Guinea Pig restaurant

17 Railway Road, South Co. Dublin, Dalkey, Dublin, Area Code: South Co Dublin

South Co Dublin

View on Map

Cuisine:
Fish

Price Range:

€€€€

86 reviews
4 stars - based on 86 reviews

Guinea Pig

Submit a review
Guinea Pig

FoodieKat
Wicklow
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th February 2013 (visited 9 February 2013)

Visited this restaurant for the first time last weekend for our anniversay. Everything about this restaurant was fantastic. The place was busy as it was a Saturday night, but had a lovely old worldy atmosphere and first class service. The food was absolutely fabulous. We went for the Celebration menu which included a bottle of wine for €80. We were really looked after and also given a anniversay drink on the house, such a lovely touch. The chef and owner came around at the end of the night to each table, which made the experience very personable. Already planning our next meal there!

Guinea Pig

will_w2
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th November 2012 (visited 11 October 2012)

If you want to impress someone special with amazing food....this is the place. If I could give the food 6 out of 5 I would! I had the Large Dover Sole here (E45) and it was the best piece of fish I have ever eaten. I couldn't afford to go here every nite of the week but if I could I'm sure I would. They also had a great wine selection and we chose a spectacular bottle of white at the 25 euro price range so their cheaper wines are great too. Its a very special place that's well worth a visit for an occasion.

Guinea Pig

srfoodie
Wicklow
39 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th May 2012 (visited 24 March 2012)

OMG - what an experience. My husband and I availed of the Celebration menu and the whole experience was absolutely faultless. We had chowder and smokies for starters, sorbet, then mixed fish grill for him and salmon for me and we could barely fit in our chocolate gateau desserts. All this for €60 - it was fantastic value for money and all the food was superb. The restaurant was packed yet the service was fantastic. The chef himself came out at the end to talk to all the guests, a really nice touch and I believe he has been doing this for years. This is a really special dining experience and its very affordable on the current special menu. Definitely worth a visit. We can't wait to go back.

Guinea Pig

JenMcK
Dublin
4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd May 2012 (visited 1 May 2012)

I ate at the Guinea Pig last night and thoroughly enjoyed it. We ordered from the early bird menu, which has a great range, approx 8 starters and 8 main courses to choose from. Superb value for such great food. I had the deep fried garlic mushrooms which were delicious, but almost a little big as a starter. My date had the french onion soup which was also very good. As a main course I had the penne with salmon, shrimps, cream and parmesan which again was a filling choice, but very very enjoyable. My date choose the steak for main course which was cooked to perfection (€5 extra charge - well worth it!). We were entirely satisified by the first two courses that we couldn't consider dessert, but there was a great range to choose from so next time I visit I may skip the starters! Our bill came to approx €60 with 2 cokes and no wine. All in all a very enjoyable evening. As usual, the Chef and owner came out to speak with each customer and the service was excellent. We also noticed that they have a birthday deal whereby if 4 people are eating the birthday celebrant eats for free - another great deal by the guinea pig! I look forward to visiting again soon.

Guinea Pig

mclune
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 11th April 2012 (visited 10 April 2012)

I have eaten here a number of times, usually going for the early bird option, which I always enjoy (even if I do find it really difficult to decide what to have). Last night we ate a la carte, and although it is pricey, the food was top notch. The service here is second to none, and the 'tour of the tables' that the head chef does every evening is a nice touch. I'll certainly be back, although I think for now I'll stick to the early bird, unless it was a very special occasion!

Guinea Pig

trevsavage
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th April 2012 (visited 31 March 2012)

Went here with my wife,opted for the celebration menu,€80 for 2 including wine. I was shocked to see a bad review below.This was one of the best meals we've had in years.Honestly could not fault anything. I had chowder,it was a taste sensation.Wife had smockies,they were fab. For main i had a mixed fiss grill with garlic,it was 10/10,cod,salmon,sole and haddock. My wife had salmon with crab,again fab. We also had a lovely sorbet after the starter. Choc cake and cheesecake for desert were also lovely.We also had a few side portions which they siad were on the house,fried onions and fondant potatoes. A super dining experience,we will be back soon

Guinea Pig

si559red
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th February 2012 (visited 4 February 2012)

Amazing FISH !!!! Unreal value, had the celebration menu 5 courses for two only 80€ and a free bottle of wine, Unique offers for Birthday! Will see you soon again! Nice touch with the Chef coming around to each table after the meal!!

Guinea Pig

boomio
Limerick
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 04th December 2011 (visited 18 November 2011)

VERY VERY Disappointed! Expected great things from this restaurant, heard great things from my partner that the food was great here. But it was far from that. Had the smokies and smoked salmon for starter. Both were very ordinary, defintely not worth the price you are paying for them. Quality of the food was ok, presentation was ok, taste was ok. Nothing great. For mains we got the sole and prawn/scallops. Sole was awful, dry, chewy, felt like fish you would get from a chipper. The scallops and prawns were also disappointing, nothing special about them at all. Sauce was horrible, actually took from the already scant taste of the scallops/prawns. Desert was also a non event, went for the safe option of ice cream and cheese cake. It was fine Must have been a bad night for chef or something, but I wouldnt be rushing back there

Guinea Pig

sretaw
Dublin
22 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th November 2011 (visited 22 November 2011)

Went for dinner with three friends using our menupages offer and we were all very impressed. Great to see a restaurant busy and with atmosphere on a Tuesday evening and also get excellent service. The food portions were very generous and I really enjoyed my tasty fillet steak - which was cooked just to my likiing. Two of the group had pheasant which they really enjoyed and the fourth had duck and the nibble I was allowed from her plate was absolutely georgous. The house wine was very acceptable and not expensive. It is a convenient location with the DART just on the corner and plenty of car parking in Dalkey itself. I think we will all be very happy to return and may all opt for the delicious duck!

