Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire restaurant

7 Cumberland Street, Dun Laoghaire, Co Dublin, Dun Laoghaire, Dublin, Area Code: South Co Dublin

South Co Dublin

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Healthy Eating

Price Range:


69 reviews
4 stars - based on 69 reviews

Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

Submit a review
Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

LadyLC
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th July 2014 (visited 3 July 2014)

Hidden gem on a bit of a deserted street in Dun Laoghaire! We stopped in here last night for some tapas and really enjoyed the food, will definitely be back. The bruschetta with creamed goats cheese was delicious and the chocolate cheesecake was amazing. Felt it was very good value @€30 a head for 2 with a bottle of wine, 4 tapas dishes and 2 deserts and we left feeling stuffed. A little bit quiet but that's not their fault, we ate early. Staff were lovely, very friendly but not intrusive. Only criticism I would have; we sat at the window and the window seat is on a step which was not secure, everytime I moved it felt like I was going to fall over, not good. Also the door was left open and we had quite a few midges and flies pop in to have a look, bit annoying and doesn't feel very clean.

Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

dubmollie
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th May 2014 (visited 23 May 2014)

Fantastic night as always. We had the dining experience which was a voucher. It was delicious. The only small problem I have with the gourmet food parlour is the seating arrangements. We had a group of five sitting beside us and it was quite intrusive. We found it difficult to have a conversation as they were so loud. That of course is not the restaurants fault but a way to counteract this would be to seat larger parties at the back section together and couples at the front section together so they could at least have a conversation over dinner. This didn't spoil our evening anyway as the food and wine were lovely and we really enjoyed our evening. Will be back!

Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

Flight Supervisor
Dublin
282 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th May 2014 (visited 11 May 2014)

Having dined in three other branches of this eatery I looked forward to visiting here. On arrival there were three staff members behind the counter. None of them looked up from their tasks at hand so I had to ask was there a table available. Once seated we were however served quickly enough. I chose a cheeseboard and sweet potato fries which were nice. My friend had a wrap and a side salad. She described it as only alright and the salad was described as limp. I had a scone which was fine but I would have liked some cream with it. My friend had a brownie which she said was alright. The atmosphere was noisy on arrival plus with the tables so close together it was hard to have a private chat. Overall disappointing.

Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

vfm123
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd November 2013 (visited 2 October 2013)

The best place for good quality food in Dunlaoghaire!!! Have been a couple of times for big lunches and you just can't complain. Right so staff: Young, good craic, brilliant service!! And they were working hard because it was busy!! Value: not the cheapest for lunch but it's well worth it for what you are getting. Food: The fish platter, awesome, so fresh, lovely selection of dips. It was massive too. Exactly what I wanted (calamari, scampi, prawns in just the right amount of batter). And lovely presentation. My friend got a sambo, decent sambo but he was jealous!! We split the cheese board, great selection beautifully presented. Again great selection if dips and nice warm bread. Looking forward to going back for the tapas!! An absolute gem in Dunlaoghaire. (The waiting staff are an absolute credit to this place)

Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

jimmy21
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th October 2013 (visited 16 October 2013)

My wife & I went here last Wed. on a "deal"(4 Tapas & 2 glasses of wine). We went early for a pre-theatre "snack "which turned out to be very tasty & substantial. Although it was very quiet, the atmosphere was good _cosy & intimate. The food was beautiful . I particularly liked the lamb which was served with goat's cheese & beetroot paste. My only complaint was that the wine was a little too pricey which put us off buying a bottle. Service was excellent.

Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

dubmollie
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th July 2013 (visited 25 July 2013)

Lovely little tapas restaurant with good value food and great service. Have eaten here a number of times and it doesn't disappoint. Will be back again.

Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

kiki10
Dublin
18 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th July 2013 (visited 6 July 2013)

Best tapas place around. Food was lip smackingly good. Presentation on all of the tapas was fantastic, a lot of effort gone into it. The surf and turf was a very clever interpretation and was our favourite meal. Generous portion sizes, we were nicely full after. All of the staff were extremely nice and attentive. Can't wait to go back!

Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

dubmollie
Dublin
43 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd March 2013 (visited 1 March 2013)

Went here last night with hubby for food and had a lovely evening. The atmosphere is perfect for a couple or a small group. It is buzzy without being too loud! Food was delicious and I would say it is good value for money rather than fantastic. In my opinion you need to order 3 tapas per person which can add up, however, I will return.

Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

LazyMaisie
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th June 2012 (visited 12 May 2012)

Super local restaurant. We come here at any given opportunity. ON certain days of the week tapas are only 5 euro,so it's great value for money. The staff in here are so friendly, and there is live music Thurs-Sat. The variation in dishes is great and everything is very obviously made to order. I have been in other tapas places where everything seems to float in oil or is a meatball variation, but everything from the tempura of haddock with homemade tartar sauce to their sage and walnut ravioli is just heaven in every mouthful./ Cheap and very cheerful with desserts to die for and a reasonable wine menu, I am very lucky to have this place close by. I have been here many times and never once had a bad experience/ Love this place

Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

bundae
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th May 2012 (visited 14 April 2012)

This is probably our favourite local restaurant. It's easy going, authentic, with a lovely ambiance. Nice for a couple or with friends.

Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

NedS
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd April 2012 (visited 12 April 2012)

I have eaten at this bistro four times in the last couple of months and must say that they have found an excellent formula to deliver good, varied and affordable food. It's not perfect - service can be erratic. Not. however, erratic enough to deter me from my custom. Particularly recommended are the €5.00 tapas available three nights a week! The,seemingly ever-present, maitre- d' is astonishingly cheerful regardless of pressure. Go and check it out!

Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

Food_For_Life
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th April 2012 (visited 12 March 2012)

I’ve been a fan of this great bistro over the years – it had been a regular brunch/lunch place for me. The food for lunch is perfect, just what one needs when rushing to get something nutritious and I brought my sister here for what I had hoped as a more relaxed lunch in March. For once my food review is not about the food (which was very good as always) or indeed the serving staff, who are all congenial and provide service with a smile. I really must highlight the complete rudeness and lack of service we received from this lady when we were seated. Perhaps she was having a bad day, but this is not the way to run a local bistro, especially in these cash-tight days, where one is playing good money for not only food but service – she also appeared curt to the staff and in addition, she overcharged us and made it feel like it was our fault! I must say, despite the great food, I will not be setting foot in this café again.

Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

Pinto
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th April 2012 (visited 4 April 2012)

Great idea, great food, excellent value. We chose 6 great dishes, a nice bottle of wine and got out for less than €60 for 2. Can't be bad at all in this day and age for an evening meal. Chicken skewers, haddock, grilled prawns, potatoes bravas all especially excellent. I hope they keep the specials up to give extra variety and choice.

Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

fussyfoodie09
Kildare
33 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th February 2012 (visited 10 December 2011)

A group of us ate here on a busy Saturday night. The place was busy with a nice atmosphere and the music was pleasant in the background. Service was a bit slow to start (which was also the case when I visited for lunch) and they seemed to be a little short staffed but they were very pleasant. Good choice of tapas and specials available. Antipasti was delicious, good choice of meats and cheeses and very fresh. Meatballs and the prawns special were very tasty. The selection of breads were delicious too however a bit more dip would have been nice. Felt the patatas bravas could have done with more sauce. Have eaten in many tapas restaurants before and found the dishes here to be quite small in comparison. We ordered the Spanish Rioja which was delicious however the waiter took the bottle away from the table to keep it cool which is a pet hate of mine as I like to refill my own glass! Overall however it was a lovely evening and will definitely return.

Gourmet Food Parlour Dun Laoghaire

HMG
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:67%

Reviewed 28th November 2011 (visited 28 November 2011)

This is a delightful little place, with exceptionally good service - as friendly as it is efficient. The food is good without being fantastic - but the prices are not astronomical either. With its proximity to the IMC cinemas in Dun Laoghaire, this is a great place for a bite to eat before or after a movie. Be warned, it is quite small, so not the place for intimate discussions, and the furnishings are basic rather than luxurious. All in all, I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4698 ]