Benito's restaurant

46-47 Castle Street, South Co. Dublin , Dalkey, Dublin, Area Code: South Co Dublin

South Co Dublin

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Italian

Price Range:

€€

76 reviews
3 stars - based on 76 reviews

Benito's

Submit a review
Benito's

Ste1605
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th May 2011 (visited 23 May 2011)

The atmosphere very welcoming, food fantastic, service very quick and helpfull. Quite expensive for an italian restarant but I didnt expect any less from Dalkey. I would definitly recommend the vegetarian pasta dish, absolutely delicious

Benito's

juniorj
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd April 2011 (visited 1 April 2011)

A group of us ate here last nite. I ordered a starter and found a piece of plastic in my salad.Reported it to one of the waiters and she did'nt make any effort to rectify the situation. was very disappointed, service was a bit hap-hazard.wouldn't be rushing back here

Benito's

timeout
Dublin
16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st March 2011 (visited 20 March 2011)

went here with the 2 kids for an ealy meal. Very disappinted. So chaotic and noisy. Staff not very friendly and seemed to be busy chatting to each other and having a laugh rather than taking orders etc. Garlic bread ok, bit bland. Polpette was very tasty. Pizzas bland, although nice crisp bases. Wouldnt bother coming back, staff didnt bother to say goodbye when we left. Bit of a who cares attitide. disappointing.

Benito's

Dalkeyite
Dublin
31 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th March 2011 (visited 13 March 2011)

We had a family Sunday lunch at Benito's yesterday. The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming and a baby chair was provided immediately on arrival - several other families were dining also. Minestrone soup was delicious, as were the calamari starters. Sea bream was filleted on request with no problem. The only niggle was that the accompanying vegetables arrived 10 minutes after we got our mains.

Benito's

snu
Dublin
19 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th March 2011 (visited 13 March 2011)

Went here for some lunch yesterday. Staff were just ok, could have been more helpful. The food was delicious but we were waiting for vegetables for our main course for too long and they came out tasteless and clearly just microwaved. It's good place for quick bite but I probably wouldnt' rush back.

Benito's

clandonnagh
Dublin
42 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 07th December 2010 (visited 4 December 2010)

ate in here over the weekend - a very enjoyable experience - service was good and staff were friendly. food was cooked perfectly and ate every bit! looking forward to my next visit!

Benito's

latetweet
Cork
14 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th October 2010 (visited 9 October 2010)

Went here with my friends at one Saturday night. We all fell comfortable and get a good experience. The food was great, I ordered the Polpette Casarecce as starter and the main course was Lamb Shank. All the food was cooked just perfect and tasty. And the service was good as well, very friendly and helpful staff. Only the price was a little expensive I think. Will come back soon.

Benito's

gastronomo
Antrim
20 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:37%

Reviewed 30th August 2010 (visited 14 August 2010)

Full of families with kids, the noise is terrible. We decided to just order a pizza and get out of there. Pizza was ok, the service awful. Not a pleasant experience. Maybe the takeway would have been a better option?

Benito's

Jalu

16 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th July 2010 (visited 16 July 2010)

Ate in this restaurant for the first time recently and was nt overly impressed. Walking in I got impression that the restaurant was a bit sticky as if it had been open all day. The staff were bright and breezy. I ordered the Anitpasti which promised a selection of parma, salami, vegetables and cheeses. I got the ham which was obviously straight out of packet in the fridge, there was 1 artichoke also straight out of a jar and 2 triangles of the same cheese. To me that is not a selection. I then ordered the pesto risotto with prawns. The presentation was not good but I carried on. It tasted nice but was extremely oily and after a few mouthfuls I could nt eat any more. My two companions both had the Mediterranean salad but these consisted of mainly leaves. One main course was the fish which my friend liked and another main course was the chicken stuffed with cheese. Very rich but tasty. The basil mash was lovely. To finish we asked for a cheeseboard and got some Carrs biscuits and 6 triangles of the same cheese - pecorino. When I questioned this I was told there were three different flavours ie spicy, aged etc. Where was the docelatte. cambozola, etc. So regretfully I won't be back.

