The Lobster Pot restaurant

9 Ballsbridge Terrace, Dublin 4, Ballsbridge, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Seafood

Price Range:

€€€€

41 reviews
4 stars - based on 41 reviews

The Lobster Pot

Submit a review
The Lobster Pot

HungryHippo!
Wicklow
47 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st July 2009 (visited 25 June 2009)

My girlfriend and I visited the Lobster Pot for their early bird on a Thursday night. From the moment of entering the front door, escorted up the stairs by the waiter to leaving the place I really could not speak highly enough about the food or the staff. The waiters are very old school and very professional. I had the chowder for starter which was easily the best I had tasted, my girlfriend had the pate which was also excellent. For mains I had the cod, perfectly cooked with a beautiful sauce. The early bird prices do not include the 10% service charge, but I was planning on leaving more than the normal 10% for the level of professionalism from the waiters. Will definitely be back.

The Lobster Pot

bluebirdbowe
Kildare
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 10th July 2009 (visited 1 July 2009)

I was brought to The Lobster Pot by my best friend as a celebration for her upcoming wedding and as a thank you for being a bridesmaid. I was not overly impressed. It was a Friday night but the place was not overly busy. We were on time yet there was no tabel made up for us. There were 3 free and all dirty. Also there is nowhere for you to sit or relax while waiting for a table. The head waiter sat the 2 of us down at a 6seater dirty table while we waited for our 2 seater to be set for us. Dirty plates still on the table! The food was average, i've had better fish, the side veg was overcooked and the wine was a bit pricey. On the other hand the staff were nice and friendly, but that doesn't cut the mustard in this day and age where we want great food at a good price, with a nice atmosphere and a smiling waiter. So no, I wouldn't go back.

The Lobster Pot

Puertorico
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 22nd May 2009 (visited 20 May 2009)

I think the last time I had been in the Lobster Pot must have been over 20 years ago. On entering you certainly feel an almost timeless elegance. Old world silver service and style which I havent seen in some time. We had the early bird which was good value. However, the standard of food was below expectation. I had the sea trout which was just ok. My friend had the salmon and had a similar remark. Had we been paying full menu price we would have been very disappointed. It was a nice experience but I wouldnt rush back.

The Lobster Pot

CityGent

3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 20th April 2009 (visited 15 April 2009)

First time to visit this establishment despite several near misses over the years. It's different and "old school" but that is a good thing. So many places are 'similar' but this is different from the moment you ring the bell to enter and are escorted to your table by a professional Irish waiter (remember those?!) Food is top notch but pricey, so it's a treat place only. They have just introduced an early bird (march 09) which is good value in the mid €20s. Really liked it from the fish trolley (shows you what is on the menu tonight) through to the dessert trolley. will be back but probably for the early bird (mon to thursday).

The Lobster Pot

folate
Dublin
29 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 24th March 2009 (visited 21 March 2009)

Set in Ballsbridge on the main Dalkey road this up-market restaurant is well worth a try. It is situated upstairs in what were once the main living rooms of a what was probably a Victorian(?) house, it gives an atmosphere of being at home. Service is friendly and professional. This place specialises in seafood and a nice touch is that you can choose your meal from a demonstration trolley as well as from the menu. What you see is what you get! There was nothing wrong with my chowder, though it failed to excite me. Everthing else was of the highest quality. The place, however, is expensive, with the cheapest wines starting at about 29 Euro. But our evening was a success and I can recommend this place to you if you are prepared to pay a little over the odds.

The Lobster Pot

sandy07
Kildare
40 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:55%

Reviewed 22nd February 2009 (visited 18 February 2009)

It's great that they show you raw seafood and discuss the dishes that are available to eat - it certainly helps in deciding what to eat from the array of starters and entrees. Although the food was nice, it didn't justify the prices we were charged - which is a shame. At least we can now say that we've sampled this place, but unfortunately we won't be back again

The Lobster Pot

Asha
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 03rd December 2008 (visited 15 November 2008)

I loved this place, from the moment you ring the bell for your personal escort to your table to when you chose your own fish from the cart to the final sip of after dinner drinks you know this place is special. The service is perfect, the clientele are old school and friendly and the surroundings are fabulous. It is expensive but you really do get what you pay for here. The added bonus is its not full of itself either. My only complaint is that my lobster was a bit tough but everything else was impeccable. Will definately return.

The Lobster Pot

delboy2712
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 14th November 2008 (visited 8 November 2008)

The Place to Visit. I ate in the Lobster Pot last week for a family function. The food was tremendous and the service was exceptional. I will surely be dining here again. I know it's classed as a fish resteraunt but there is something from everyone. The duck was to die for.

The Lobster Pot

Lalalala2
Meath
15 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 26th October 2008 (visited 11 November 2007)

this place is an experience! It harks back to the way restaurants used to be, real silver service professional waiters and seriously good food. It is expensive, but the seafood is always outstanding, a real treat. If I could afford to go more often I certainly would.

The Lobster Pot

random
Dublin
6 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 21st October 2008 (visited 16 August 2008)

I went for a dinner a few months, amazing choice of fish. I had crab for starter which was lovely and had salmon with prawns for my main course. Atmosphere and setting of place is great, it is quite pricey, its once off kind a meal for me. And the table side crepe Suzette was a great little touch. Very good food but pricey.

The Lobster Pot

customer
Dublin
10 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 29th July 2008 (visited 23 May 2008)

Lovely fish and great staff. Real old school. We have been there are few times and like one of the other reviewers think they need to do something about the vegetables. On each occassion they were over done and soggy. However the freshness and quality of the fish keeps us going back. Its expensive.

The Lobster Pot

Southsidefoodie

13 reviews

Newbie

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 30th April 2008 (visited 5 April 2008)

Very expensive for what you get. Food very old fashioned, could do with updating. Service faultless however, but will not be going back!

The Lobster Pot

issydizzy

4 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st March 2008 (visited 29 March 2008)

Great service and food. Small but intimate restaurant. Busy Saturday night but not rushed out the door by staff.

The Lobster Pot

P.Tulio

64 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 28th March 2008 (visited 27 February 2008)

Quite pricey, but very good seafood. Attentive staff and comfortable atmosphere. I strongly recommend the lobster.

The Lobster Pot

katya
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 15th February 2008 (visited 14 February 2008)

Had dinner there last night. The waiters were really friendly and helpful and the service was impeccable especially as it was Valentine's night which generally means the most appalling service. The food was excellent - only one quibble - the vegetable wasn't great. The selection was seasonal and therefore hopefully Irish but the cheese sauce on the cauliflower wasn't cooked properly and tasted really floury and the cheese was missing! Very expensive but worth it. I will definitely be back.

Copyright © 2019 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4801 ]