Farmer Browns restaurant

25a Bath Avenue, Dublin 4, Ballsbridge, Dublin, Area Code: Dublin 4

Dublin 4

View on Map

Book a Table Now

Cuisine:
Irish

Price Range:

€€

28 reviews
4 stars - based on 28 reviews

Farmer Browns

Submit a review
Farmer Browns

susannemoreilly
Dublin
7 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st January 2014 (visited 18 January 2014)

I marked farmer browns down for atmosphere because it was absolutely freezing the night I was there, wasn't really any attempt being made to heat the place up, some people were still wearing their coats! The food, however, was well worth it! The sweet potato cake starter is delicious, and the burgers are soooo tasty! I'd definitely recommend it!

Farmer Browns

fiowatty
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 31st December 2013 (visited 21 December 2013)

I dined here with a group of 11 friends based on good reviews and the BYO policy. We had booked a table for 3pm & received a phone call at 2.45 asking if the booking could be put back to 3.30,which we didn't mind. However we were not seated until 16.10. The service was slow and at 6pm we were handed our bill & told there were people waiting for he table. Some of our party were still waiting for coffees they had ordered (for 25minutes). When I spoke to the owner & informed her that we were supposed to have the table for 3 hours but were seated over an hour late & some people were still waiting for orders so we were not quite ready to leave I was asked "I don't know if you know how Farmer Browns works" and then told that they had "opened the restaurant for us as they were not normally opened at that time" ...I booked a table and they accepted the booking & other people were there so this looked like an open restaurant to me! There was no one else in the restaurant when we were being asked to leave so it baffled me why they would ask the one table present to leave. The only semi-apology I was offered from the owner was "I'm sorry but..." Not very sincere. I was also told that as its the Christmas season it was bound to be busy (that's why I booked a table weeks in advance!) On a positive note the food was ok & reasonably priced with BYO. I would never return here as the attitude of the owner made it an uncomfortable experience.

Farmer Browns

Pi31415
Dublin
78 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:35%

Reviewed 30th December 2013 (visited 1 December 2013)

Arrived very early which is why the 'atmosphere' is 4 stars - but the place filled up quickly. Quirky decor and furniture - but with food as delicious as this, it can afford to be on the bohemian side! Really good salad to start - probably the best I've had in any restaurant in 2013. The burger was very good - tasted of real meat, not the cloying burger meat I come across more frequently than I'd wish! If you want 'different' and you want good - give this place a try!

Farmer Browns

ficren
Cavan
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd December 2013 (visited 30 November 2013)

lovely friendly atmosphere food excellent

Farmer Browns

posh nosh
Dublin
2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 17th October 2013 (visited 9 October 2013)

I've been to Farmer Browns 3 times and I love the food and the atmosphere. It's a great spot. One thing I was disappointed about was the BYO and the €5 charge per person at the table for the wine. I think it's a little over priced and defeats the purpose of BYO. Compared to other restaurants that don't charge corkage or just charge a standard rate for the table which I think is acceptable. Either have BYO or not at all. It would have worked out cheaper for us to have just gotten the house red than bringing our own bottle of wine. It should be advertised properly rather than on the back of the menu when you've already sat down and brought in your wine with you. Just the thoughts of us 4 girls at our table that night at Farmer Browns.

Farmer Browns

albie
Dublin
52 reviews

Guru

Credibility Score:70%

Reviewed 14th October 2013 (visited 11 October 2013)

Myself and a work colleague found this place during the summer for lunch and have returned a number of times since. It is small but comfortable and is usually quite busy at peak times. Service has been hit and miss but last tiem we went it was spot on with the waitress turning on the heating for us outside without having to be asked. The food is very high quality and good value - typically €7 for a generous lunch sandwich - we particularly enjoyed the pulled pork sandwich and chicken sandwiches.

Farmer Browns

MiamiD4
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th September 2013 (visited 12 July 2013)

This place has become a real favourite with me and my friends. Great atmosphere, delicious food and BYOB - what more could you want. The staff are friendly and passionate about the provenence of their food. Service can be a bit haphazard at times but the atmosphere more than makes up for it. Over the months I have tried most things on the menu and particular hightlights have been the prawn starter, the burger with sweet potato fries and the brownie. I could happily eat nothing but Farmer Browns brownies for the rest of my life. Overall a real local gem!

Farmer Browns

Ains
Dublin
1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th September 2013 (visited 5 September 2013)

Farmer Browns is fine for brunch but not up to scratch at all for dinner. I found the service slow and unfriendly. We waited over an hour for our mains. They didn't check in on us once. There was no trace of goats cheese in my "stuffed butternut squash with goats cheese" main, nor was it stuffed. It was a meagre portion so I filled up on the chocolate brownie for dessert, which was delicious.

Farmer Browns

lovemyfood27
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 06th September 2013 (visited 5 September 2013)

Lovely restaurant and lovely atmosphere but in my opinion a little overpriced and service very poor. Our mains took around 45 minutes to come which was ridiculous. I got the cod and chips and it was really tasty, my friend got the mozzarella salad which was also good, the two other girls in our party weren't happy with their mains. One got the seafood linguini which was really heavy and she couldn't finish it, the other got the special which was a pretty small piece of roasted butternut with a some sort of topping, she said it was nice but there was too little of it, especially for 15 euro! Plus they charged us 5euro per head for our pre bought wine (even though it was screw cap and they didn't even need to open it for us!). I thought this was a bit much on top of our overpriced mains, our bill came to just over 25 each which was pretty reasonable but we weren't full so all in all it was a bit of a let down. Would return for lunch or brekkie but not for dinner.

Farmer Browns

emma

1 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 02nd September 2013 (visited 31 August 2013)

Brilliant restaurant, have been there many times and will continue to go back. The food is absolutely delicious! I particularly love the Pecorino Cheese and Truffle Oil Fries, yummy!!

Farmer Browns

prawncocktail
Dublin
25 reviews

Connoisseur

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 13th August 2013 (visited 28 July 2013)

I used to love this place, but their service has never improved since they opened, which is probably two years ago at this stage. Food is always really good, apart from when they forget to bring you it! Prices have dramatically increased for their dinner menu and the corkage charge of €5pp is ridiculous. I will continue to go for lunch here the odd time, but definitely not dinner. Brunch has also gone downhill. It is a reall shame, as when they get the brunch right, it is delicious.

Farmer Browns

lydia.kavanagh

2 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 12th August 2013 (visited 9 August 2013)

Great meal, very good service. Special was very popular - only one left when we ordered. All dishes were full of flavour. The only small room for improvement was the Eton mess, cream was too sweet. Other desserts were fab.

Farmer Browns

niamh.delaney09
Dublin
3 reviews

First Timer

Credibility Score:52%

Reviewed 25th July 2013 (visited 8 June 2013)

This place is so nice for brunch, would definitely recommend the club sandwich and since all three of us had it I can't heap praise on anything else but it certainly looked good on everyone else's plates, some serious food envy from all of us! The breakfast salad in particular looked divine!! We liked it so much we went back the Sunday evening for dinner. Sadly since we had no booking we couldn't secure a seat outside. The chicken main was yum and the eton mess went down well for me. Since it's BYOB as well we'll definitely be back. The only thing that does let them down is the service can be a little bad but the food is divine and well worth it!!!

Copyright © 2020 MenuPages. All rights reserved. [ 0.4650 ]