The Vanilla Pod Eatery restaurant

The Iveagh Mall, The Park, South Dublin, Carrickmines, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 18

Dublin 18

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
European

Price Range:


31 reviews
4 stars - based on 31 reviews

The Vanilla Pod Eatery

Submit a review
The Vanilla Pod Eatery

Gaff_SWE
Dublin
35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th December 2012 (visited 15 December 2012)

First time here. Very busy, popular and somewhat cramped. Great food, good service and good sized portions. Fabulous salads and sandwiched. Will try the VP Burger next time.

The Vanilla Pod Eatery

littl_miss_sunshine
Wicklow
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd November 2012 (visited 18 October 2012)

This is one of my favourite places to eat lunch, largely due to their spelt bread which is amazing! The Chicken caeser sambo is lovely and leaves you stuffed. All the portions are on the large side which means you never leave hungry. There is always a lot of staff on and most of them are very friendly. However often you are left waiting for a good while which makes it a tight squeeze to eat there during your lunch break. Would like to see more wheat free dessert options available. Will be returning soon.

The Vanilla Pod Eatery

carfly
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th June 2012 (visited 12 June 2012)

Eat lunch here once a week if not more. Food generally good, tip: soup can be salty. Good choice on menu but service slow if eating in. 35 minute wait to be served lunch with booking, no apology for slow service from server and not overly busy on this occasion. Plenty of staff but the customer service could do with improving. Prices are moderate. Location in Carrickmines Retail Park at back of carphone warehouse.

The Vanilla Pod Eatery

bridgetb
Wicklow
8 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th May 2012 (visited 16 May 2012)

my 6th visit here. always tend to meet my friends with kids here. Staff are so friendly and accomodating. you really need to book ahead for lunch times. Food is yummy never disappointed - especially the burger. have recommeded this to lots of my friends and everyone loves it, great additional to Carrickmines

The Vanilla Pod Eatery

Stillorganboy

29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd March 2012 (visited 29 February 2012)

Went for late lunch 4pm. They had run out of most varieties of fresh bread. Went for a burger this was over cooked to an inch of it's life and covered in onions. The chef must have left early. The staff were the best thing about the place, so friendly and helpful. Prices ok. Nice and bright and child friendly but could do better with the child menu, there is chips with everything, why not some pasta?

The Vanilla Pod Eatery

givlan
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd December 2011 (visited 3 December 2011)

had lunch ere 2today, was SO much on the menu had a tough choice picking my meal had the muffin with eggs, yum, my other half had the burger, meal was too nice

The Vanilla Pod Eatery

drodie
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 23rd September 2011 (visited 19 August 2011)

I never normally do this but I have eaten in The Vanilla Pod twice now and have booked in for lunch today at 1 and was surprised to see the comments found on this Restaurant. My experience has been nothing but brilliant. I ate with 9 of my work colleague's had starters, mains and deserts and tried each other meals and everything was fab, Service was quick and friendly which is perfect for lunch, food was excellent and taste combination unique. Presentation was great and portions were very big, so I would say it was good value for money. The second time I ate there was the same but the salad I ordered was missing some of the listed ingredients and when brought to the attention of the serve it was amended immediately and it was extremly busy that day so little things like that can happen. I would highly recommend this restaurant and the food and would suggest that people give it a go or even a second chance. Love the t-shirts the servers are wearing too, very funny! Looking forward to my super salad with chicken at 1 yum yum!! :)

The Vanilla Pod Eatery

jeanetteashmore
Dublin
36 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th September 2011 (visited 15 September 2011)

I had lunch here with my husband yesterday. I had the Bruschetta with Wild Mushrooms, Asparagus, Poached Egg, Hollandaise & Roast Vine Tomatoes. The dish was tasty except for the wild mushrooms which were burnt, dried up and completely inedible. A great disappointment as I chose the dish as I love mushrooms. My husband had a sandwich of cheese and ham with salad and chips. Unfortunately the sandwich was very dry. When the server came to take our plates I explained my problem with the mushrooms, which remained on my plate. He got the manager over for me and she was very professional, apologized and did not charge me for my meal. It really does not take any skill to cook mushrooms and to serve dried up sponges was a disgrace and ruined the dish. This could be a great place if a little more attention was paid to the food.

