The Port House Ibericos restaurant

5/6 Pembroke Cottage, Pembroke District, Dundrum Town Centre, Dublin 14, Dundrum, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 14

Dublin 14

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Tapas

Price Range:


105 reviews
4 stars - based on 105 reviews

The Port House Ibericos

Submit a review
The Port House Ibericos

Feeney
Dublin
52 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:60%

Reviewed 18th June 2014 (visited 17 June 2014)

I visited here with a friend of mine who lived in Cadiz as a child and we both found the food to be average. The potatoes bravas was not up to scratch and the creme brulee was burnt beyond recognition.....nice building and staff were not too obtrusive

The Port House Ibericos

AliP

21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2014 (visited 6 March 2014)

I love this place. I have been so many times and have never had bad food. Atmosphere is lovely too. Great Ginger Nojitos for the non drinkers/drivers.

The Port House Ibericos

foodieboyz
Dublin
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd March 2014 (visited 20 March 2014)

Visited with some friends and had an enjoyable evening. Its a nice building although some of the table are small. The waitress couldn't take our coats because they 'have no space for coats'. Service was fast at first but later dropped off. The food is just average. Of all the tapas we had none was memorable but neither was there anything wrong with them. I probably wouldn't go back as the choice in Dublin is so high now and so competitive.

The Port House Ibericos

Spring Chicken
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th December 2013 (visited 1 December 2013)

I love this place. This great place to share. The food is lovely have not had a bad experience here. I like to sit in the smoking area as it's a lot more quieter and brighter. It is well ventilated so you never smell or taste smoke. I feel it's better place to chat with your friends than indoor as I find it's very loud especially when busy, and dark. If you are really young and want to impress your other half and want to take them to dinner I recommend here. It's not that expensive, good quality food and can be quite romantic sharing! For two people you could probably spend around €50 or little more for food and drinks. This place I would also recommend for groups of people as you can split the bill right down the middle for food as everyone usually shares. If you however don't like to share with people this is not a restaurant for you. Get the duck leg it's delicious!

The Port House Ibericos

pammersp
Dublin
21 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th December 2013 (visited 15 December 2013)

Had lunch here with husband and three kids. It was lovely. Seating is a bit squashed, table a bit small considering it is tapas. Kids meal was fantastic value and choice, would rather a healthier drink option like milk. The food was lovely...we had prawns, fois gras, potatoes, rice, lamb...a real mix and all was v tasty. Overall good value too. Worth a repeat visit

The Port House Ibericos

rednick9069601708
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th November 2013 (visited 26 November 2013)

Was in the Porthouse in Dundrum yesterday evening. All of the dishes my friend and I got where really lovely, with one exception. We ordered a goat cheese salad, the top of the salad was fine but when we reached about half was through it became inedible as the salad was soggy and swimming in dressing. When the waitress came to clear the plate we simply just pointed it out and said it was fine but just so they were aware of this. The waitress went on the defensive saying “you should have ordered it on the side if you don’t like dressing”, to this we were both really shocked and felt she was rude! We continued our meal and finally asked for the bill. The manager came over to our table after the waitress eventually told him we were unhappy. He came over and started talking at us, I tried to speak to explain the situation with him as we hadn’t intended on complaining or trying to get the salad removed from the bill we simply just wanted to let them know! But as soon I tried to speak the manager told me to “shush”, and continued tell me how we felt about the salad was wrong. He was borderline aggressive! I honestly feel that he saw two young girls (as my friend and I are 23) and decided we were trying to take advantage of the restaurant, which was not under any circumstances the case. He was extremely intimidating. The friend I was with actually felt if he had spoken to her the way he had me he would have left her in tears. Needless to say we will not be returning.

The Port House Ibericos

elletee
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th November 2013 (visited 25 October 2013)

Love this place. I have been a number of times and it's definitely one of my favorite restaurants in Dublin. I love the candle lit atmosphere and the food is so good. I got the prawn pil pil and patatas alioi and my boyfriend got the duck and meatballs. The duck Is probably one of the nicest dishes there. Can't wait to come back.

The Port House Ibericos

Gina
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th August 2013 (visited 4 August 2013)

Had dinner here on Sunday with four girl friends and yet again I wasn't dissappointed we were seated quickly which was a suprise as usually there is a wait, food as always was excellent we chose 3 or 4 tapas each which included prawns, stuffed peppers,croquettes, mini steak, mini burger, black pudding and chorizo (my Fav) and almost everything was great. Only minor complaint a couple of dishes we were looking for were not available wine service can be slow and veg paella was a little dry ( I have eaten here a few times and I can honestly say this is the first time paella was not perfect). Wine as always was excellent and the bill really resonable. I will be back

The Port House Ibericos

TGIRL
Dublin
39 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd August 2013 (visited 7 May 2013)

Nice place. good food and decent service. Tapas appeal is as expected - a variety of tastes & ideal for sharing. Perfect stop for before, during or after a shopping trip to Dundrum. The tables were a bit close together and small in size. All considered - Nice place to eat and plenty of choice!

