Guinea Pig restaurant

17 Railway Road, South Co. Dublin, Dalkey, Dublin, Area Code: South Co Dublin

South Co Dublin

View on Map

Cuisine:
Fish

Price Range:

€€€€

86 reviews
4 stars - based on 86 reviews

Guinea Pig

Submit a review
Guinea Pig

somethin\' fishy
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th September 2011 (visited 23 July 2011)

Ate here first 11 years ago alongside Elvis Costello, indeed the website boasts of its celebrity patrons, but the star quality stops there.My husband and I went for the early bird at the invitation of some elderly friends. I mention elderly because we were surrounded by the entire South county blue rinse brigade. While I have no problem dining with octogenarians they stand accused of facilitatiing restaurants well past their sell by date to continue charging extortionate prices for less than mediocre food. I started with a seafood salad that, while it didn't state on the menu that it would be warm, the temperature of the shellfish was way on the "just defrosted and kept in the fridge' side of things rendering it inedible for me. Main course was overcooked lemon sole and soggy veg. Desserts looked shop bought, nuff said. By far the worst food I've had ever -on a par with golf club and wedding reception standard. On a positive note service was very good, the friendly waiters brightened up the very tired decor and I did note the 'meals on wheels gang' relished the soggy veg. Poligrip anyone?? Never will return.

Guinea Pig

Allinthetaste
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd July 2011 (visited 22 April 2011)

Over the years, we have eaten in the Guinea Pig regularly. Lovely setting in the heart of Dalkey village. I had the Calamari to start whilst my wife had the smokies - 2 great dishes, adequate sized portions - just right. For mains, I had the duck, which was crispy and cooked to perfection. Very tasty! My wife had steamed fillet of cod which she thoroughly enjoyed. We had a bottle of mid-priced wine. The Guinea Pig is not cheap, but is very good, and has stood the test of time. Many people are criticizing the prices of Guine Pigs menu, but, you get what you pay for, and the prices here truly reflect the excellent food and service received.

Guinea Pig

Shed
Dublin
34 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th April 2011 (visited 14 February 2011)

We ate here for Valentines Day and took advantage of the special offer of 4 course meal & wine for 2ppl for €80. This restaurant had been recommended to us and we are fond of fish food so gave it a try. Its a quirky little restaurant with pleasant staff. It was not explained to us that we were restricted to certain wines on the meal for 2 offer but the staff were understanding and did not charge more. I had calamari & my girlfriend had spring rolls for starters & both were delicious with tasty fresh bread on the side. Then there was orange sorbet & onto main course. I had 3 grilled fish & she had salmon stuffed with crab meat with fresh veg & potatoes. Food was great quality & we were extremely satisfied. I had chocolate cake for desert by which time I was stuffed. We will definately eat here again and take advantage of the meal for 2 offer.

Guinea Pig

bananablanco
Dublin
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st March 2011 (visited 9 February 2011)

I was not impresses at all with this place, the food was overpriced and could have been better prepared. There was hardly anything on the menu for people who don't like fish and what was there was ridiculously overpriced.

Guinea Pig

spinner
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th February 2011 (visited 12 February 2011)

Disappointing meal here last Saturday.We ordered smokies and muscles for starters. Felt the smokies weren't as good as I have had in other places, the muscles were overcooked, many of them quite shrivelled and the sauce was very thick, I would have preferred a lighter sauce. For mains we had the sole which was good but served up on its own on a plate, it looked a bit rough, like it had been plonked. no garnish. As a second main we had a crab gratin which was only warm and had to be sent back. Veg and sides are extra which makes things expensive. Service was polite and pleasant and they served port on the house because of the crab. Not sure I would return.

Guinea Pig

skyflyerh
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th January 2011 (visited 8 January 2011)

Service is friendly and attentive, good choice of food, there were four of us for dinner and the best dishes were the smokies starter, the salmon stuffed with crab main. Food is very good and the only thing i can complain about id the price, I think it is overpriced, some may say good food is worth it but I think it must be reasonable also. It is a visit once restaurant for me, maybe a second time if something very very special comes up or if the prices drop at least €5 a dish.

Guinea Pig

foodlover13
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th January 2011 (visited 29 November 2010)

I have eaten here many a time and it is just as good now as when I first dined here 10 years ago. I was down a couple of weeks ago my fav by far is the starter smokies is the best I have ever tried. I am forever recommending them to my friends if they go there. Their Lamb shank is to die for also. To all the staff keep up the good work and I will see you very soon.

Guinea Pig

littl_miss_sunshine
Wicklow
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 05th November 2010 (visited 29 August 2010)

This is a great place to eat. The special menu is suprisingly good value given that the a la carte is quite pricey. The pate is paticularly good, as is the gluten free bread that is available with it. A wheat allergy was catered for without a problem which is refreshing and makes dining out so much easier. The wheat free pasta with seafood was also excellent as was the fish pie that my other half had. Dessert completed a lovely meal. Will definately be returning. A must for seafood lovers!

