Hartley's Restaurant

1 Harbour Road, South Co. Dublin, Dun Laoghaire, Dublin, Area Code: South Co Dublin

South Co Dublin

View on Map

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:

€€€

149 reviews
4 stars - based on 149 reviews

Hartley's Restaurant

Submit a review
Hartley's Restaurant

Kate
Dublin
54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th May 2014 (visited 11 May 2014)

Sunday lunch was fantastic. It is a little pricey but food and service was superb and I will definitely be back!

Hartley's Restaurant

Calafort
Dublin
48 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2014 (visited 8 April 2014)

Nice atmosphere and decor - high ceilings, mix of modern and old styles. Excellent food and service. Somewhat expensive, but at this level price about average. We dined indoors, but noticed nice terrace with view over harbour. We will be back!

Hartley's Restaurant

sallygrif
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th January 2014 (visited 20 December 2013)

Visited this restaurant on Friday 20th December with friends for lunch. the restaurant is beautifully decorated and the food is top class. The service was also excellent - the staff could be more friendly!

Hartley's Restaurant

MGal
Dublin
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd November 2013 (visited 17 November 2013)

Ate here on a busy Sunday afternoon. The room is really special and the atmosphere was lovely. They had a lunch offer but neither of us opted for it as the a la carte had more tempting dishes. The lunchtime set menu we felt didn't reflect the a la carte which I always find a bit annoying - it's not really a true deal then I feel (just a couple of cheaper dishes thrown together). Ended up being a more expensive outing than anticipated as a result. Couldn't fault the food though - really delicious.

Hartley's Restaurant

judytsoi
Dublin
53 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2013 (visited 21 August 2013)

I came here as part of a group lunch midweek. We availed of the set lunch menu. The service in the restaurant was fine, but the venue itself wasn't very busy, which means that it was slightly lacking in atmosphere. The decor in the old building was beautiful, and it is a lovely setting for a special meal. I ordered the butternut squash & ginger spring roll with yellow curry coconut cream and mango slaw. The dish which was accompanied by a side dish of baby potatoes. The dish was nice, the flavours weren't mind-blowing, and the portion was quite small. Luckily, I was having dessert! I opted for the chocolate peanut butter brownie, which was served with a heavenly chocolate sauce and delicious vanilla bean ice cream. The brownie was the nicest I've ever tasted. Absolutely divine. I would visit Hartley's again just to order this!

Hartley's Restaurant

Betty Boop
Dublin
83 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd July 2013 (visited 20 July 2013)

Our first visit and looking forward to it after reading all the positive reviews. Our table wasn't quite ready so they asked us to have a drink at the bar while we waited. I have to say the staff must have a degree in avoiding eye contact as even with polite coughs and excuse mes, it took arm waving and and a quite direct "could we order a drink please' before they took our order and we were sitting right in front of about 4 bar staff. We were brought to our table at 8.30pm. I really liked the atmosphere but would have liked a few mirrors around room as hubby who was sitting facing the wall could not see anything. We ordered one starter between us (chicken wings) and 2 rib eye steaks. A party of 10 arrived beside us and another couple. It was only after both groups had received their starters we wondered why we had not received ours. It was now approx. 9.15pm. We asked the waiter who went to see and he came back saying sorry they had lost our order. We had another 10 minute wait but when we got them the wings were perfect. Just the way we like them. The steaks when they arrived were gorgeous and I really liked the rocket ceasar salad. When we were paying the bill we were offered a drink on the house for the delay. So all in all we loved the atmosphere and food but service a bit dodgy as quite slow and no one waiter sticking with our table but would def visit again.

Hartley's Restaurant

LouCrn
Wicklow
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th June 2013 (visited 18 May 2013)

I first went here in August 2012, and have been back a good few times. Absolutely love the place, the vegetarian options have always been delicious-and the choc brownie is amazing!! I can't recommend this place enough!

Hartley's Restaurant

LouCrn
Wicklow
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th June 2013 (visited 18 May 2013)

I first went here in August 2012, and have been back a good few times. Absolutely love the place, the vegetarian options have always been delicious-and the choc brownie is amazing!! I can't recommend this place enough!