The Port House Ibericos

CalKen
Dublin
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th July 2013 (visited 25 July 2013)

Loved this place - went for a late lunch/early dinner with husband and two kids. Table was quickly set with bottle of water and glasses, mini plates and cutlery. We got there just before 4 but were not offered the lunch special of two tapas with a glass of wine for €10 (which finishes at 4) nor were we given a children's menu (2 tapas plus a side veg plus a capri sun plus choice of churros or icecream for €8). However, the tapas are reasonable enough ranging from about €4 to €8 or €9 (apart from the hams and platters which are a little dearer) so we stuck to the main menu. We ordered 6 tapas between the four of us, plus glass of white wine for me, and bottles of soft drinks for the other 3 (be warned that the soft drinks are a bit herbal and all contain ginger - one son didn't like the orange version but this was swapped for the lemon version without any hassle and we weren't charged for his orange one). The house white was delicious and chilled. The tapas were delicious - we rec'd a portion of prawns in batter that we hadnt ordered but we chose to keep it as our kids love prawns - again we weren't charged for it. We also had calamares (served with garlic mayo), seafood paella (with lots of prawns, mussels and squid in it), chicken skewers (4 large chunks of grilled spicy chicken), a selection of sausages on toast (four slices of toasted ciabbata type bread - two with black pudding and two with skewers of chorizo and txistorra sausage), a chorizo and butterbean salad with rocket, tomatoes and yellow peppers and a dish of green beans sauteed with pine nuts. All were delicious, plenty for the four of us and all plates were soon empty. Myself and hubby had two delicious coffees (like the ones you get at every cafe in Spain) and the kids shared a portion of churros (4 large churros and a dish of melted chocolate to dip). The bill was a very reasonable €63. Friendly service (Daragh and Felipe), nice music in background, overall a great experience - we will be back.

The Port House Ibericos

jillser
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th July 2013 (visited 6 July 2013)

Great food, service a little slow but they was nice in the fact that they didn't put any rush on you to leave, 4 of us arrived at 6:30 and were still there at 10pm finishing drinks. The beer is served in little teapots that is cute but a bit strange when drinking out of a mug! All in all, I will return, their outdoor seating area is really relaxed and a lovely place to get away from the business of Dundrum Town Centre after a day of shopping!

The Port House Ibericos

Sassy123
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th July 2013 (visited 30 May 2013)

Great tapas, especially love the gambas, Great value for money.

The Port House Ibericos

CaptainScarlett
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th July 2013 (visited 7 July 2013)

Que bien sitio! A beautiful atmosphere (particularly in the sun-drenched terrace!). Gorgeous food, well-prepared (paella and patatas bravas are particularly tasty!)) and reasonably priced. Service a little slow but nothing to slate the place about. Highly Recommended!

The Port House Ibericos

Karown43
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th June 2013 (visited 21 June 2013)

Do NOT book this restaurant if you have a large group. There were 16 of us and on booking the Manager insisted we had to take the Set Menu at €25 per head. Believe me it was hardly worth €10! For starters we got a selection of Tapas, which were cold and greasy, ciabatta (hard) with tomato, ciabatta with chorizo sausage, spanish omelet, deep fried mushrooms and prawns in batter. We could choose between four Main Courses. We were expecting a substantial Main Course as the starters were so bad. Unfortunately our main course turned out to be on a plate smaller than a saucer!! There was NO choice for desert, just plates of churros with bowls of chocolate dipping sauce between us. They then offered us Tea or Coffee. I asked was it included, NO! The Manager was brought out and he insisted that he couldn't give it to us free. I explained how bad the food was and how bad value it was. He was not interested. So much for looking after their customers. Oh by the way, at the beginning of the meal I asked could I choose off the normal Tapas Menu and I was informed I could, but would also have to pay the €25 as the meals were pre made!!! Never again!!

The Port House Ibericos

Moylie
Dublin
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th June 2013 (visited 12 June 2013)

This place is going downhill fast. The food to be fair is great but the service is absolutely awful the last 2 times we were here. The table beside us waited over an hour for their food and ours came before theirs even after they had asked about it at least 5 times. They were eventually told the order was lost and had to be resubmitted. We ordered drinks which took nearly 25 mins to arrive, the bill had things on it we never ordered, other food came to us which we never ordered, drinks arrived that we never ordered. The table we were on was TINY. Not enough room to hold all the dishes and our drinks. The next table was literally a foot away from us and the table behind us was so close if a waiter walked by i would have to keep moving my chair in. Its a real pity as the food is lovely and well priced. We have given it two chances now and wont be coming back.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5268 ]