Guinea Pig

Aisli
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd November 2010 (visited 29 October 2010)

Yes the food is great, the portion sizes large and the seafood melt in the mouth. BUT.... the place is shabby, the furniture very old, the decor looks like it hasnt been changed since the 50's and its dusty...very dusty. The winebottles lined up beside our table reminded me of college digs days, all in all we felt it was Fawlty-Towers-esque, and were not alone in our thinking... the large party of eight beside us had actually come for that reason. So if you are into that kind of night out and want to meet Irelands interpretation of Fawlty-Towers by all means dine here. But at those prices I expect a little more. I dont want to have cracked tiles and plastic flowers in the loo, nor indeed have the ladies doubled up as a cloakroom. I want to feel special when spending that kind of money. But as mentioned before the food and variety of menu is good... If its just good food you are after I recommend it. But guys at that kind of money you could give the place a makeover....

Guinea Pig

uncle.arthur

41 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th September 2010 (visited 2 September 2010)

Dinner at The Guinea Pig is a fish-lovers Heaven. The Smokies, the Calamari, the Fish Mixed Grill..... one dish better than the next. The service was efficient and so friendly - the owner/chef came out from the kitchen to chat with all the patrons. Where else would you get that....? Can't wait to return. Early Bird also available..... will be trying that so we can go more often. TRY IT - its GREAT.

Guinea Pig

MT2
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th April 2010 (visited 18 March 2010)

I've visited the Guinea Pig a good few times for their early bird, and have been very impressed each time. At 24.50, you get generous helpings of fabulous food. The starter of potted smoked fish with cheese was my first ever 'adventurous' restaurant order when I was younger, and it set the standard for the rest of my dining experiences here. The mixed fish grill is fabulous, and a nice variety of fish is served, with appropriate seasoning and sauces. For dessert you can choose from their tray of desserts for the day, and they always have a large selection to suit differant tastes. For kids (or adults I guess...) you can get, what were praised as 'the best chicken goujons in Dublin'. There are two differant dining rooms here, and the service is great. They were more than happy to adhere to our request for a varied dessert for a little eater, and were very helpful when we needed to make space for a wheelchair. A must for seafood lovers.

Guinea Pig

byrne-s
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th March 2010 (visited 5 February 2010)

If you like seafood, the Guinea Pig is hard to beat. We were in Finnegan's pub across the road having a drink and decided to try the Guinea Pig for dinner. We had no reservation, but the staff fitted us in-I think we got the last table because the restaurant was packed. We both started with the seafood chowder and it was perfect-a meal in itself. I had the fish mixed grill, and my fiance had the fillet steak served with pepper sauce. We also had the seasonal vegetables, and were very impressed with all of the food. We shared a bottle of wine-I can't remember the name but it was reasonably priced and very nice. While the food is on the pricey side for the area, it certainly is tasty, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this restaurant.

Guinea Pig

dgf1969
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st February 2010 (visited 23 January 2010)

I grew up in Dalkey and have dined here several times over the years. The positive reports by other reviewers are generally correct. However, my recent experience was not as positive as on previous times. I went with a large-enough group to celebrate an ‘event’. Although we were on time etc., they did not manage our sitting at all well and ended up rushing us out the door. This was due to their slowness between courses. The food in the Guinea Pig is usually great, but there was mixed reaction in my group. I ended up going for the ‘game’ items which were specials on the menu for that particular evening. My starter was great, but my main course, pheasant, was almost inedible. Others in my group who went for the pheasant fared better with theirs: I guess I was just unlucky. Having said that, their handling my poor meal was not up to scratch. The Guinea Pig is not a bad place at all. If you look at the other reviews, you’ll see that a couple or small group going out mid-week are likely to have a great dining experience. But if you’re in a group larger than six people, my advice is to steer clear of the place ... especially on a Saturday.

Guinea Pig

AmyKav
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th January 2010 (visited 8 December 2009)

Went here on a Tuesday night, not expecting it to be as busy as it was! We were quite squashed in as there were many X-mas parties going on and there was only 2 of us. Went for the 80e special with 4 courses for 2 with a bottle of wine. The food was beautiful! Excellent flavours and presented well. The house wine offered with the special was not what I expected. We went for the house white and for the price we paid expected so much more!

Guinea Pig

angelgourmet
Dublin
105 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:65%

Reviewed 22nd October 2009 (visited 21 October 2009)

This place is a little gem - quaint, full of character and in a beautiful setting in Dalkey. Great for access as it's beside the DART. We chose the 4-course special including a bottle of wine for €80 per couple. The whole meal was absolutely delicious - the service and personal attention was excellent, without being in your face - and the chef came out at the end of the evening to ask if we'd enjoyed our meal. We'll most definitely be back here for another visit and would highy recommend this restaurant without hesitation.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4870 ]