Hartley's Restaurant

Nizzy
Dublin
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th May 2013 (visited 6 May 2013)

Came back to Hartley’s for an impromptu early dinner on the May Bank Holiday Monday. Were given a nice table for four by the window, with ample space for us all. The A La Carte menu is full of great choices, as is the Daily Specials Menu. I opted for the Specials starter, Seared Tuna with Watermelon & Feta Salad, followed with the Char-Grilled Burger with Knockanore Smoked Cheddar & Streaky Bacon for my main course, and finished with the Specials dessert, Sticky Toffee Pudding with Butterscotch sauce and Mascarpone ice cream. I asked for the shoe string Fries instead of Home-cut chips. Drinks arrived after the order was taken, and we didn’t wait too long for the starters. My starter was very beautifully presented. The pieces of seared tuna had a crushed pistachio crust, and were perfectly cooked. The watermelon, feta and salsa salad was really refreshing and accompanied the fish very well. I really enjoyed the starter and I wasn’t too full after, I do recommend it if it’s on the menu. My main course was an impressively large and tasty burger. The meat wasn’t dry or overcooked, the bun was lightly toasted, and the cheese & bacon was plentiful. The side salad was very nice and fresh too, and the chips & aioli were perfect. My dessert was a real highlight of the meal. Very nicely presented: a generous-sized square of toffee pudding, dressed with icing sugar and some butterscotch sauce, a scoop of mascarpone ice cream, and a little jug of butterscotch sauce. It was delicious! Sweet and sticky without being too heavy, and the ice cream was amazing! The three lads were all very satisfied with every dish they had, and the service in Hartley’s is excellent. Friendly & helpful staff, comfortable interior and clean bathrooms.

Hartley's Restaurant

Lotty66
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd October 2012 (visited 9 August 2012)

My husband and I had a very pleasant evening here in August. The weather was superb so as it was early evening we ate outside warmed by the heated lamps on the patio area. We could have been in the South of France as the harbour was full of sailing boats. We opted for a set / early bird menu which was excellent value and very good quality of food (Calamari particularly good). As it cooled we moved into the bar area for our desserts and coffees where live music was to be found.

Hartley's Restaurant

KatieH
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th June 2012 (visited 5 June 2012)

This is my favourite local restaurant. From the moment I walk in, whether alone or with a group, I feel welcome. The standard of food and service is always exquisite. The surroundings are sublime. I very much stand over the quality and the sheer enjoyment of the dining experience. Big thumbs up to all. And thank you:)

Hartley's Restaurant

Lobster755
Wicklow
11 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th May 2012 (visited 25 May 2012)

Joined a couple of friends last night in the beautiful sunshine on the terrace of Hartley's, sheer bliss. Tasty, hot and essentially crisp chicken wings to start with the waiter's (Sam) highly recommended Indian Pale Ale, delicious. Crab Nachos were next, easy dish to get wrong, but not here, sweet crab meat and ripe avocado combined with just a touch of tomato and mayo. My main course special was Seared Tuna with green beans, lychee, soy sauce and a touch of honey, perfectly rare and so fresh, truly delicious. Beetroot Burger was again perfectly cooked and meat of excellent flavour. The white wine was the stunning Pieropan Soave and very well priced, red was the wine of the week, Turret Fields from Rioja, yum. I could only manage to taste the Peanut Butter Brownie with real Banana Ice Cream and it was nothing les than sensational, the combination of salty sweetness and chocolate goo all surrounded by a 'light' brownie dough is worth the trip on the Dart alone. Someone is doing some very clever cooking here and it's all delivered with fantastic, attentive, friendly and efficient service from people who smile. Brilliant night, highly recommended and the terrace is fab, well done Hartley's!!!

Hartley's Restaurant

Shan217
Dublin
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th March 2012 (visited 22 March 2012)

Went to Hartley's with my Dad last Thursday for the early-bird and enjoyed the meal immensely. My buffalo wings were delicious and plentiful and my Dad's goat's cheese salad was fresh, crisp and flavourful. Our mains were also simple, yet well executed and thoroughly enjoyable. I had beer battered cod,thick cut fries, minted peas and tartare sauce. He had roasted skate wing which he liked a lot and had never had skate before. The desserts were outstanding. We chose a chocolate fondant and a rhubarb crumble with ginger ice cream. Classic, simple and a great end to a meal. Staff were attentive if slightly over eager. Value was good for an affluent area of Dublin. I'd imagine the restaurant decking area allows for superb al fresco dining in the summer months also.

Hartley's Restaurant

Scrummy
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th February 2012 (visited 11 February 2012)

Went here for the first time having heard great things about the place. We weren't disappointed, it was a great experience. The food was delicious, the wine list good, the staff were efficient and friendly, the atmosphere was buzzing and actual room/building is lovely. We will definitely be returning here thank you for a lovely night!

Hartley's Restaurant

Bizzy
Cork
44 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th February 2012 (visited 12 February 2012)

Have eaten here many times. As usual we had a lovely meal and a great night. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. We really enjoy a night in Hartleys. Hope to visit again. Excellent.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.5069 ]