The food was excellent.The duck was perfectly crispy and the crab starter was devine.My husband's steak was perfectly cooked and his monkfish starter was excellent. Wine selection was good and geat to have the option of carafe's.The atmosphere was good and as it was busy this added to it. The service however was just ok. Staff were not unpleasant but not overly friendly. We were not asked at any point how any of our courses were, thankfully they were great. The wine was poured for tasting but we had to pour the rest of the evening ourselves. For the price of the evening I would have appreciated a little bit more attention.

Bistro One

Ceirah01
Wicklow
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd June 2010 (visited 19 June 2010)

Had a fabulous dinner here on a gorgeous Saturday evening. Staff were excellent, loved how it seemed to be full of locals, food was delicious. It was a little expensive but don't mind paying for the freshness and local produce used. Asparagus risotto was a taste of summer and poached salmon great too. Big plus is all wines in 25cl and 50 cl carafes as well as bottle. Great value and nice touch for those who want more than a glass but less than a bottle!

Bistro One

ailrugby
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd February 2010 (visited 12 February 2010)

This was my first visit to Bistro One even though I live locally and have heard good things. The service was impeccable all evening. The atmosphere was wonderful and there was a real community feel to it (it seemed like alot of groups knew one another). My girlfriend and I both had the paté stater which was very tasty (and plentiful). I had a fish special which was perfect and my girlfriend had the fish pie which she described afterwards as the nicest she has ever had. She had been told there were mussels in the pie but there turned out to be none but she still raved about it. We shared a fondant and pistachio ice cream dessert which was again very nice, although the ice cream tasted more of vanilla we thought. We also had a very nice Italian red wine. Overall it was a very good experience with delicious food but slightly on the expensive side (but I had a voucher so I wasn't too bothered)!

Bistro One

bertie196
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd December 2009 (visited 19 December 2009)

I have eaten here several times food is always good and the chocolate fondant is wonderful. Staff are very friendly

Bistro One

francis.x
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th December 2009 (visited 9 December 2009)

Brought here for a work outing with my husband nice menu which tasted good but very expensive for a bistro glad we were not paying, would go back again for lunch.

Bistro One

tw
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th November 2009 (visited 24 November 2009)

I visited Bistro one last night with my husband for a anniversary meal, we had a voucher and at looking at the menu online i was struggling to find what i might like, luckly there was a special of chicken which i got, it was lovely,the soup to start was ok, a little greasy, my husband had the monk fish to start which he enjoyed, and the steak which was good also, overall a little pricey, and the seats could have done with a cushion and some oil as they were squeeky and hard!

Bistro One

audie00
Dublin
87 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd November 2009 (visited 21 November 2009)

Had dinner in Bisto One last weekend. Couldn't fault it. Good selection of starters and main courses at reasonable prices. Very attentive staff. Worth a visit.

Bistro One

s_goggs
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th October 2009 (visited 1 October 2009)

The food in Bistro One is outstanding. Delicious dishes presented beautifully. Most liked the cosy setting and the atmosphere. A little on the pricey side but well worth a visit.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4804 ]