Guinea Pig

fulltummy
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd November 2011 (visited 22 November 2011)

Dined last night as part of the MenuPages deal and had a lovely evening with delicious food at a great price. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and there was a nice atmosphere in the restaurant. I had a salad for starter and then duck for main which was the largest portion I have ever seen for one person but more importantly the most delicious. It was all washed down with a nice house red. I will certainly be going back.

Guinea Pig

davsheen
Dublin
73 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th November 2011 (visited 29 October 2011)

Visited this well-known Dalkey restaurant with a group on Saturday night last availing of the good value early bird offer. Overall the food was very good, plain in some areas but perfectly cooked and executed. Menu is old style and interior quaint. The service was excellent and attentive throughout. Nice touch that the chef / proprietor comes out after service to meet his customers and the desserts are offered on a tray for you to choose! Def would go back only gripes are, without the early bird or any other offers it is overpriced. Wine prices were very dear also and don’t agree with compulsory service charge other than that great place!

Guinea Pig

Tess15
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st November 2011 (visited 31 October 2011)

Excellent Restaurant coudn,t fault a thing staff are very friendly and helpful. Food was excellent went on a menu deal. Had the chowder the best one ever had and had the scallops and prawns for main course these where to die for partner had the duck. Portion where big and excellent. Will be back looking forward to it already. Thanks

Guinea Pig

vfohalloran
Wicklow
13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:42%

Reviewed 23rd October 2011 (visited 23 October 2011)

We visited the Gunea Pig with a Menupages voucher. The service from the booking to departure was excellent. For starters we had Salmon parcels and Chicken Liver Pate, both top class. For mains we had Salmon stuffed with Crab and Sole stuffed with Prawns and Mushroom. Both meals were fantastic with great sauces and were very filling. Great variety of Deserts and we both went for the Baked Baileys cheesecake and icecream. Beautifull and included a Profitrole as well. We completed the meal with Coffee and drank a bottle of Riesling wine throughout the meal. The experience was wonderful and reminded us of the sort of food produced by Masterchef. Definitely recommend the Guinea Pig in Dalkey

Guinea Pig

Melendez
Dublin
37 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th October 2011 (visited 16 October 2011)

The restaurant that time forgot. The restaurant itself is quaint enough however tables could be bigger and seating more comfortable given the price levels at which they are setting themselves. Interaction with staffowner was spot on from booking to leaving. Starters were all fairly simple, and should maybe have been around €8 each rather than around €11. Calamari was cut into rings without removing the outer membrane, leaving an unpleasant looking "thread". Not a biggie but shouldn't have been there at those prices. I suppose it proved it was fresh squid. Crab gratin had a predominant flavour of brown meat. Perfectly valid, but I think most people prefer the sweeter white meat coming through. Not so valid were hard little bits that should have been removed. The little smoked fish gratin was a simple tasty dish well executed. Sorbet after the starters added nothing to the meal. Main course of lobster was perfectly good, as was the fillet steak. The batter was too heavy on the scampi for me, like an effort to recreate donegal catch with expensive ingredients, why? A light batter to bring out the flavour of the prawns is surely better. Sole stuffed with prawns was the least successful. The whole thing was covered in a thick gloopy sauce that tasted of very little, with virtually raw mushrooms added. You couldn't tell anything about the quality of the fish through the gloop. If it was a beautiful fresh piece of fish that was criminal. Desserts of nicely presented strawberries were better than a heated pear cake slice and a apple strudel messed up by the pastry being in a microwave. We went on a menupages deal for €30 a head which, given ingredients available like scallops, lobster, dublin bay prawns, should have been a steal, but somehow just was bare value. I would have been very cross had I paid full price.

Guinea Pig

Chinagirl1976
Wicklow
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th September 2011 (visited 18 September 2011)

I have eaten in the Guinea Pig many times over the years so when I saw the deal on Menupages, I jumped at it! The owner/chef greeted us on arrival as being the first arrivals from the deal. He made us feel so welcome. I had Oak Smoked Salmon Parcels to start and my partner Liam had Smokies (flaked Smoked Cod, simmered in Cream, Tomato & Herbs & finished with Cheese) - both of which were absolutely delicious. For my main, I had Fillet of Sole stuffed with prawns, steamed, on a bed of mushrooms in white wine sauce. This is possibly one of the most delicious fish dishes I have ever had. Liam had sirloin steak which was cooked to perfection. I couldn't recommend this restaurant highly enough. Although the prices are high, the food is absolutely amazing and well worth the expense for a special night out.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4887 ]