The Waterloo Bar restaurant

36 Upper Baggot Street, Dublin 4, D04 R6Y6, Ballsbridge, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Cuisine:
Gastro Pub

Price Range:

€€

38 reviews
4 stars - based on 38 reviews

The Waterloo Bar

Submit a review
The Waterloo Bar

global foodie
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th February 2012 (visited 22 February 2012)

I visited here a few months ago with friends just for drinks and thought the place looked lovely so i decided to take my father here to try the food and all I can say is...AMAZING!! my father stared with the chowder which looked so good i had to taste and it tasted even better than it looked, for mains I had the feather blade steak which i never had before but WILL be having again and my father had the fillet and his comment was it was the best steak he ever had which is a huge compliment from a man who has had quite a few steaks in his lifetime. everything about the place was just perfect the food the atmosphere the wine and the service was brilliant we had a lovely waitress from the country (wexford if i remember correctly) she was very friendly, able to answer all our questions and even made my dad laugh, id also like to complement the bar man very friendly aswel, I cant recommend this place enough, Thanks guys :)

The Waterloo Bar

Robla
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th February 2012 (visited 9 February 2012)

I and my friends have been going to this place for many years now and we are collectively very happy with the recent transformation of the restaurant area at the rear of this venue. The new restaurant management team have well and truly stepped up the level of service, quality of food and a chilled out ambience. Good music with no interference of sports noise or distracting plasma screens in the dining area enhances the dining experience and allows conversation to flow. The food is well presented well and obviously prepared by an experienced chef with a passion for delivering an edge to some classic dishes. Chicken wings, bangers and mash and the venison burgers to name a few. This restaurant deserves a visit as there are very few places in Dublin who have a team that are prepared to dedicate as much effort and focus to delivering overall customer satisfaction. Keep it up guys

The Waterloo Bar

littlepace
Dublin
46 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th February 2012 (visited 11 February 2012)

I got a deal on menupages for a main course and a cocktail. I booked the table through the site as well and everything went well. For a starter we had a mozzarella and tomato salad and a baby gem salad with blue cheese and smoked chicken which was very rich in different flavours, if you like blue cheese you should definitely go for this. Mains were grilled Wicklow venison burger which could have had more garnish on it as it felt a bit plain and the sea bass with seafood risotto was just amazing. I really like the atmosphere here and felt relaxed. The service was good but sometimes confusing as we had three waiters that kept asking the same things, I would suggest the waiters to have their own tables and only help out the others when needed to avoid this as it can come across annoying. I would really recommend to go to Waterloo for anyone for any occasion and even for special parties as they have a lovely area upstairs.

The Waterloo Bar

hungryfox
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th February 2012 (visited 10 January 2012)

Went there after work with a few co-workers and we felt like a small meal with our drinks. We ordered our drinks first then decided to order food. When we asked for the menus we were told we cannot eat downstairs but had to go upstairs in the "Bistro" to eat. We refused the bar was half empty and we did not want to move as we had the large table behind the entrance. The Waiter gave in and let us order. We all had chowder and harissa wings. The food was good but not for what they were charging in a pub. The staff were great the beer very cold. Will be back but for drinks only.

The Waterloo Bar

for2k
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 16th February 2012 (visited 13 February 2012)

I went there the day before valentines day so it was empty, the food there was really good esp the tomato source mussel ! was absolutely briliant ! well presented and very delicious as well! The service was almost the best ever in dublin the waitress there was soo nice and helpful with all the smile and very patient recommendations ! defo will visit back again

The Waterloo Bar

mia-bella
Offaly
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 08th February 2012 (visited 28 January 2012)

I had dinner here with 3 friends on a Saturday night and we had a really fun night. There was a really cool vibe and soft lighting, lounge music and a lovely atmosphere. I like the way they mix quite a fine dining experience with a casual, laid back, relaxed ambiance. Highlights were the Clam Chowder which was really hearty and the Pate which was just gorgeous - very light and creamy like a Parfait! My friends were very impressed with their steaks served on wooden platters with fries but the absolute best of all top marks went to the Tiramisu (best I have ever tasted) and the Cheesecake! We felt comfortable and stayed all night and were not rushed off like a lot of good restaurants as they turn tables. I wold highly recommend this place for really chilled out night and surprisingly great food! Who Knew!!!

The Waterloo Bar

Hotdrop
Kilkenny
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st January 2012 (visited 28 January 2012)

Good point(s): Friendly service, that's about it. Food was very average - We had venison burger, sausages, battered cod. Venison burger: Adequate, nothing special. Sausages: Overcooked and cold mashed potato. Cod: Very oily batter with pool of oil left on plate. Burger and fish served with string chips. Similar to fries in Burgerking nearby, except they came in a fancy little dish. All dishes were overpriced, for what was basically pub grub masquerading as restaurant food. Only thing of restaurant standard was the prices. I'll stick to that Burgerking next time I'm in the area.