The Vanilla Pod Eatery

tapaslover
Meath
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th September 2011 (visited 1 September 2011)

I visited this cafe as I was intrigued having heard so much about it since it opened. Unfortunately my experience was not as I had hoped. Cafe is open and friendly enough but lacks a little warmth and the radio was on which didnt help this, I ordered a homemade lemonade which lacked flavour and was far from unique with too many Raspberry seeds in it. The caramel square was average and looked/tasted bought in. I will give it another go and try lunch next time as I always like to give people a second chance. Staff were friendly but I wasnt wowed away...

The Vanilla Pod Eatery

homerj1
Laois
17 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th September 2011 (visited 11 September 2011)

I enjoyed my experience in this eatery. The food was freshly prepared, very tasty & the service excellent and very friendly. I chose a bruschetta, with wild mushrooms, poached egg (a little overdone), hollandaise sauce and got extra bacon - so was very please with the quality of the food. My partner had the steak sandwhich, which was huge and he wasn't able to finish! We both had tea, nicely presented, even down to the small things like the sugar bowls, and plates/cutlery used, very nice. I was highly recommend as it has a varied menu, unfortunately as I went on a Sunday, the choice wasn't as much as during the week, but still acceptable. One thing I thought was bad, was €2.50 for a scone - a little over the top for a simple fruit scone!

The Vanilla Pod Eatery

littl_miss_sunshine
Wicklow
45 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th August 2011 (visited 10 August 2011)

Heard great reports about this place due to the fact that they cater for gluten/wheat allergies. and I was not disappointed. The place is bright and airy with a very relaxed vibe and the food was equally good. My Mum had an elaborate bruschetta with poached egg, asparagus and mushrooms while I had an open tomato and mozzerella sandwich on gluten free bread. The coffees were also good and the prices reasonable. My only complaint was that I was too full for dessert! Will defo return. Great to have somewhere that does both decent and wheat free food in carrickmines!

The Vanilla Pod Eatery

cutiepie82
Dublin
28 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th August 2011 (visited 18 June 2011)

Went here with my dad bf and daughter for lunch a while ago the place was packed and buzzing. the staff were lovely and very friendly couldnt do enough to please u and well it was to die for i got the goats cheese tart and iv just been dying to go back up and get one again it was a little away from licking the plate thats how good it was mayb ill take a trip up there this weekend

The Vanilla Pod Eatery

Yenoor7
Dublin
9 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd August 2011 (visited 3 August 2011)

Discovered The Vanilla Pod by chance today & decided to try it. I liked the atmosphere in the place, the staff were very friendly & efficient. I had their tomato & basil soup which was very tasty & served with lovely brown bread. I intend going back soon.

The Vanilla Pod Eatery

jkennyb
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 24th May 2011 (visited 22 May 2011)

This is a really nice place to go for breakfast or lunch or just a coffee The food is good and the service is also excellent.

The Vanilla Pod Eatery

mmmmm!
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 18th May 2011 (visited 15 May 2011)

I've eaten here twice now and really like it - very handy place to stop for Sunday bruch or a decent lunch or afternoon tea when the joy of shopping in Carrickmines is wearing you out :-) Very relaxed but upmarket feel with really nice decor. Very well priced for high quality "fresh" food and nice naturally friendly and professional staff. Not a sullen or grumpy face to be seen - how refreshing! Good to see the chefs working away through the hatch and not just hearing the bing of a microwave as is usually the way in shopping centre restaurants.... Good choice of mains and - equally important - a spectacular array of desserts!! Really good value too - where would you get a scone with jam and cream for e2.50 these days? Delicious beef burger, really generous portion of chips, lovely decent side salad & full ramekin of freshly made and delicious garlic aioli...dangerous! The chocolate brownie & roulade were both fab. They have lovely local lemonades and herbal teas etc too. My only complaint if I had to make one would be the chips - skinny instead of fat but hey that's just my preference! All in all I really like it. PS: I love the staff t-shirts too - very quirky - really want the "I've never met a calorie I didn't like" one!

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4681 ]