Benito's

SouthDublin18
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 27th June 2010 (visited 26 June 2010)

Was at Benitos with a large crowd last night. Although the prices were very good on the early bird menu it had been agreed we would order from, the service was very poor and the food unremarkable. Also, the acoustics were dreadful and it was very hard to hear anyone talk. Unbelievably, although I ordered a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc at 26.50, I was not served it. I paid for it and it was poured without showing me the bottle, and turned so that I couldn't see the label. Only when I asked to see, did I realise I was being given a bottle of French wine. I said that was not what I had ordered and a few minutes later someone explained to me that they were out of the NZ wine and this was the nearest they had to it. (It was completely different, and I didn't like it at all) I was disgusted that the staff didn’t tell me they were not giving me what I had ordered. Finally they gave me a more expensive bottle of NZ Sauvignon Blanc. But they didn't seem to see anything wrong with replacing my original wine order without asking me my opinion and giving me an option to refuse. I will not be back.

Restaurant response:
I have checked with the person who sat beside me. My version of what happened is accurate. I was given French wine, not shown the bottle & not told it wasn’t the NZ I ordered. I did not choose the French; it is the first time I’ve ever sent a wine back (it was within 2 minutes). Then I was told there was 6.50 difference in the NZ wines; eventually I was offered the expensive one at the lower price. I would have liked an apology on the night, didn’t get one, hence my honest review. A review is an opportunity for a restaurant to improve the food or service, not to deny their blunder. Couldn't Benitos just have said sorry? Now I’ll be telling all my friends what happened. CCTV – yeah, right! However, I bet no-one else will be fobbed off with the wrong wine in the near future. I REALLY won’t be back!

Benito's

chunkybutt
Dublin
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st June 2010 (visited 20 June 2010)

Popped in here on Sunday evening for a quick bite. Nice atmosphere in the place , we were well looked after by attentive and efficient staff. I had meatballs to start...delicious! Really good in a very tasty spicy sauce. For mains I had a vege pizza which was typical tasty Italian fare , nice thin crispy base. Suprisingly for me there was no room for dessert! Bill for 2 came to 47.50. All good. Dalkey has a great choice of places to eat out but I'll happily return to Benitos.

Benito's

johnfitz42
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th June 2010 (visited 18 June 2010)

I ate in Benito's with a friend on a Friday evening around 8pm and we were seated straight away. When the waitress came over to us to set the table, she quite disinterestedly told us of the specials and then left to answer the phone with our table half set. Unsurprisingly this gave us a less than ideal impression of the place. I ordered the lank shank and my friend had the 6oz fillet. Presentation of the food was very good and both were tasty, if a little rushed, and obviously pre-cooked (which is inevitable for the shank). Again we were left pondering the mind set of the staff when, after one mouthful of the very nice pesto mash, we were asked if everything was alright. The fork hadn't even revisited the plate and we were already being quizzed. I have to say the big let down for Benito's is the quality of service. In a market where Italian Bistro style restaurants are ten a penny, the focus really should be on the experience offered to the customer. There were a number of instances which left a distinctly amateur impression, and a number of irritating points. One particular instance was when ordering a coke, and getting a glass of warm, flat, straight from the 2 litre bottle beverage with two ice cubes in it. The final insult was the compulsory 10% service charge levied on the bill, bringing a distinctly mediocre experience to an end at the cost of €53 for two.

Benito's

Blossom
Dublin
23 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st May 2010 (visited 15 April 2010)

I visited Benitos with family last night and it pains me to say I will definately NOT be going back any time soon. On arrival after being seated it took at least 10mins for us even to be offered some water. We were not told about any of the specials of the day and the one thing that we did order was no longer on the menu. In my opinion if it isn't available it should not be advertised, it was, after all, the dish that had originally drawn me to the restaurant. We all had pasta dishes, none of which were memorable. The price for 3 mains and a half bottle of wine was 50euro approx. My first time in Benitos a couple of years ago was completely disappointing, I was hoping it would redeem itself this time....unfortunately it did not!!

Benito's

Torres
Dublin
12 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th March 2010 (visited 7 March 2010)

Ate here with family . Very friendly staff had a lovely evening.

Benito's

budwhite
Dublin
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th March 2010 (visited 7 March 2010)

Bit of a mixed bag really. Food is genuinely good but my wife was disappointed as her "half-lobster" was more like a quarter or a third of said crustacean. Great atmosphere and very positive attitude from staff but a 40 minute wait between finishing starters and getting mains seems excessive especially when not terribly busy - would hate to see what it's like when it's busy. Feels like it has great potential but needs to sharpen up its act

Copyright © 2021 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4959 ]