The Waterloo Bar

Jlow
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st January 2012 (visited 25 January 2011)

Went for lunch last Thursday. I recommended the location to my colleagues, so I was hoping it would be ok. I wasnt dissappointed. The food would be better than the 'gastro' pub down the road, and the service was faultless. Ok its not the cheapest venue on the strip but for venison burgers and proper seafood pie on a miserable rainy day I think the price was fair. I will return as the fish and chips looked superb.

The Waterloo Bar

mmmmm!
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th January 2012 (visited 29 January 2012)

Really disappointed. Lovely venue, great location, they have obviously spent a fortune doing it up but the food was absolutely chronic yesterday. The chips came out cold, not lukewarm but actually cold. The venison burgers were requested well done but were on the raw side of medium rare once you took a few bites toward the middle, and obviously cooked from frozen. The mushy peas with the fish & chips were straight out of the fridge...someone obviously forgot to zap them in the microwave. Just a terrible experience. The manager was very apologetic and handled the problems well, offering a free dessert but really and truly it was terrible. The place was empty on a wet Sunday at 4pm and it's easy to see why...Great potential but they'd want to get their acts together on the food front. All 5 of us were disappointed with our meals.

The Waterloo Bar

gardint
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 01st December 2011 (visited 30 November 2011)

Mutton dressed as lamb, they are trying to turn a bar into a 5 star restaurant, which is not working when they put you on bar stools and wine glasses all over a bar table. The food was nice, but I was really let down. This is a place office people go for lunch. So when they told us 'we don't split the bill' I could not understand this. Most restuarants that do lunches do this. They don't understand there customer and it really shows. We were the only people in the place, so could not see why this was such a big deal.

The Waterloo Bar

Lovesgoodfood6788
Dublin
5 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 09th November 2011 (visited 8 November 2011)

Stopped in last night for a quick bite to eat with a friend. The place has recently been done up and it shows! We walked in and immediately felt welcomed by the inviting staff. The transformation to the decor also translated to the menu with almost everything jumping off the page and making me instantly hungry. I went for the venison burger, while my friend opted for the beef pie. Both were delicious, warming, and excellant value for money! We topped off the evening with a glass of red in the heated terrace at the back. This is a perfect spot for either a lovely meal, or a casual drink at the bar.

The Waterloo Bar

pauliesgirl
Dublin
35 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd November 2011 (visited 17 October 2011)

Food was average, but I liked that they had an organic option, we got the leek and pork sausages with mash. Nice atmosphere, nice staff, good area, will be back.

The Waterloo Bar

lollymcd
Dublin
54 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th October 2011 (visited 20 August 2011)

We had a "crazy deal" for a pitcher of beer and a platter of food which cost us €14 but should have been €24. For €14 I think we got value for money just about. The platter consisted of wedges, cocktail sausages, chicken diggers, onion rings and spring rolls. I don't understand why places put spring rolls on platters and I have yet to get a decent one outside of Asia! No surprises in the platter so. Decent beer. I can't compliment the staff here enough though, they were so pleasant and accommodating with us, even changed the channel to put the footie on. If I lived close by this would be my local as these guys are super nice. Good experience, especially considering who we paid. Lovely interior

The Waterloo Bar

dublinlady2
Dublin
91 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 19th September 2011 (visited 17 September 2011)

I don't usually go to Baggot Street on a Saturday night, but I had a voucher for a pitcher and a platter in the Waterloo and decided to give it a go. Originally made the booking for four but two people cancelled so it was just me and my b/friend. The platter was nicely served with dips but only had chips and chicken wings. I had been told this when I booked but I had hoped they would rustle up some onion rings but this was not to be. The pitcher was served with ice cold glasses in a glass pitcher which I would expect from this class of establishment. They even let us use a second voucher which isn't strictly within the terms of the offer, so we had more beer. It was a nice atmosphere and nice service, I would go back. Recommended.

The Waterloo Bar

nikkynoodles
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st April 2011 (visited 13 April 2011)

I've been to the Waterloo many times for food whether it be while watching a sporting event or just for a quick bite to eat. I've noticed that the quality of food has been on the decline as of late. I stopped in last week while my sister was visiting and honestly if we weren't so hungry we would have left. I ordered the Chicken Supreme with black pudding stuffing but all I got was a piece of black pudding stuck into the side of the chicken breast. My sister ordered the Irish Stew which was like water, the lamb had a lot of grizzle and was very tough to eat. I was very disappointed in the food that I had to apologize to my sister for taking her there.

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4664 ]